We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful old B and B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Custom House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells-next-the-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Custom House
Certificate of Excellence
Bredon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful old B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a wonderful long weekend we had at The Old Custom House. Our bedroom overlooked the creeks so the view was always changing. The welcome was wonderful as was the home cooked breakfast all to order with tea on tap. The beds were comfortable and the situation was quiet although only a short walk to the centre of town. The walks around the area are well worth taking and Peter is the person to ask about all things Wells/Norfolk. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
83
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here last year and have just booked another weekend break as it was such a lovely place. Its close to Wells centre but in a quiet area overlooking the harbour. Delicious breakfast, comfy bed and great hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Captains Quarters, lovely big comfy bed,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and two boys stayed recently and were made to feel very welcome by our host Peter. Lovely views from our bedroom and first class breakfast cooked to order including home made jams delicious.

Would recommend this B&B if you need to saty in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brennP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Everything about the stay was delicious. Peter and his wife both welcoming, full of Wells ways. The rooms excellent, perfect for the dog too. Breakfast included Angel Hair jam. Only 3 rooms, and we all sat together at one table, often including Peter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kalikellett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed for two nights and loved the creaky old house which has been extended bit by bit over the centuries. Our bed was high up and very comfortable and our private bathroom was just a step away. The location right on the harbour wall is superb but far enough away from the centre of town to be quiet. Peter was very welcoming and a mine of useful information about the area. The breakfast was excellent and we hope to return some time in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyNomad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

On the minute we stepped foot into The Old Custom House we were met with a very warm welcome from Peter. We had 2 perfect nights and woke up each morning to views across the marshes from the tips of our toes. Breakfast was served in a lovely wood panelled dining room and this was shared with other Old Custom House guests. We all sat around one large dining table that gave us the opportunity to share our stories and chat amongst one another. Breakfast was made to order with a variety of cereals, juice, jams and hot food including a full English and fresh smoked haddock. The Four Poster Bedroom has a very luxurious feel with a separate dressing room and a large bathroom with a spacious corner bath. I would recommended this B and B to anyone interested and we will definitely be returning in the very near future!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevieboybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We have returned after a 3 day break at The Old Custom House and from the wonderful warm welcome we received on our arrival, to our departure, it was an awesome experience. The Captains Room which we stayed in, with its own palatial private bathroom was beautiful, with every little extra thrown in you could have wished for. Both the bedroom and the bathroom were immaculate and furnished to a very high standard. Peter and Maddie cooked the most sumptuous breakfasts, all with locally sourced products, we sampled the entire menu during our stay and each combination was fabulous, the smoked haddock with poached egg was to die for. We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts over the years and this one certainly surpassed any other we have stayed in. The communal breakfast table was such a lovely idea, being able to chat with strangers, whom quickly became friends, sharing ideas of places to see eat and walk. Peter was a fountain of knowledge and is very passionate about Wells next the Sea and the surrounding areas. All in all this was a fantastic break and we shall definitely return in the very near future. Thank you so much Peter and Maddie, you are worth more than 5 stars!



  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
15.2 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
6.8 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lifeboat Inn
The Lifeboat Inn
#16 of 26 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Custom House

Property: The Old Custom House
Address: East End, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Custom House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** The North Sea Surge, 5th Dec, flooded us and we are temporarily closed for essential repairs. We are taking bookings now for 14th February onwards ** The Old Custom House, built in 1560, is situated on the picturesque East Quay, just a few minutes walk from the centre of town. The water is literally a few steps away and the coastal path runs past the front gate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Custom House Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing