We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay.”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Only had one night at the Crown but found it most enjoyable. We were given a warm welcome and offered a glass of homemade Lemon Juice which was delicious the room was very clean and the bed very comfortable.
We ate in the Restaurant which was a very pleasant experience, the staff could not have been more polite and helpful. I had the most amazing Mussel in White wine and Cream a real Wow factor !! My partner had Gnochi which one of the staff recommended , she said it was delicious. We went for a drink in the bar after dinner to round off a lovely evening. The Barman was great, really friendly and gave an excellent service. we had a good nights sleep and a lovely Breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papillonColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    191
    44
    33
    13
See reviews for
129
413
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We lunched and dined here, and were absolutely delighted by the food, service and ambience. The rib of beef between two of us was simply superb, and the whole experience was a real joy. Go there as soon as you can; it's worth a long drive.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We only stayed for one night but it was lovely. We had eaten in the restaurant previously and had a yummy meal. My only regret was not eating there again this time. We thought we'd try The Cornerhouse instead (just down the road) -big mistake!

We couldn't fault The Crown- superb service, clean and tasteful room, comfy bed, great setting and delicious breakfast!

We'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The good points? As previously mentioned, Kelly the manager, who was everywhere and very polite and helpful, ran the place virtually single-handed. The Orangery food was lovely, would recommend the Friday Fizz n Chips, and try the homemade shortbreads off the bar menu. Gorgeous.

Now to the 'misses'...couldnt find anyone to check us in, staff was one young gentleman at the bar who suggested coming back when they were less busy so took a walk into Wells. Came back where we located Kelly.

We were also in room 12, lovely room with great views...but a big let down in the bathroom. The finish was not what you'd expect of a hotel with this rating. The shower head needed replacing as some of the jets were not working, the head was fixed so couldnt aim it and the jets that did work, sprayed water everywhere, and thats when you could get the right temperature.. The jacuzzi bath i believe was possibly one that was designed to be set into the floor, far too high to step out of if having a shower, im relatively young and fit but i had difficulty and its an accident waiting to happen. The bath panel seems cobbled together (get a professional in!) and the tiling and finish around it was amateurish at best. Time for a refurb. The sink unit was far too high for the lovely modern square sink and the blue inset lighting was loose and ill fitting. It may sound rather picky, but again the bathroom details let it down. Dont cut corners on finish please, its little things that all add up to a big difference!.

Kelly didnt appear to be on duty on Saturday morning for breakfast, breakfast was adequate, but came down to no staff in the breakfast room and no-one to seat us. A rather half-hearted and unenthusiastic young lady eventually appeared. Please use foresight and remove the butter pots from the fridge before people arrive, we had rock hard butter for the cold toast!. Totally different story on sunday morning when Kelly was at the helm.

The other staff need to take a leaf out of Kelly's book on customer service...saturday afternoon around 4.30pm i went to enquire about the complementary cream tea and there was a young gentleman on the computer along with the surly young lady from the morning. After he noticed i was there, gave me eye contact, but did not acknowledge me and neither did he mention my presence to the other member of staff. When she finally turned round, with huge effort, she went to fetch Kelly, when she could have answered my query herself?. Its just BASIC manners and courtesy to acknowledge customers even if its not your job, even a SMILE and a 'can i help you'. As a previous reviewer has said, The Crown just doesnt seem to know what it wants to be, and needs to excel in all areas and not be half-hearted in some, and It could live up to its rating if it just paid attention to detail.

We dont go to The Burj or any other ridiculously expensive hotel and then give a bad review of a small local hotel (see another reviewers comments) BUT we do expect a good standard of accomodation and most of all customer service, the only person doing that was Kelly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine_keene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly E, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback. We are very sorry to hear you were un-happy with aspects of your stay and all your comments have been passed to our Interior Design and Maintenance Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I’m sorry to post a ‘poor’ rating because the staff in the hotel were great and do an excellent job. It’s a shame they have so little to work with. We booked the family suite (with an extra bedroom for our child). Unfortunately the room looked like it could do with a refurbishment. When we ran a bath, the tap broke but they fixed it quickly, so I’ve not marked them down for this. The room looked a little too ‘rustic’ (read ‘old’) the wooden walls/windows look like they should be replaced. Worse of all the mattress protector on our double bed was in such a bad state that we could feel how ‘lumpy’ it was – completely unacceptable. The tv in the spare bedroom is ancient and we couldn’t work it (so why have it there?)

Not sure if the walls are thin but you can hear water running in the pipes and it’s annoying when your ‘neighbour’ is an early riser and decides to run a bath really early in the morning.

The bar area could do with a complete overhaul as the seats smelt awful and it was dark in places. There is no dedicated parking space for this hotel, so you take your chances with the public spaces outside.

Some good points:
- Cream tea late afternoon, on the house.
- Great location and Wells is a very pretty place.
- The breakfast is good.
- As I said earlier, friendly staff

I was glad that we had only booked a 1-night stay!

Room Tip: Avoid the family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeCCTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in late August . The food was fantastic and the service very friendly.
We were a party of two adults and children and when we were shown to the room , we were delighted to find it spacious and worth the money we had paid . The children loved the bunk beds and tv in their small anti room . The room had good facilities with tea and coffee facilities , bottled water and cookies. ( nice touches) .parking can be a bit hit and miss but we were lucky and we're allowed to park to the rear of the hotel which was handy with two children . I would definitely go back again and enjoy the great service and food in a lovely part of the town .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Overall The Crown is good value for money providing a room you can pick on the net and first class meals. I agree with a previous traveler that 4.5 would be a better "score". The bathroom we had was beginning to get tired.. apart from that we found the overall stay excellent value for money. The 4% is for the staff and particularly Kelly who is everywhere.. she must be one of triplets. We will certainly go again when we do a repeat coastal walk.

Room Tip: Look on the net.. we had room 12 which had charming views to the Church
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
5.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,305 reviews
9.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
792 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
216 reviews
15.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#7 of 25 in Wells-next-the-Sea
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: The Buttlands, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel - the perfect place to retreat, relax and refresh in beautiful north Norfolk Big blue skies, sandy beaches stretching away into eternity, desolate salt marshes rich in wildlife, picturesque villages and quaint seaside resorts - north Norfolk is the undoubted jewel in East Anglia's glittering crown. And if you're looking to experience the natural wonders offered by the north coast of one of England's remotest counties, you need cast your eyes no further than The Crown Hotel. A former coaching inn, the hotel is tucked away on the edge of a tranquil tree-lined green in the fishing port of Wells-next-the-Sea. Recently refurbished to enhance its existing historic features, whilst still retaining a warm and welcoming ambience, The Crown has 12 luxury en-suite bedrooms. Each is equipped with a flat-screen TV and DVD player and uniquely and individually decorated to create a warm and welcoming home-from-home atmosphere. The hotel has two family suites with separate children's rooms and baby-monitoring facilities, and in some rooms you can even have your dog to stay. Downstairs, guests and diners can select from a sumptuous and varied menu which makes superb use of the finest and freshest seasonal produce, courtesy of the hotel's proprietor, New Zealand-born chef Chris Coubrough and his kitchen team. Whether you choose to eat in The Crown's front restaurant, the spacious orangery or one of our two lounge rooms, you're sure of a culinary experience that will linger long on the tongue, and even longer in the memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing