We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden Wedding Celebration 2nd march 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stuart House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stuart House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
kings lynn
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Golden Wedding Celebration 2nd march 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Food [buffet ] excellent // staff very helpful , the hotel was a perfect setting for our 80 guests ,The bridal suite was fantastic we couldnot fault a thing, also a lovely breakfast to complete our stay . We would recommend this hotel as first class.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed yourself, it was a pleasure to have you and your guests here. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    89
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
39
122
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We recently celebrated a family Diamond Wedding celebration over a whole weekend at this lovely, warm, friendly and beautifully run hotel. The whole process from initial enquiries to booking, planning and execution was a pleasure. All staff proved to be helpful and knowledgeable with useful guidance as needed. We took over most of the hotel and enjoyed a high standard of accomodation throughout the stay; cosy bar times, excellent breakfasts and superb main celebration meal for 36 guests on the saturday evening with great sunday lunch to finish off with.
We plan to return to enjoy a Murder Mystery weekend later in the year!

Room Tip: choice of attractive rooms and bed sizes to suit most requirements. There are a small number of step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I will pass this on to all the staff. We look forward to seeing you at the Murder Mystery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

A lovely quiet hotel that we selected because I "liked the sound of the bar".

I wasn't disappointed with two real ales on (Golden Jackal and Landlord) and a wood burning open fire.

The food was gorgeous with an excellent reasonably priced selection (and superb breakfast).

We only took a standard double and this was far nicer and comfier than many we have stayed in.

Absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerehamDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I'm pleased you enjoyed the real ale, we have been in the Good Beer guide for a few years now. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to try one of the Murder Mystery Nights that we hear so much about at the Stuart House. Previously, we've only even been along to sample the fantastic beer festival each year :)

A lovely and very helpful lady greeted us and explained the evening in detail for us as we hadn't been before. She also took care of us in the bar and brought us drinks during the evening. She made us feel very welcome.

We live in town but the deal was so good we decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay. It saved us having to "totter" home or book a taxi, and included breakfast :)

The room was a good size and well appointed. It was a refreshing change to see a desk and actual seats in a hotel room rather than having to sit on the bed. The bathroom was very clean and well appointed and we had a lovely hot bubble bath and a sneaky bottle of bubbly.

The bed was incredibly comfy and we had a great nights sleep. The only downside to the room were our noisy neighbours next door!

The food at the murder mystery was really good. We were offered a good selection and all was delivered piping hot and on nice hot plates.

The only downside to the murder mystery evening was that some of the characters at our table were a little larger than life (and they weren't even one of the actors! I suspect they may have been our noisy neighbours :P )

Breakfast was served quickly in the morning and was a good sized portion. Everything was cooked to perfect and the selection was great. Service was very attentive.

All in all we had a great time, and even though we live in the same town as the hotel, we'll be staying overnight again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spongmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
thank you for your lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the Murder Mystery and glad you took advantage of the special offer even though you live close. It's nice to have local people visit us. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Our beer festival is coming up at the end of July and another murder mystery will be on in September.

We apologise for the noisey neighbours, this is sometimes beyond our control. If you stay again and it happens again there is a duty manager on site and if you let them know we will try to solve the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My mum, sister and I travelled to King's Lynn and stayed at Stuart House Hotel for one night on 7th February. Someone else called this a little gem and it really is. We thought the staff, especially Tracy, were excellent - friendly and very helpful. We loved our rooms (one aspect which is often lacking in hotel rooms is somewhere comfortable to sit in the bedroom - apart from the bed. Here there were two comfortable chairs as well as a chair at the desk.) There was some sprucing up going on in the hotel (they explained this is in their quiet time) which is great to see. We ate in the bar in the evening next to a lovely real fire and had a good breakfast in the morning. We were in King's Lynn to attend my aunt's funeral and, not living locally, we had asked the hotel if they could possibly get us two local newspapers because there was quite a large article written about my aunt. Tracy brought these to our room which we were so grateful for.

I am just sorry not to have found Stuart House Hotel earlier. I wrote one report on another local establishment which I was not at all happy with last year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thak you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay even though it was for sad circumstances.

I will pass your comments onto all the staff.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future in happier times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My partner and I booked Christmas day lunch at the Stuart House and was very dissapointed.
There was no one at reception when we arrived or meet and greet and we had to find a place to leave our wet jackets as the weather teaming down.The meal itself was very poor,the starters were small and looked like they had been prepared many hours in advance,they looked very tired on the plate.The main course was at least edible but we were handed a few veg from a dish ie three sprouts,they were all the same quite tasty.We were then looking forward to some cheese but then again the waitress handed the most pathetic tiny pieces of cheese on our plates it was like the tasters you get at the deli counter.All in all it was a very poor value at £60 a head and although the staff were working on Christmas day,dont forget thats the nature of the catering trade.This is one of the most important meals of the year and should be got right at all costs and I feel the Stuart House failed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
We had 62 people in for lunch on Christmas day (a lot of them returning customers) and had nothing but compliments for the service, food and staff. For this reason I cannot identify which party you were, and sincerely wish you had raised your concerns on the day and we could have rectified them. We do not like to think people have gone away unhappy on Christmas day, or indeed on any occasion. If you would like to call the hotel to discuss your concerns we would be more than happy to talk to you. Thank you for choosing the Stuart House and we sincerely hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I travel to Kings Lynn and Wisbech regularly on business and have stayed at many hotels none of which I would rate. The Stuart House is a little gem and I am not sure how I missed it. The rooms, the bar, the beer and the food is excellent. Service is polite and good, breakfast enjoyable. Car parking is a challenge when busy. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Identify yourself when you next stay and if I'm (Donna) on duty you can have a pint on the house. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.8 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
5.8 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#8 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart House Hotel

Property: Stuart House Hotel
Address: 35 Goodwins Road, King's Lynn PE30 5QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stuart House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel situated in its own grounds and just a short walk from the centre of the historical town and port of King's Lynn. All the rooms are en-suite and well equipped with all modern amenities including free Wi-Fi internet access, direct dial phones, TV, radio, hairdryer, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. Fully licensed bar and restaurant. CAMRA listed bar with a real fire in the winter. Pretty private residents garden for relaxing in the summer. Private off street parking is available in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, SpeedyBooker.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Stuart House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Kings Lynn
Stuart House Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing