We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mushroom Stroganoff”

The Bowling Green Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mushroom Stroganoff”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Well we have also visited this pub before and had decent meals,good pub grub, but decided to eat there on the evening of 28th April 2014, my choice being mushroom stroganoff and was presented with a plate of rice and mushrooms, cooked of course, but there was NO presence of any kind of sauce, which I'm sure most people know it is usually creamy and lovely with a hint of garlic etc. I didn't eat it all, wished I hadn't eaten any but when others with you are getting on with their meal it seems a bit rude. I asked for a desert on the house but was refused said they would take money off the meal, ok, she reduced by about a pound, they also tried to charge for a round of drinks that had been paid for!! My husband had the cod and chips, batter very stodgy, therefore reducing the size of what looked like a large piece of fish, Vicky is it? seemed quite flustered and angry, didn't apologise in fact got the young waitress to do that for her,don't think I'll be going back there in a hurry,thankfully there's a lot of good places to eat and drink out there that know what they are doing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annetta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    113
    30
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
enfield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly service , lovely room and great full English'”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

As we were in Wells for a family Birthday ,we booked the Bowling Green for a one night stay on the recommendation of a family member. We made the reservation with Vicky the owner. When we arrived on the Saturday afternoon to check in Vicky was not there but left a message on the door apologising for not being there and left a number for us to call back. We were not disappointed , Vicky is very friendly and helpful and showed us the room then gave us the key so we could let ourselves in later in the evening. The rooms are very clean , comfortable with TV and tea /coffee . We had the full English breakfast with coffee ,toast and orange juice . It was all cooked fresh and we were given lots of choices . We would certainly recommend the Bowling Green.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spursfansEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Down and dirty early doors meal”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here many times and it's worth commenting again.......wholesome good food freshly prepared. Nothing too fancy but very enjoyable. Great selection of food. The only pub in the area that serves a great Yorkshire bitter (Speckled Hen) rather than the ubiquitous undrinkable over bitter bitter. Well done to all......

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Suppertipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Roast”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Excellent Sunday roast dinner. The food we ate was very good indeed - one of the best Sunday Roasts we have eaten. The meats were good quality and well cooked with fresh vegetables (not frozen), lovely crispy roast potatoes and good Yorkshire puddings.Great staff who are efficient and friendly. We were lucky to get a table on a Sunday lunchtime in March so would recommend that you book in advance.
Great food in a great family run pub.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveyP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Proper, no frills pub with friendly, helpful staff. Six of us had roast meals which we cannot fault - home cooking at its best with plenty of everything. We will be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bowling Green Inn also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to The Bowling Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing