We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful relaxing family holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Beckfield Farm

Beckfield Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beckfield Farm
Living Room Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Beckfield Farm
Living Room
Sitting Room
Dinning Room
Sauna
Patio
Garden
Garden
Garden
Climbing Frame
Playroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Thetford, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LottieAne
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this house celebrating a 60th Birthday. There was a big group of us and all different ages so we wanted space and a variety of things to please everyone, and that's exactly what we got. The two children loved playing on the football pitch, and the adults enjoyed the hot tub and the lovely walks through the Orchard and nearby forest. The house was spacious and had lots of rooms, the kitchen was a big social spot, and when the weather wasn't great there was a big choice of family board games and dvd's to watch. When the sun came out we all enjoyed sitting outside together or enjoyed the big garden playing outdoor games.
We were also recommended a pub for Sunday lunch 5 minutes away which was lovely.

I'd recommend this House to families of all ages, there was always something to do.

P.S. Thank you for the yummy chocolate cake!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and Orchard
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topcatBob...
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely farmhouse with great amenities.”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely week with friends at Beckfield Farm. The farmhouse had everything we needed for our stay. The boys loved the chillout space in the annex, the dogs loved the garden and walks in the forest, and most of all it was super to have all the space inside and out to just chill out and relax.
If staying, we would recommend trying fish and chips from the van which comes to Brandon on a Wednesday evening. Superb!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylR29
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic space inside and out for a large family gathering”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house had everything we needed. We were a family of 2 grandparents, 3 children, their spouses and 4 grandchildren (18 mths, 3 5 & 8)
We had fabulous weather so the children enjoyed the outside space, esp the football pitch and exploring the orchard. Inside there was plenty of room without all being in each others space, the childrens play area was always occupied and the kitchen was were we all spent most of our time, so much space to socialise in. The Hot Tub was a great extra and the pool table was enjoyed by the men & boys in the family. We had an amazing family holiday and would recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor space for the children
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGravelle
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A family of 11 of us stayed here for a week (6 adults, 5 children) and had a fantastic time. The house is a great size for such a large group and is very well equipped.

The children particularly enjoyed the use of the splash pool in the owners garden just through a side gate, as well as the trampolines, football pitch and large orchard to run around in.

We were very lucky with the weather and made good use of the large table outside on the patio for lunches and dinner.

The owners were very helpful and live just next door so on hand if there are any issues. We didn't find this intrusive.

The property is well located for trips to Thetford, including High Lodge in Thetford Forest which has loads for the active outdoor types to enjoy.

It is just off the main road and there is a minor amount of traffic noise at night but I didn't find this intrusive, and as the grounds are gated and positioned behind the house away from the road they are totally safe for children.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot tub and splash pool
Liked least: Nothing really, the only minor issue is the cooker is an old electric one and takes forever to heat up the hobs (but I'm used to gas!)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandymoo8...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a large group of varying ages.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beckfield Farm is the perfect place for a large group of varying ages. Plenty for the younger ones to do, the swimming pool being an extra bonus. The hot tub an extra treat for the older ones ! Lots of outdoor space and a lovely walk around the orchard. Mamie very hospitable and the chocolate waiting for us on arrival a nice surprise. Would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHardy
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect stay - the most relaxing and enjoyable weekend!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I stayed at Beckfield Farm with a group of 9 friends, and we had the most perfect weekend. The cottage is absolutely beautiful, and easy to get to by train (approximately a 20 minute taxi from Thetford station), or car. When we arrived we found a delicious chocolate cake from the owners, who were extremely helpful and responsive during the booking process.

The cottage was wonderfully furnished, with some of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on! The kitchen was exceptionally well stocked with everything we could possibly need, including lots of large pots and pans, as well as lots of crockery - excellent when catering for a large group. The cottage itself was spacious and absolutely spotless, with lots of thoughtful touches in the design.

The bathrooms were also fantastic, with lovely baths and showers, so we felt truly pampered. Of course the hot tub and sauna helped, and were certainly the highlight of the weekend! They were spacious and easy to use, and the owners were very helpful when explaining how they should be used and looked after.

Although it is just off the main road, the cottage was quiet and very peaceful, and we enjoyed several gentle walks in the woods next door. We were blessed with fantastic weather when we stayed, but had it been any colder or wetter we would certainly not have felt disadvantaged, as it would have given us the opportunity of spending some time in the beautiful and cosy living spaces.

I would strongly recommend this property to anyone looking for a trip with a large group (whether family or friends, young or old). The owners, property, area, and overall experience were faultless, and we will certainly be coming back as often as we can!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M S
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical 60th birthday”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We came to Beckfield Farm for the week of my 60th birthday - you will recall the "big snow" - the weather was dreadful on the Friday. We came from Liverpool and went via Warwick to pick up my daughter who was snowed in! It took us about 9 hours - other family came from various regions in the South and I nearly called it off but by mid -night we were all finally there - and we all agreed that it was so worth the horrendous journey. The house is fabulous and has everything that you would want including the welcoming chocolate cake - thank you! Quality of bedding and all rooms a delight. I could rave about it all day! Family ranged from 4 months to 60 and it was good to be able to take our dog. We had a brilliant time - Thetford Forest literally steps away and we went there every day - great walks - dog loved running free and we had great fun with sledges. Huge garden and we built snowmen. The children 's play things were great and I could imagine the splashpool in the summer being a huge hit. The whole family sitting down to dinner at the one table on the Saturday night surrounded by 60 balloons - is a cherished memory. We then went into the hot tub - champagne in hand (in the snow) and then into the sauna - then log fire - absolutely magical. I hope to be back for my 65th - if not before. Mary

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub - but everything really!
Liked least: Mobile phone reception limited - but it is what one would expect for location and small price to pay!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;