We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely dreadful food sat nov 9th 2013 chef should be ashamed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #7 of 66 Restaurants in Thetford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely dreadful food sat nov 9th 2013 chef should be ashamed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

How can two people from the same party get two completely mixed grills ? Absolutely shocking pieces of meat, the chips were shocking also like they had been reheated 8 times.....
We were last there in August and were blown away about the food and presentation ...... what a let down.....very disappointing for a birthday dinner and will definitely not return...
Sauces were just tasteless and had no flavour also

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 394Lolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedLionThetford, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi
Im very sorry your meals were of an unsatisfactory level. i can assure you that we do not reheat our chips at all. we have recently spoke with our mixed grill supplier who has told assured us this problem will not happen again. we take feedback very seriously and i will be investigating further into the matter what went on in the kitchen as i was not present. But if you have any further concerns do not hesitate to contact us or drop in.

Thank you
Nathan Grant
Kitchen manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    114
    40
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Value for money, no frills or fancy food but good., nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Will visit again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cju2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedLionThetford, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap drink is the main attraction”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We've been here a few times, but these days it's only to have a drink. The couple of times we did eat we were very disappointed. Slow service, without a smile. The food was poor but I get the feeling this is becoming standard across the Wetherspoon chain, quality is slipping as they try and cut corners. There is little atmosphere - you feel like you are in a canteen rather than a pub, the open 'pantry' kitchen adds to this and isn't a feature. I don't care how the food is being cooked as long as it's good - but why show off something that isn't? With its location it could have been so much better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

A steak and a glass of wine for such a fantastic price! You couldn't ask for any more. The steak was cooked to perfection and the service was amazing!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedLionThetford, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback we will continue our hard work to send out the best quality food and drinks possible, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a Wetherspoons pub but located centrally by the market place. They have outdoor space and the interior is pleasantly laid out with space between tables. The menu is typically pub-grub but there is quick service. No reservations for tables though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank babs74_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedLionThetford, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi there thankyou for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your visit. we do offer table reservations over the phone but usually for tables of 6 people or above. Once again thankyou for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing