We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food and very good value.”
Review of Globe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We booked last minute but managed to secure a double room. The room was clean and tidy and the bed firm but comfortable with spotlessly clean fresh linen and duvet and extra pillows if required. Service at reception was very good and nothing was a problem for the staff. We had a large cooked breakfast each which would fill the healthiest of appetites and this was cooked great. The hotel does not have its own parking but there is a large public car park opposite in market square. From 6pm to 8 am following morning costs a pound and it is about 6 pounds for the day. There is a cheaper long stay car park about 150 yards down the road . Altogether my wife and I had a good stay and felt it was good value for the money and would certainly use again if we needed to stay in kings Lynn . However be aware that on some Saturday nights they have a dj and loud music playing to 1 am
. It did not bother us though as we had a few drinks in the bar and went to bed later.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stapley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 783 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

As the title says, the hotel was nice enough, parking on the market square was convienient and easy enough. Hotel is above a weatherspoons and close to loads of restaurants. Staff were pleasant, only complaint would be that the bed was not great so I didn't sleep very well and I couldn't turn the shower off!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adaajoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in the centre of King's Lynn with ample car parking all round and in an area with both historic interest and evening entertainment. Nearby is the Corn Exchange with many shows on, Pizza restaurants, Chicken restaurants adn several pubs within walking distance of this towns night club. However, you will find that the parking is not cheap, King's Lynn town centre is not nowadays a cheap place to park and you have to pay to park overnignt too and wake up early to ensure that you renew your ticket as the parking attendants are sharp in this area. You will not be able to get any back form the hotel as they are council run car parks and the hotel does not have it's own car park.

Anyway, it is a good location and for what you pay the quality is good. There are a variety of sized rooms in the building as this used to be a historic hotel before Wetherspoons took it over and there used to be several grades of room. Nowadays you get all rooms for the same price. My one complaint about the rooms is that the bathroom floor is black and looks out of character and a bit harse and cheap. The rest of the room was fine and comfortable. It was much smaller than we had in a previous room but we tend to only have over night stays here and we was in this room no longer than 8 hours this time.

The floors are uneven in this hotel and it can throw you a bit if you are not used to it. It is part of the character of the historic hotel and is therefore something that cannot be improved.

Be aware that on a Friday and Saturday night this is a noisy pub with loud music played into the early hours. This has never been a problem for us as we join in so we do not know how loud it can be in the rooms.

This place is also within walking distance of the river and this can be plesant too.

If you fancy poping intot he pub in the evening, you need to go around the outside of the pub as the linking door is closed in the evening to stop underage drinkers going in there. If you try, you will find that upon walking round the outside, the door men may say sometihg about you trying to get in the wrong way. This door is openable during the day with your door key.

My advice is not to eat in this hotel! We originally come from this area and have had several poor quality meals in this branch. My bacon sandwich appeared to have tomato juice smeared on the side of the bread but I had none of these on my plate. Nothing against Weatherspoon meals as there is another Weatherspoons just off the Tuesday Market plabe nearly opposite within walking distance and the food and service here is much better and they take great care over the food compared to this hotel. Pity but overall it is an acceptable place for a sleep after a night out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stiegldrinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

No complaints here! The hospitality tray having water and biscuits was a lovely surprise...thank you! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were well informed on the music in the pub and the parking situation. For the price we paid, we were very pleased with our stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeHotel1, Front Office Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

I would like to thank you for your time taken to review your recent stay with us. It means a lot to my team to hear their efforts and high standards are valued. the team work hard to deliver good food, comfortable accommodation, a friendly atmosphere and overall value. It gives me great pleasure to thank them for their passion and loyalty and just reaffirms the belief we all have in the Wetherspoons brand.

We dearly hope you will be able to visit us again at some time in the future and can assure you a warm welcome at any of our sister hotels around the country

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Location was ideal to visit Kings Lynn. Room clean and staff very helpful. Loved the Sunday dinner!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msphx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Firstly I must say that we are fans of the Wetherspoon product and use their pubs and hotels on a regular basis.
We have stayed at the Globe before to knew to expect a noisy night and asked to be placed on the second floor. We did not hear the disco but on a warm night with the window open to it fullest - four inches we did hear all the street noise.
We booked for two nights and arrived to a small but clean room with large clean bathroom, the room had a comfortable bed with good quality linen, duvet and pillows. The hospitality tray included a single packetof biscuits with two biscuits in it teabags coffee two sachets each decaff and regular and a small bottle each of still and fizzy water.
Next morning went down to breakfast, did some shopping and returned about 2pm to drop off the bags, room had been made up but no additional supplies added to the hospitality tray - on leaving the hotel 10 mins later I asked the receptionist if she could ask housekeeping to refresh the tray, she told me that she would ask but the water was provided compimentary from the group to travellers and was not replaced for people staying two nights as we were. I pointed out that this was a little mean, as we were not expecting to have the linen on the bed changed and we were still paying full price £54 per night for the room only.
I note also that the early booking discounts do not appear on web bookings either. We did get a call at abouty 4.30pm to say that supplies of tea and coffee were available at reception if we wanted to go and fetch them - I had aleady been out and bought what we wanted.... poor show.
During the early morning Sunday, at about 8am (before we changed the clocks) we were awakened by the windows of our bedroom being cleaned .... who put the Hospitality into the Hospitality business NOT wetherspoons. When asked about the noise we did get an apology from the receptionist who seemed to think it appropriate to refer to us as my love..... Poor show all round

Room Tip: Only book each night singly there is no benefit to the customer by booking more than one night at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veryhappytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeHotel1, Front Office Manager at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

We would like to thank you , once again, for placing your trust in the Wetherspoons brand and choosing to stay with us at The Globe Hotel. In the same breath we would also like to offer our most sincere apologies regarding the lack of care bestowed upon your welcome tray. Whilst the receptionist was correct in the nature of her response, we do generally only supply an initial full specification of refreshments, including bottled water, for the first night of your stay as a welcome, we could perhaps have assisted you with a little extra service and provided additional items upon request. Ideally delivering them to your room to save you any further inconvenience. Our second regret is the untimely and early awakening you received from our over zealous window cleaner. This was certainly not our intention and we are deeply disappointed that on this occassion we did not provide the level of service we are so widely reknowned for. We have always been proud of our ability to provide any visitor with a good nights sleep and understand your frustration at being woken unexpectedly. Although of little comfort to you now, we would like to assure you this has been quite seriously addressed to prevent any embarrassment in the future. We would also like to take the opportunity to reassure you that every care goes in to the training and nuturing of our staff, be they front of house, part time or management and we try our absolute upmost to instill manners, courtesy and effective communication, therefore it saddens us to hear that a member of our team may have addressed you inappropriately - we intend to drive home our continual training programme, reinforcing the need to deliver communication and services of a high standard and would like to apologise for any unintended offence that may have been caused.

I only hope that we are able to restore your faith in our ability to deliver quality accommodation, food and hospitality - that in the future we may be given a chance to impress on you just how passionate we are about high standards and delivering beyond our customers expectations

Should you have any concerns regarding your stay with us that you wish to discuss further I would be more than happy to oblige at your conveninece, either via telephone or email

My most sincere thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

If you are looking for a place to get your head down after a boozy night then this is pretty ideal, however with Weatherspoons been directly below we found it very noisey late into the night, and early hours.

It's very centrally located and there isn't really much choice in Kings Lynn and this is probably the better option in the centre. There is plenty of local parking however it is all public, pay per use parking and can be quite expensive.

The rooms were very standard of this type of hotel, they were clean and tidy and with all the standard facilities.

If you book be sure to ask about the location of your room, we were told there are rooms at the other side of the hotel where you are isolated from the noise of the pub below.

Room Tip: Some rooms suffer from noise of the pub below, be sure to ask for a room away from this is you are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cfox1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,131 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
961 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Ffolkes Hotel
The Ffolkes Hotel
#11 of 15 in King's Lynn
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
317 reviews
6.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
874 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe Hotel

Address: King Street | Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#4 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: $51 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Globe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Hotel King`s Lynn
Globe Hotel Kings Lynn
Globe Kings Lynn
Globe Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing