We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eton mess with no meringue”

The Bowling Green Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
redcar
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Eton mess with no meringue”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having visited last year we were looking forward to our meal.The landlady is a happy person who makes you feel welcome.The same can't be said of the waitress who served us.She may have been having an off day but manners and a smile cost nothing.She acted as though she didn't want to be there.The meals themselves were OK but I think over £4 for soup is a lot.It has a very small bread bun with it and the girl bought knives maybe for the invisible butter.The mains were lovely and filling.My other gripe was with the desserts.They are not cheap and I was presented with an Eton Mess without the meringue.£4.95 for strawberries and cream.When I told the waitress she laughed and said oh I forgot the meringue.She then took our mats straight away and cleared the table before we had chance to draw breathe.We felt we had outstayed our welcome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    107
    30
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the bowling green wells”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The welcome and atmosphere are first rate. The food is excellent and the girls behind the bar work their socks off to make sure you are entirely satisfied. None of your arty farty rubbish.Get yourself there.You wont be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants.England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“old school pub”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having been to the bowling green to eat several time with friends this was the first time with the wife. We also stopped in the b @ b . This was a very pleasant stay must I say. The food and service was excellent and the staff were very helpful . I would not hesitate in stopping there again . Would recommend this to anyone

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

My partner & I went to the bowling green after referral from the owner of the b & b we were staying in. It was busy when we arrived & was told it would be at least half an hour before there would be a table available for us to eat. We said we would wait & ordered a drink whilst we waited. After only a few minutes a table became available. When the food arrived it looked very appetising & tasted good too. I would also like to say that all the staff were very friendly. I would definitely recommend the bowling green.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Oldie Worldie Pub”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very old pub in Wells, Norfolk. We visited on a Sunday Evening and had a Roast dinner - which cost £9.25. The food was very good, large portions and all the vegetables were freshly cooked. The pub itself was typical of an old pub - it probably had not changed much for a very, very long time - it was warm, cosy and welcoming. The service was also very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bowling Green Inn also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to The Bowling Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing