We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveler rating
164
107
32
11
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
107
32
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews town centre gravel drive independent hotel dog friendly hotel real ale four poster full english lovely room only stayed one night enjoyable stay quiet location ample parking lovely hotel lady on reception good size single room bed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 316 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

We decided to go on a magical mystery tour for Easter and found this lovely hotel in Kings Lynn. The room was a good size and clean with modern furnishings. The shower was brilliant...very refreshing after several glasses of vino the night before!! They have also invested in decent hairdryers which is always a massive bonus. A bit of a mission to get to the bars near the waterfront but a taxi back was reasonable. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Smasherdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

ok, have to say the hotel looks lively with lots of nice soft furnishings. That's where it ends for me.

The staff were quite disinterested. The room itself was tiny, whilst lovely looking, you had to squeeze past the bed dodging the tv on the wall to get to the other side. Then there was the thin wall problem. The walls were so thin that I heard word for word the guy in the next rooms phone conversation- not what you expect. So our whole stay there was creeping on creaky floors and whispering.

I thought I had booked with breakfast, but hadn't, the breakfast cost £10.95, which I think is quite expensive. My husband had it and didn't think that much of it and was quite small portion. he said it was not worth the money.

Sorry to say, it wasn't the best stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank MargaretMasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHouse, Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

In response to a couple of points you raised:

Breakfast:
You had booked a room only rate via a booking agent. I believe this is clearly marked on their site, and on your confirmation you receive. If you think this is not the case then I would suggest contacting them to explain this as we do not want people to be misled.

Breakfast consists of: Fruit salad, cereal, yoghurts. Followed by a full English consisting of 9 items, any of which can be swapped about. Fried, poached, scrambled or boiled eggs are available. There is also unlimited toast, tea/coffee and orange and apple juice. We do not operate a buffet system so all of this is cooked and served to order.

Staff
We have many reviews on here commenting on the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, which is something we pride ourselves on.

You stated in your review that the staff were 'disinterested'.

I was on duty during your stay and did not get to meet you. Your husband checked in alone. He also had breakfast alone, I remember chatting to him and he said that you wouldn't be coming down for breakfast. I don't believe you entered the bar in the evening. Your husband also checked out alone. This would have made it very difficult for any of the staff to have contact with you.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

Have used this Hotel several times recently to visit family. Lovely building and good helpful staff. The food is excellent.

Interior decor is in good condition and was being refurbished. Very happy to use again. Compared to other options in the area this is a great place to stay in the heat of Kings Lynn

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHouse, Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. Your comments on the staff and food are much appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

From start to the finish of our stay we were very impressed and made to feel welcome. Tracy and Donna were very friendly and helpful staff members as were everyone else we encountered. Kai our dog was welcomed too and nothing was too much trouble for any of us. Room was very nice and more than we expected with our dog. We will be back.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank PDM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHouse, Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. It is always great to hear such comments.

It will be a pleasure to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

We were very impressed with this delightful hotel. The location was perfect for us and our dog. The staff were very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. Will certainly visit again. Thank you

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SharonM642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHouse, Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews