We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't panic Mr mainwaring”
Review of Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bell Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't panic Mr mainwaring”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here 2 weeks ago while playing golf at thetford golf club.It was perfect for our stay as less than a mile from the golf club.Good reasonably priced food and a bit of dads army memorabilia.The breakfast was okay

Room Tip: Family room bit small but ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Hotel, we are glad that we provided a convient location for the golf course and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    185
    123
    88
    83
See reviews for
83
280
18
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We (Mum, Holly the English Bull Terrier and Myself) stopped at the The Bell over the May Bank holiday.
I love the Bell, the staff are fantastic, Linda is now running the breakfast buffet now, and she is doing a great job.

The breakfast buffet is lovely, a choice of cereals, fresh pastries, fruit salad, yoghurts and full English too, yummy. If your not into a full English breakfast, you have plenty of choice on the morning menu.

We had booked a twin room, to find out the day before that it had been double booked, Eeeek, Luckily for us, We got upgraded!!! WooHoo :)

We stopped in Room 10, which is more like a suite than a straight forward room. The room faces the river, and has a balcony which Holly thoroughly enjoyed. She loved watching people walk by.

We normally stay in room 20 which is a family room, which is lovely. But, I now think that when we stop next time, I do believe that we try to get room 10 again.

The room was clean, tidy, and well maintained.

The summer menu is now on and there is plenty on offer.

Love Thetford, its a dog walkers haven, and The Bell is a dog walkers hotel heaven.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer part of the hotel have a view of the river. There is plenty of parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezzy2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Inn and for leaving your positve feedback. The staff here always enjoy welcoming dogs to the hotel and we're glad that yourself, your Mum and Holly enjoyed your stay. I would advise booking directly with the hotel, where one of our friendly reception team will do their best to fulfill any requests you have regarding room allocations. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We chose Thetford as we were on our way to see relatives. It was an excellent choice to stay at the Bell as we were made welcome by all the staff who were very helpful and friendly. We had a very pleasant dinner and breakfast. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. We were able to sit in a comfortable lounge after dinner and relax. Also a good car park. Thetford is a pleasant town to visit and we had a short time for a walk before we left.

Room Tip: Our room was in a quiet part of the hotel over the restaurant with a view of the river, when we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AA-PWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments for the Bell Inn. The team and I are glad you enjoyed stay and meals with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

My first visit to this lovely Old hotel, a very warm welcome at check in, room was warm and clean, facilities in the room were very good, food in the restaurant was outstanding and the service was very professional and attentive. This Hotel is now on my list of recommended places to stay. I like it

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew4746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review for The Bell Inn and leaving such positive comments. The team and I strive to deliver excellent service and ensure our customers enjoy their time with us, we are delight to hear our service and facilities met your expectations and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here on the 5th of May 2014 . Room was lovely and clean. Staff were really friendly. Food was delicious and would definitely recommend it to anyone. It was great value for money.Didnt see any ghosts while we were there. The Dad's Army photographs around the hotel were great .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Bell inn and leaving such positive feedback. The team and I are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found your meal such good value for money. Along with the array of Dads army photographs , we now also have on display, behind reception, our Dads army plaque, given to us by Jimmy Perry in 1999 . Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous and large. steak n ale pie with mash & vegetables. Lomg may they maintain this standard. Very tasty and excellent texture to the pastry. Vegetables had flavour and the gravy was smooth without lumps.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for leaving such positive comments, the kitchen team work very hard to maintain high standards . We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was a Mothers Day outing. Had visited the hotel before, but a long time ago.Finding it is difficult if intending to park especially if using a "SatNav".

The table and time pre-boked and available fifteen minutes early.Restaurant more or less empty, but filled by the time we left..
The menu appeared to be the standard one used by allteh hotels inthe group. Ordering was quick, though delivery not quite so!. Food was hot and nicely presented, even the vegetarian options two of the group had.
Main course tok time arriving, but again, welll presented and hot. Choice of sweets, both hot and cold
Drinks seemed a trifle overpriced. Toilet facilities well kept and clean.. Ample free car parking.

Room Tip: Approchthehotel fromthe west side, East sideis a mze of one way and blocked streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiancLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The bell Inn and leaving such a positive comment. The team and I are glad you enjoyed your mothers day meal and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
0.1 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
11.7 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Property: Bell Hotel
Address: King Street, Thetford IP24 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing