We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a visit!

If you enjoy English history, you will love seeing this fabulous castle that dates from the 1100’s... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Misqueen
via mobile
Still Wonderful

It’s just ten minutes away from us and an exceptional building. Used to stop here bringing two... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
tyketyke
,
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Read all 529 reviews
  
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveler rating
230
219
56
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
219
56
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen isabella worth a visit english heritage per adult audio guide ticket office howard family re enactment gift shop car park really enjoyed our visit information boards couple of hours tea room sunny day walk around lovely place
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you enjoy English history, you will love seeing this fabulous castle that dates from the 1100’s. What surprised me the most was the depth of the moat surrounding it. I’m not sure how an invader could get up a Hill that steep. Great views from the castle as well. Quite a few steps and is not handicap friendly FYI.

Thank Misqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It’s just ten minutes away from us and an exceptional building. Used to stop here bringing two small daughters for holiday from Sheffield, even if it was not open, the loos were handy. Now I’m bringing granddaughters and it’s still magical. If you’re coming from the North to Norfolk, do consider having a rest stop here. It is a classic castle built when Castle Rising was the more important port than King’s Lynn. As castles go, it must have been quite sophisticated. Hope granddaughters took in the history but suspect they will only remember treats from the shop

Thank tyketyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'd definitely give yourself about 3 hours here.

We went with my partner and two step children who are 8 & 5. They both loved it. We had a look around the gift shop which is reasonably priced for a site like this.

It was £4.50 for adults and under 5's are free. They offer audio tours but with the children we chose to just wander about.

It's a lovely castle with narrow hallways and winding stair cases. Lots of history.
There are plaques around the castle and the grounds so without the audio your you can still learn this history associated with this site.

There is a moat here which is deep so do be careful with your children if letting them run about like ours.

Thank 92lvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited this castle without expectation, and thought it was very interesting indeed. It was a cold February day although the sky was blue and the weather crisp. I love castles, and this ruin was no exception.

Thank Shocum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fascinating history, great preservation work, well described history, and a moat which one can walk around. Lots of outdoor space. £4.50 entrance fee - frankly not bad, given the work which needs to be done on an ongoing basis. Scaling the moat could be excellent for energetic sub-teens ! Oh, and the neighbouring tea room is well worth a try.

Thank esfcandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Castle Riding today but refused entry when I submitted my English Heritage volunteer pass.
E H members allowed in free but volunteers who have contributed more free working hours than the cost of any membership are turned away. Absolutely diabolical.

1  Thank mick_a_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely castle but be careful as its moat is seriously steep. They also have various events on here so keep an eye out.

Thank Adam-S-Apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Walk all the way round the dry moat, but felt it was too much to go inside the keep but the guide book explained everything

Thank diddydi-do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Not really heard of Castle Rising but we were staying in the area so thought we’d have a look. Not overly big or loads to do but you can feel the history of the place and it’s a real gem and full of character. Just over £10 for the family to get in and well worth as the kids enjoyed it. To make the most of it, take a picnic on a nice day and admire the view and surroundings. A lovely hour or so.

Thank Fletcher301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Wonderful Castle. Very knowledgeable staff. Set in a beautiful village with amazing tearoom which is easily accessed from the castle grounds.

Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews