We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Quick Business Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Thomas Paine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Had a short stay in Town, found all info about this little gem Online, very stylish in and out, outside seating area as well, cosy inside with the real fireplace on chilly night !
Was rated the best place in town,and it did not disappoint me, very attentive ,friendly staff, could answer me all the questions, my dinner in restaurant was also delicious,next morning breakfast as well!
Would like to thank the small team for the great stay, will be back if in the Area.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 3 are the Top Rooms, I have stayed In No.3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPeter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Excellent to see that your stay was short but good with us. We now accommodate all types of guests including business, families and leisure, it's great that the staff training is paying off slowly. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 443 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is an old building, with a roaring fire in the restaurant. The food was superb. We were given room number 3, which is the largest in the hotel. It had a 12 foot ceiling and two small chandeliers. The best thing about the hotel, was the staff. They were very friendly and attentive. They really made the effort to make sure you enjoyed your stay.

Room Tip: Number 3 (Superior Double) is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ML22042011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Fantastic news that you enjoyed our staff and hotel, we have only got here due to great support from our guests such as yourselves. It's always a real boost to all staff and management when they get such great comments from you. We await your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We decided to take an extra night to stay in Thetford on our way to Cambridge via Ely. It was such a good decision as the Thomas Paine Hotel is a fantastic venue! The room we had was very spacious with its own lounge area, lovely outlook and beautifully decorated and furnished. The bathroom was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. The price was reasonable and the location quiet with great off street parking. We could walk to the centre of town in 5minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

We are so happy you stayed with us, it has taken a lot of time and effort to get to where we are now today and really appreciate guests who enjoy our new rooms and refurbishment of the public areas. Excellent to see that class appreciates class. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Unexpected stay and what a choice of hotel, the whole venue was second to none, it is clean throughout and Chris was an excellent host, kind, Friendly and bent over backwards to ensure I had a pleasant stay, even sourcing me a phone charger in my hour of need.

I highly recommend and I will be planning my next visit around this hotel

Thanks for the hospitality,

Matt from Sheffield

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

It's always great to hear that the team looked after our customers, you obviously met Chris and yes what a character, always at your service and so happy that when you are over next time I will come and meet you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Gez, Chris and Staff made our Golden Wedding Lunch a relaxing and truly wonderful event. Tracey was at the door to greet us and Gez and Chef Chris also came to welcome us.
In the function room, which was dressed with a gold theme, we and our children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren enjoyed superbly cooked food. Tracey and her colleague's service was friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. My husband and I returned the next day for Sunday Lunch and had another excellent meal. Well done The Thomas Paine Team.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Wonderful to have been so close to you on your important day, all your family were so wonderful and it was a pleasure to get to know you all. All your menu carefully chosen by you was a pleasure to serve. We wish you well and look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

My most recent visit was quite a short one. A half day conference at the hotel in a light and airy room at the back of the property.
Some of my colleagues were staying overnight and I viewed 3 of the rooms. All had large en suite showers with big bedrooms and very tidy.
The catering was excellent as usual, and I left satisfied.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Happy to hear that you enjoyed our new facilities, they are proving very popular with all our new menus and corporate rates. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This fantastic hotel just seems to surprise us every time we come here, always coming to see and treat our grandchildren they always go out their way to please you, this kind of customer service lacks everywhere nowadays. In the past we have had room service bespoke curries with homemade deserts and now this time we the most FANTASTIC afternoon tea. Been a long time probably since we were in London that such excellence was serve on a three tier stand in front of a lovely log fire. Now they tell us that they are bringing in the fusion teas served in a glass. Beware don't go for a quick bite but take your time and indulge and enjoy. We have also been told about their new dining club, we will for sure become members. Thoroughly recommended to all families.

Room Tip: Book for afternoon tea as it gets pretty busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

What a pleasure it was to see you all again, the staff always look forward to seeing all our guests again but you do make their day when you bring your grandchildren to see us, we never knew kids could be so well behaved. So happy that you enjoyed all the new kids meals and we see that they all loved our new ice creams. Looking forward to your next visit already.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
7.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
643 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
0.0 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Thetford
132 reviews
11.3 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thomas Paine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thomas Paine Hotel

Address: 33 White Hart Street, Thetford IP24 1AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range: $93 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thomas Paine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI througout the hotel in all of our totally refurbished bedrooms. Extremely popular being a pet friendly property so you don't have to leave your best friends at home, if you want excellent local produce and seafood then you should visit this ambient restaurant and boutique hotel, our fantastic local cuisine with efficient and friendly service, good local ale and fabulous surroundings you’ll experience this hotel. Recently totally refurbished and under new management, The Thomas Paine Hotel offers a new level of comfort and service. Situated within walking distance of many of the town's attractions, it makes an ideal base for exploring the area or for the businessman needing a good night's sleep. Steeped in history having been the birthplace of Thomas Paine who wrote the Rights of a man, come visit history in its making. Only 30 minutes from Cambridge and 20 minutes from Newmarket excellent for the races. Plenty of free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Thomas Paine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Thomas Paine Thetford
The Thomas Paine Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing