We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay !!!”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just had a fabulous weekend staying at "The Crown". From the moment we arrived, greeted by the omni-present Kelly, we felt incredibly well looked after. We stayed in Room 11 which is a lovely room with a quiet view out over The Butlands. Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice of cereal,pastries and cooked food. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant where I had possibly the best Wagyu Burger followed by an equally delicious crème brûlée. The hotel and restaurant has a very vibrant feel but relaxing at the same time. A great base for exploring Holkham Bay.
Thankyou to Kelly and the team, we look forward to coming back ver soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 697 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stopped on a Saturday afternoon in October, for lunch. Service, food and drinks all very good.

Decor and furnishing traditional with large garden room.

There isn't a car park as such, so parking spaces need to be found around the green.

Room Tip: Parking can be an issue on a busy day !
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

After our other accommodation in town fell through at the last minute, The Crown went out of its way to be helpful and welcoming even though it was very late in the evening. They put us up for the night in the Stables, a holiday cottage at the back of the hotel. Warm, comfortable, clean and well appointed - we couldn't have asked for more. Lovely breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at the Crown last weekend and had a wonderful time. The food was first class and a good selection as was the breakfasts, the rooms were large and very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were really helpful and friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them especially Kelly who is a real asset to the Crown, will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMannering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Hotel looks superb on their website but we felt it fell short of it's hype! Friendly greeting on arrival, but the room whilst well appointed was small and the bathroom tiny. Did like the eclectic decor. Our room was above the entrance which was quite a noisy area later in the evening from smokers, leavers etc. We had invited some elderly friends to join us for dinner and they struggled with the very noisy dining room and were a bit upset by the rather gauche service, The food was ok, but some dishes were not cooked properly. The Hotel refunded the cost of these dishes which was fair but the moment had been spoiled. Cannot recommend the hotel and it is unlikely we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandRKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just spent 3 days in Wells staying in a rented cottage, during our stay we thought we would try The Crown for a drink and possibly food. Beside the bar was a Price List showing House Wine prices but informing that others wines available. I ordered a large (250ml) Savignon Blanc my partner ordered a Coke and I sat down. My partner bought the drinks over and queried the bill....well he had every right too - this establishment charged £8.90 for the wine YES £8.90!!!!! Where does this hotel get it's prices from? We quickly sent the wine back, got refunded and left, absolutely disgusted and feeling robbed. This Hotel lost 2 customers through their greed who will not return. BEWARE when entering.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank JacC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

U do get what you pay and whilst the crown isn't cheap it is worth it. We stayed there last weekend for a 40th birthday and it was ace. Beautiful family room, roll top bath, real coffee instead of Nescafé sachets by the bed, nice decor, travelodge it isn't! Food at the party held at the crown was really nice, service was great. The breakfast was perfect served on big wooden tables with the autumn sun beaming in backing onto houses with red ivy. The pastries were very fresh, the traditional breakfast was faultless and even the sausages were good, a feat that so many places just simply struggle with, u either get sausages filled with 90% rusk or they have so many herbs and additional ingredients that u can't taste the actual meat. I really loathe the uk food markets inability generally to just sell a food product that doesn't have an "and" in the title. A good breakfast sausage contains good meat and some seasoning it shouldn't have to be stuffed with chilli and juniper berries and chocolate! (excuse the exagerration). Kelly the manageress then brought us the chefs brioche with maple syrup banana and bacon - it was absolutely fantastic although my arteries might disagree! But then there's the beautiful duned beaches of wells to walk it all off! Service at the pub was good although the aforementioned Kelly who is a human dynamo gives the place a real human touch that in so many hotels is left wanting, really responsive to guests needs and constantly cheerful even in the face of some of the grumpier clientele.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
5.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,339 reviews
9.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
836 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Quay B&B
The Quay B&B
#11 of 25 in Wells-next-the-Sea
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#8 of 25 in Wells-next-the-Sea
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: The Buttlands, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range: $128 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel - the perfect place to retreat, relax and refresh in beautiful north Norfolk Big blue skies, sandy beaches stretching away into eternity, desolate salt marshes rich in wildlife, picturesque villages and quaint seaside resorts - north Norfolk is the undoubted jewel in East Anglia's glittering crown. And if you're looking to experience the natural wonders offered by the north coast of one of England's remotest counties, you need cast your eyes no further than The Crown Hotel. A former coaching inn, the hotel is tucked away on the edge of a tranquil tree-lined green in the fishing port of Wells-next-the-Sea. Recently refurbished to enhance its existing historic features, whilst still retaining a warm and welcoming ambience, The Crown has 12 luxury en-suite bedrooms. Each is equipped with a flat-screen TV and DVD player and uniquely and individually decorated to create a warm and welcoming home-from-home atmosphere. The hotel has two family suites with separate children's rooms and baby-monitoring facilities, and in some rooms you can even have your dog to stay. Downstairs, guests and diners can select from a sumptuous and varied menu which makes superb use of the finest and freshest seasonal produce, courtesy of the hotel's proprietor, New Zealand-born chef Chris Coubrough and his kitchen team. Whether you choose to eat in The Crown's front restaurant, the spacious orangery or one of our two lounge rooms, you're sure of a culinary experience that will linger long on the tongue, and even longer in the memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing