We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away gem for a nice meal.”
Review of Stuart House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stuart House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is slightly tucked out of the way, but is worth a visit for a meal. You can choose to eat in the bar or restaurant.
We chose the restaurant for the four of us. The meal was presented well and there was a good choice. The portions were large. The restaurant had a nice ambience and is not too large. The lighting although quite dim, gave a nice romantic touch. The drink selection is very good. Service was very good and our waitress was very polite and friendly. We are local to the area and just tried the restaurant for something different. We will go again and would recommend The Stuart House Hotel for a meal. We reserved a table over the telephone and were greeted very nicely when we arrived. I am unable to give a score for rooms, as we only used the restaurant as non residents.

Room Tip: Car park a little tight. You may have to park in the lane to the hotel or on the main road before th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 278 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We all, family and two dogs, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with the tranquil residents garden much appreciated on a warm weekend. Staff were all friendly and efficient and the breakfast hit the spot.
We visited on the weekend that the hotel hosted the annual Kings Lynn beer festival which was very busy but had a great atmosphere and was extremely well managed by the hotel. We enjoyed a beer or two and the atmosphere and, despite retiring early and being in a room at the front, were completely undisturbed by the festival.
The family are already talking about next years visit/

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank beerandbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our stay was superb, with good food and ver y pleasant staff who were most accommodating.no complaints at all.. Breakfast was to a good standard and our evening meal was very tasty, with a good selection.

Room Tip: We were in the refurbished rooms on first floor. Quiet location and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ip1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The staff we met were excellent, the bar service is appalling there is no atmosphere whatsoever, no one in attendance in the bar, reception staff would pop in to see if you required drinks. The Bar needs a good clean, declutter and redecorating. The rattan chairs in the residents garden were very uncomfortable, and I would sugget the ornamental pond be removed for the safety and consideration of guests with toddlers , we watched one poor couple keep trying to steer their little girl away from it constantly. We had a Adnam s ale and a lager on arrival, we found both beers had not had their pipes cleaned thoroughly , such a poor show. The lady on reception was very welcoming and seemed to do everything, once we went in for breakfast she disappeared, so she could have had cooked breakfast too ! Breakfast was very average, although plenty of choice.The bedrooms were spotlessly clean we had a twin room 24 and one bed was very uncomfortable, masses of room in 24 but one bed was pushed up against a wall needlessly.
Such a shame we had such high hopes too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caistergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed two nights. Modern room and comfortable beds. Everything was very clean. Breakfast (full English) OK. In short there is nothing that raises Stuart House above the basic standard any guest might reasonably expect of such an establishment at the price nor did I encounter any problems that would cause me not to recommend. Members of staff (apart from one Germanic or Eastern European waitress at breakfast on Sunday) were unfailingly pleasant and helpful. Location is quiet and town centre a fifteen minute walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eclectic6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice & friendly, great food! Nice & quiet. Great value on a groupon deal. Nice walk through the nearby park, also close enough to walk to Kings Lynn center. The hotel have good selection of wines, spirits, cider & real ales.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave7w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights on a deal which included a free meal for one of the two nights.

The hotel is a little hidden but that brings rewards in quietness. However be aware the parking is a little cramped. The place itself is a splendid old Victorian edifice. We asked for a ground floor twin and were given a good room with large beds. It was spotlessly clean.

Once settled we found the TV needed a degree in IT to operate it. It took 24 hours to find BBC1 and we never did get to BBC2. The beds (No23) were soft at the edges but comfortable enough in use.

The first evening we went to the bar. The real ale was, well not off, just it was not very good. We chose the roast sirloin and went through to the restaurant when called. When the meal came through the meat was tender and fine. However there were very few vegetables. Which is odd. Surely they are the cheap bit ? It was a shame for us because we had turned away from a much better carvery in town at less than half the price. Then the afters was the fag ends of the cheese board and an Eton Mess sans meringue. I left the table hungry.

Never mind there is always the bar except there never seemed to be anybody serving. Only half of four visits resulted in me buying some drinks. Breakfast was not as good as we have had in the nearby Fairlight Lodge, not in quality or quantity.

The second evening for our "free" meal my burger was so full of onion that I received a refund for our wine and again left hungry.

Having said all that the staff we met were excellent. They were helpful, friendly and to be perfectly honest the main redeeming feature of the Hotel.

I don't have a clue why they are in the beer guide. I have been a CAMRA member since the 1970's and I can tell you that their beer (On these occasions) was not good. Perhaps it was lack of sales that effected quality and instead of having three ales on they should only have had one.

I feel for the staff but we wont be going back mainly because of our disappointment with the food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
2.3 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
927 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,084 reviews
0.8 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
844 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
299 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart House Hotel

Address: 35 Goodwins Road, King's Lynn PE30 5QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: $108 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stuart House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel situated in its own grounds and just a short walk from the centre of the historical town and port of King's Lynn. All the rooms are en-suite and well equipped with all modern amenities including free Wi-Fi internet access, direct dial phones, TV, radio, hairdryer, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. Fully licensed bar and restaurant. CAMRA listed bar with a real fire in the winter. Pretty private residents garden for relaxing in the summer. Private off street parking is available in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Stuart House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Kings Lynn
Stuart House Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing