We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hair’s in the chips 🤢”

French's Fish Shop Ltd
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Family fish and chip shop, established over 90 years ago. On the Quayside at Wells-next-the-Sea. Serving fresh fish and home made chips freshly cooked.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We gave this place a try after walking past and seeing how busy it was, half way through eating this my partner noticed a hair in her chips then a few more, then I found a few in mine. Poor hygiene

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonC_mgr, Manager at French's Fish Shop Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review French's. We take complaints of this nature very seriously and I'm so sorry you had to experience this. If you had brought the meals back please be sure we would have given you an instant replacement and it would also have brought our attention to the problem far sooner.
We have since undertaken an investigation into how this happened and have put measures in place to make sure it does not happen again from our side, but we do face a constant battle dealing with items blown in from outside or brought into the shop. However, this does not lessen the gravity of your complaint in any way and can I reiterate our commitment to avoiding this in the future.
French's ongoing commitment to food hygiene is evidenced by our recent five star rating from the council, and food hygiene also played a key part in our recent Quality Award and top 20 placing in the NFFF awards announced last month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a complete rip off ordered hubby haddock and chips @ £8.00...myself small chips and curry sauce @ £2.80...the batter on the haddock was close to burnt and the size of 3 fish fingers and he had to look for his chips they did nt even come close to my small chips... Safe to say will be body swerving this in the future!.. How an earth they have awards is a mystery to me @ all costs avoid the French rip off!what a sad end to a lovely day Grrrr!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Sxtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonC_mgr, Manager at French's Fish Shop Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review French's. I am so sorry that on this occasion your fish and chips was not up to standard. I will speak to the relevant staff to make sure this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a recent break in Norfolk we had been into Wells on a couple of early evenings and seen how busy this fish shop was, lots of people sitting outside on the quayside eating, also parked up eating and watching the boats.
Had to try it! The chips were great, scampi was good. Cod - the fish was delicious but the batter was too oily and we ended up leaving 90% of the batter.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank BigT2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A day out on the coast with the family we always go to french's cod and chip is the best for miles..

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank lucysU9803CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very disappointing service at what used to be a good chip shop. No small portions so we ended up with a large and were overcharged. The wait was ten minutes although it was a week day out of school holidays. All in all a disappointing experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank phabphil1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonC_mgr, Manager at French's Fish Shop Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review French's. So sorry you were overcharged for your fish and chips. Our staff serve about 70 customers an hour during busy periods and although mistakes are rare they do happen. Please note that if you had brought this issue up at the time and showed the member of staff your receipt you would have received a no quibble refund of the amount you had been overcharged.
Apologies again - your custom is appreciated by everyone who works here. Hope you give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French's Fish Shop Ltd also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to French's Fish Shop Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing