We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff and nice charm!”
Review of Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bell Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and nice charm!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Myself, my husband, two young daughters and our dog went exploring around Thetford last weekend and stopped at the Bell Hotel for a drink half way. The staff were excellent, a special mention to sherrie and Kelsey who were lovely and welcoming, even going as far as bringing the dog water and the children colouring books while they waited for their dinner. Dogs are allowed in the hotel - everywhere except the restaurant. Woody was given lots of fuss!
We did not eat but the menu looked varied, maybe one to try! And the kids were more than happy with their food. Highly recommend as a stop off! Thanks to all x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for putting your lovely comments online.

We at the Bell are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    186
    126
    88
    87
See reviews for
84
282
19
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I would like to say that the Hotel we stayed in was lovely. We originally booked a superior room but on contacting the Hotel before our visit I found out there was a wedding on and was informed the superior rooms were above the function rooms, and after stating I wanted a quiet room the manager moved us to the old part of the hotel and we were very pleased with the room we had. It had a large 4 poster, very old and quirky with a large en suite. It was clean and tidy and comfortable. Although the room was at the front and we were kept awake by locals out drinking/shouting until the early hours and hanging around the street corners, but this is not the fault of the Hotel. The evening meal was good, and plentiful and the serving staff were very attentive. We were above the bar, but didn't hear anything from there after about 10.30pm. Breakfast was ok but not as good as the evening meal.
We went for the weekend and did do some of the walks we wanted around Thetford Forest, but was very disappointed in the town itself. It seemed a little run down and there were a few groups of Eastern Europeans drinking and hanging around the rivers/bridges in the town and we witness one argument between locals & immigrants. This was lunchtime, so we decided to stay away from the pubs in the evening. The High Street has a noticeable lack of High Street names and little to offer the shopper.
In short, we enjoyed the hotel and the local area, but were very disappointed in our stay in the town of Thetford.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear, if there is no wedding on, if so, take a room at the front, but be prepared to pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online.

We at the Bell are glad you enjoyed the hotel and your room.

We have tried to let as many people know that we are a well known and busy wedding venue> I am glad to hear that this worked on this occation.

Thetford town is having a lot of work done on it over the next few years and hopefully bring it up to date.

The A11 will be finish next year and later this year they are starting work on a part of the main town. We all hope this will attract the bigger name shops to the town

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about staying here after reading some of the reviews. But we decided to visit Thetford on the spur of the moment (not our best idea). We called in off the street and inquired about a room.The reception staff were most helpful and we were shown a room. The room was very spacious and clean there was a couple of minor problems that were put right straight away. We enjoyed a meal in the bar during the evening. However when we had been in bed for a while there was an horrendous noise in the room from we assume the plumbing. This only happened a couple of times and we reported it to reception in the morning. They said they will investigate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for putting your comments online

We are glad you enjoyed your stay but we do sometime have issues with the old plumbing as the older building was goes back to 1493.

We hope this has not put you off either Thetford or the Bell and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our room was clean and tidy yes with old furniture but I thought that it was in keeping with the building and its history and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Nice bar area and food was good. ideal location for town and local historical sites etc.
Also hotel is reportedly haunted and lots of stories about this are available on site.
Personally I am very sceptical however both myself and my girlfriend witnessed something that neither of us could explain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for putting your comments online. We at the Bell are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have put together a Haunted Histery and would be interested to add your comments about your stay

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

A lovely weekend spoilt by two things. Having booked in on Friday afternoon we were very pleased with the room. However our views were changed on Saturday evening when the wedding reception started it soused as if the base player and the drummer were in the bedroom with us. This row lasted until nearly midnight and it was impossible to hear the television or sleep even though staff had allegedly asked them to turn it down and be ignored. On Sunday morning, despite there being queues for the dining room, there was only one girl serving who was very polite whilst being extremely embarrassed. Breakfast was over an hour coming and one couple left to catch a train without their breakfast. Check there is no wedding before booking. If there is ask for a room at the other end of the hotel and see where the nearest Wetherspoons is for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex24091943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online.

We at the Bell do try and inform every one of our guest that we are a well known and busy wedding venue. We do send our apologies if you were not informed about this.

Normally with breakfast staffing we have 3 people working in the restaurant. Each of them have separate jobs so it would be likely that it would be one person seating the customers.

We hope this has not put you off returning to the Bell and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is in need of refurbishment and better cleaning staff. The carpet seemed worn and loose. The shower tiles were mildewed. The furniture was kind of beat up. Breakfast was pretty good. The WiFi internet was pretty fast, but I had to keep signing in again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atltiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments

We are working hard to keep the Bell at the standard it should be both with the team and the quolity of your room.

I send my apologies that we were not up to that standard on this visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thetford hotels

Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

No, no, no, and noooooooooo definitely NO don't need to say anymore. First room not good, not cleaned after previous guests, second room had to clean mirrors myself, radiator on full blast in summer ? And to top all very noisy and no sleep

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maypole_Farm5690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Mr McHugh

Following our concersation on Sunday when you checked in. I used your first room to show the housekeeping team what our rooms should not be left like . I have also made it very aware that that is not up to standard. I feel this has it home and on reviewing the rooms since we have moved forward. I do apologise that your room was not up to standard and that you had to be moved.

I am a little disappointed that you didn't feel that when i checked you out on the Friday morning or chatted to you at the Bar Thursday night you did not bring this up . We both work for the same company and I always feel all feedback is helpful. I may feel let down by my team like the Sunday when you checked in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
0.1 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Thetford
120 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
247 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Property: Bell Hotel
Address: King Street, Thetford IP24 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing