We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”

Franklins Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Franklins Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 70 Restaurants in Thetford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Franklins Brassiere awaits you to come and taste some of the most tantalising dishes brought to Thetford by Chef de cuisine of the Sizzling experience with exciting tastes and mixtures not known before locally to Thetford.We also source all our ingredients ourselves, all fish, seafood and meat is carefully picked and brought to the table. We also let you have the choice of our normal dishes but once you have tasted our special Signatures you wont want normal food again, our speciality afternoon teas are a wonderful offering of our excellent British tradition.if you would like a dish that is not on our menu then we will as long as we have the ingredients make you your own bespoke dish. Great desserts including a fantastic range of Movenpick ice creams. Also back is our fantastic Sunday carved meats, succulent and juicy just for your day to relax and sit back with us on your lazy Sunday. Why not pop in and see what you have been missing.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great menu, excellent food cooked to perfection, very good standard of service. Could not fault anything, I would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SueRuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at Franklins Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Fantastic to see that you enjoyed our hotel and restaurant , we have come along way in one year and appreciate your support, thank you and we await your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 175 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

Quick stay over in Hotel ,did try dinner as well in the restaurant,did not disappoint,decent value for money as well ,especially considering the more upmarket produce and atmosphere .
Thank You,will be recommending it,and will be returning!

Thank TPeter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at Franklins Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments, we have tried very hard to produce menus to the liking of all our diners, our cuisine is cooked to a wide variety of our guests, yet we cannot get it right all the time we are happy that on this occasion you experienced what we are out there to do. Our produce is carefully chosen by myself and our head chef and only the best ingredients used.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Today my daughter took me my sister and my niece for afternoon tea at the Thomas Paine .I would just like to say how lovely it was the service was wonderful the whole place is spotless and the cakes /sandwiches well they surpass there self so all in all I would highly recommend this

Thank Josephine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at Franklins Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments, our afternoon and high teas are proving very popular. It's nice to keep to certain good old British traditions, when done well it's so enjoyable to relax in the afternoon. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

After our first visit which left us very disappointed ,I would like to thank the owner for inviting us back. what a difference fantastic service excellent food and nothing was to much trouble for the young man who worked front of house. A chef who introduced himself and took our order before setting to the task in hand of our food ordered.
A new menu with a great selection of fresh food, served piping hot and extremely tasty.
congratulations to you all you have addressed all teething problems it seems and we will return.
looking forward to an afternoon tea.
A must for all visiting and living in Thetford.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank horseandgroom1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at Franklins Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you very much for your review we are happy that you enjoyed your lunch and look forward to looking after you when you visit for your afternoon tea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been to this quaint hotel and restaurant before and they were so helpful that a couple of mishaps were forgiven. This place has gone so far since the takeover that they must be congratulated on the efforts and quality served. We come to Thetford to see our grandchildren and have recently brought them here for dinner. Greeted by fantastic new character of a chef Chris did this hotel proud, he then cooked us a bespoke dinner of fish bouillabaisse with rice, followed by the most awesome movenpick ice cream selection, the honeycomb was beautiful a little pricey than most but still reasonable. You get what you pay for, I would recommended this place thoroughly and won't be disappointed putting this on for everyone to read. Well done we will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roger l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at Franklins Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Always a pleasure to serve your wonderful family, chef is now producing our new menus for the season and will make sure that we send you a copy of these. Its always fantastic to read such encouraging comments about our team and is a real booster for them that our efforts have been noticed. We know we cant please everyone but are proud of the fact that 95% of our customers appreciate it. Thank you once again and look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklins Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Franklins Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing