We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Climb aboard!”
Review of The Albatros

The Albatros
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
gravesend
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Climb aboard!”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Full of character, charm and atmosphere. We had some tasty savoury pancakes and a few drinks. The service was excellent and the price reasonable. The type of place where you will strike up conversation with the table next door. Great place, lovely people.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpaceCowboy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    151
    35
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great for chilling !”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Drinks on a sunny eve on a boat - could not be better !. This is a great place to relax. Great real ales and pancakes. Stairs to the bar area are scary steep - you would not want too many beers !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, lots of character - allow plenty of time for the meal”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We visit The Albatros two or three times each year. Eating on board is an experience. The bar and tables are accessed via a steep wooden 'ladder' - not great for those with mobility issues.

Down 'below' the restaurant has a unique feel. Lovely old wooden tables, sea charts on the walls, board games to pass the time while waiting for the food. The pancakes are great and there's a selection of beer, wine, mead etc.

Customers should be aware that service is always on the slow side - meals seem to be prepared individually. In our party of 5 the first person had finished when the last was served his meal. It's not ideal but we know what to expect and always allow plenty of time. Having games available to play at the table is all part of 'The Albatros' experience and regulars will set their expectations appropriately.

In winter it gets fairly cold - last year gas heaters were positioned near the tables but we still needed coats. But after a snowy walk on the beach the hot spiced mead and pancakes went down a treat.

Try to book in advance. For atmosphere book when a band is playing and expect it to be crowded. For a relaxing meal book when the band is not playing and allow at least an hour - have a drink, play dominos and just chill.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BikeTourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I liked the fact it was quirky.
I liked you could get a coffee or a pint.
I liked the live music...
Not much I didn't like really!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pancakes, atmosphere and live music on ship”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Thiships-on-a-ship serves pancakes, has a bar and provides live music. When we went along there was a great atmosphere with plenty of kids as well as the more musically minded down in the hold. Sitting on deck watching the sun go down while the band played was a good way to relax. Real ale as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Albatros also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to The Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing