We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Grand Central Bar & Grill
Ranked #20 of 73 Restaurants in Thetford
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great time, food was great and coctails tasted amazing. Been served by Kinga,Who was very polite and helpful.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 375justyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Now first impressions of Grand Central are pretty good. The place looks clean and well done out. It really does look the part. Greeted by a friendly waitress upon arrival we were promptly seated in the empty restaurant. After a good look at the menu we made our choices and the wait begun. During the wait the place gained maybe 4 more tables. But the wait was far too long considering at ordering we were on our own. The food eventually turned up, one of the dishes was noted down wrong but wasn’t too much of an issue. The waitress apologised profusely and we said not to worry. The food was alright. Nothing to shout about but wasn’t offensive. Now dessert. This was where it went downhill rapidly. Two of the party ordered the mini cinnamon doughnuts ‘soaked in caramel syrup and served with warm chocolate sauce’ now what we got was cold dry mini doughnuts with cold chocolate sauce that wasn’t overly palatable. When the waiter was asked if the doughnuts were meant to be warm we had the response of ‘yeahh I microwaved them for 30 seconds so they should be!’ Needless to say these were sent back and not charged for. Finally when trying to pay once again the wait was ridiculous. Trying to get the attention of any member of staff was painful. All in all the place has potential. Step up the food game and train the staff better and the place would be good!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank oc_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic meal here. We come here often and the management are fantastic. Kinga was a great server and incredibly friendly. We both thoroughly enjoyed the ribs and the chicken tenders were sensational.

We also enjoyed some pool as well. Great environment to enjoy a meal

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Z6144WLbenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely place we came across whilst travelling, great service by Kinga and excellent food, would highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Annawade09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine D, Manager at Grand Central Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for reviewing us. I'm glad to hear that from you and as we aim , we will always try to deliver great service and delicious food. Hope to see you again soon and wish all the best.

Kind regards

Claudiu F. Ciubuc

Management team member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying at the Travelodge for the weekend and had discount vouchers for Grand Central. We met friends & family for breakfast and enjoyed the food, so decided to go back for dinner.

It turned out that wasn't a good idea. We explained were we going to a surprise party at the nearby Cons Club and needed to be in and out fairly quickly, we allowed ourselves 45 mins. To help our cause we ordered something simple - potato skins and chicken tenders both off the starters section, as we didn't want indigestion.

Firstly they 'forgot' we advised them we were short on time, so waited 25 mins before our food arrived and was then shocked to find that 'potato skins' were actually 1 half of a potato per person for £5.95! Essentially we paid £11.90 for 1 potato between us!! Too me this is daylight robbery, even with our discount it was still £9.50! When we ordered the chicken tenders I specifically asked if they were southern fried or not, and was told they weren't, both my husband and I cannot tolerate too much spice, however when they arrived, they were in fact southern fried!! Now I understand some people may find southern fried food non spicey, however to us, it is, which is why we asked in advance.

Normally I would've sent the food back or refused to eat it, however time wasn't on our side for alternative options. I would strongly suggest that staff be updated on what their food is made from/with so something horrible doesn't happen to another guest, that may have actual allergies.

The next time I visit Thetford, I will make sure to give the Grand Central a miss.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChelleBrailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Central Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Grand Central Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing