We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Merchants House
Nearby Hotels
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Hoste(Burnham Market)
$219
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Titchwell Manor Hotel(Titchwell)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Wells-next-the-Sea)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The White Horse(Blakeney)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
109
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmerchant's housethe blue roomhomemade breadperfect hostsfour posterown bathroomplace to staysituated perfectlyluxurious beddingwithout being overbearingposter bedroomlovely daystravel cotfeel so welcomewonderful staybeautiful housenight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 117 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at The Merchants House with a warm welcome, a beautiful room and a fantastic nights sleep. Catering for a vegetarian, the Breakfast was second to none too. Liz and Denis were the perfect hosts. We Would certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Local knowledge and advise from this lovely couple!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Merchant's House in Wells-next-the-Sea is a real find. Elegant but comfortable, spotlessly clean, with delicious breakfasts and wonderful hosts. Liz and Dennis could not have been more helpful, warm and friendly. As another reviewer mentioned, they felt like old friends, and I only stayed there one night! Nice touches were posh biscuits and a cafetiere in the bedroom, and home-baked bread at breakfast. The four poster bed made the experience extra special and it was great to have a spacious bathroom - and bathrobe - to pad about in, with locally made soap and hand cream too. Loved it, and will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Wells.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welltravelledcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I am a bit late in posting this but we stayed for four nights with Liz and Dennis at The Merchants House the week after Easter. We booked the four poster room and loved it. The bed linen and duvet was so cosy and the room really felt like home. Our bathroom was along the landing but as the other room is en-suite there was only us going that way. Bathroom had a lovely shower. As everyone else has said Liz and Dennis are the perfect hosts and breakfasts in the sunny dining room were delicious. We had visited Wells before but not stayed there and found it the perfect base for poddling about North Norfolk. We enjoyed some great evening meals in Wells at The Crab House and The Crown. Would like to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SweetPeaJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a lovely break in Wells, thanks to the wonderful accommodation provided by Liz and Dennis. Everything was perfect from the beautifully furnished room, and ensuite, to the breakfast which was cooked exactly the way we requested. Both Liz and Dennis were warm and friendly, such that we felt like old friends by the time we checked out. They have our warm thanks and sincere appreciation for their kind care and attention.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caswag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

A perfect B&B with lovely friendly owners, Liz and Dennis. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. This is certainly a very upmarket bed and breakfast. The breakfast was first class and all laid out in a lovely dining room where you could watch the world go by. Its a shame we weren't staying longer. We will definitely go back to Merchant House when we next come to Wells. The location is just perfect for the newly refurbished Fleece!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherP200261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews