We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

King's Lynn Corn Exchange
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This venue is highly recommended for good food, friendly staff, clean toilets, good shows in a brilliant venue of a decent size for shows, pop groups, and not expensive. Parking convenient.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    32
    8
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quite disappointed.”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Came here in December to see the Pantomime Beauty and the Beast starring Darren Day. I was in, and loved pantos as child so was very much looking forward to it however I was disappointed on many levels. I thought it was expensive for what it was, I thought although they are meant to be fun and slapstick that the quality of the acting was dire and almost laughable. It was simply too long starting at 7pm and not finishing until 9.45pm with just a short 15/20 min interval at 8.30 (particularly late if you consider pantomimes are generally aimed at children). I also thought the food and snacks were over priced and the very annoying swirling neon coloured lights that they sold to the children that where whizzing about throughout the whole performance were terrible and hampered your viewing ability. Would not return for £20 a ticket.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Theatre '”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is one place in my book that the Council has got right.
Super shows.Good Food and a nice bar.
Lots of parking on Tuesday Mkt Place at night,with wardens lurking so you can feel safe.
If you go downstairs there is a super Cellar to Eat and or just have a Coffee in.
Great fun this time of year as its packed with children enjoying the PANTO.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank roya a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expensive...very expensive”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Generally speaking this is an over-subsidised expensive theatre venue where only those on a high income can afford to go and see a show. The Comedy nights are dire, less comedy than lame humiliation on the usual outdated subjects of humour. They attract some big names but, again, those worth going to are expensive, and the rest are either also expensive with tacky, lame, boring or tribute acts as well. Even wit a generous subsidy it takes a lot to fill this venue for capacity. The drinks are fairly expensive and I wouldn't eat here. Staff are genuinely nice people, but I would be interested to know how much the council subsidise this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim0thy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old outside, modern theatre inside”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our Kings Lynn visit coincided with the Kings Lynn Festival and we were fortunate to be able to attend a concert by the BBC Big Band in the Corn Exchange. It was a great venue to listen to good music.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_tripper064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Lynn Corn Exchange also viewed

 
Hunstanton, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to King's Lynn Corn Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing