We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dukes Head Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Super stay”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on Saturday night and we're very impressed with the lovely decor of the hotel, relaxing atmosphere, and friendly staff. Our room was in the modern annex which was of high standard. Wfi excellent in all areas. Food exceptional as was the service in the restaurant. Well done to both management and staff. We very much enjoyed discovering historical Kings Lynn and it's surrounds, we shall be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Lisa B

It was a real delight to read your review on Trip Advisor, and thank you very much for posting it.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay and that you felt the whole experience including my team was of a very high standard, and I have shared your comments with them.

Please come and visit us again soon where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable time.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    382
    159
    48
    46
See reviews for
122
575
28
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Yet again a great night for Valentines, the dinner was excellent and the service first class. We had a room on the front of the hotel and were able to watch the Kings Lynn Mart from the comfort of our room. For anyone not familiar with this Norfolk tradition it is the beginning of the traveling showman's year and this is the 810th year of the royal charter, they have the official opening ceremony on the dogem's with the Mayors from the surrounding counties.
This event is sponsored by the Dukes Head and together with the Valentines special dinner makes for a great evening. They offer a great package for room, dinner an breakfast for two.

Room Tip: Front rooms have more character as this is original part of the hotel although cam be a bit noisy if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Lynda P

I was delighted to read your review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay over Valentines weekend, and was so glad that you found the package to your liking.

As you say, the evening was very popular indeed and I hope you enjoyed our bespoke little gift of our handmade chocolates presented in our handmade boxes.

Here at the Dukes Head we are always creating special evenings and events and usually package them up, so be sure to keep a look out for the next one.

Again, thank you for your review.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed on a groupon for my wife's 30th and we had a great time. The hotel staff we really welcoming and very friendly. We had a cream tea on arriving with a glass of bubbly which we both enjoyed the scone was big enough for both of us. The dinner was excellent and a bottle of wine was also in with the deal. We would definitely recommend stopping here again, I am already planning the next visit

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Stuart R

Thank you for posting a lovely review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that our Groupon offer has been popular and has represented good value for money.

As I have mentioned before, we are always creating new deals and offers and I hope that you will take advantage of the ones which will be published in the next few months.

Again thank you for your review.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a Groupon deal which included ensuite double room,cream tea on arrival,breakfast each morning,glass of sparkling wine before a 3 course evening meal with a bottle of wine for £130,
First of all the cream tea on arrival was tremendous,a massive scone,cream etc which we had in the lovely relaxing bar lounge area.
Our room was excellent,very comfy bed,spacious with a new modern bathroom / shower.excellent wall mounted f/s TV.
This hotel has clearly just been refurbished to a very high standard,the new bar area blends in really nice with the more traditional lounge area,Every member of staff we met from reception to bar were extremely friendly,polite and a credit to the hotel .
Our entire stay was really wonderful,relaxing and worth every penny,however the best of all was the evening meal,again the staff were excellent and very friendly,service was superb and the meal was one the best we have had and we have stayed in many hotels throughout the uk.
I would advise anyone to ignore the previous negative reviews and try it for yourself,
i hope the management will pass on our comments to their staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longstaffs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear longstaffs4

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a super review of our lovely hotel on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you had taken advantage of our Groupon offer and that you had a wonderful stay.

Here at the hotel we are always creating interesting deals which represent value for money and your review confirms this and please keep an eye out for future deals.

As you ask I have indeed passed on your comments to my team who were also delighted to receive them.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

My very best wishes.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel Monday 26 January 2014, couldn't fault anything fantastic, lovely room comfy bed, very good food in restaurant one of the best meals we have eaten well served by 2 charming men, very good breakfast served by a very nice lady, what's not to like about this hotel found the staff very good. Very clean can't wait to check in again.
Thank you

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Diane P

Thank you for posting a glowing review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you found our services and standards to be very high.

I have shared your comments with my team who were also delighted to read them.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was once the best hotel in King's Lynn, but has changed hands a few times and is obviously now catering to the business traveller on a budget. We got one of their low season deals while visiting family in the town and have stayed here many times before. It's not easy finding quality accommodation in King's Lynn and the Duke's Head represents the best value within walking distance of the town centre - and our family.

I just feel they can raise their game a bit. If you are accommodated in the annex, the rooms are comfortable but a bit small. The built in furniture is a bit cheap, there's no wardrobe - just a hanging rail, no safe and no wifi in the rooms (only in the reception areas) - which in this day and age is not very good. The reception staff were generally disinterested and when we asked to see a menu for dinner, we were directed to the dining room where we had already established there were no staff to be found, so we ate out. Breakfast (not inclusive in our deal but only ten pounds) was very good. But this was served in the main dining room and cooked to order. Before, it had been served in the restaurant at the front of the hotel which looked a bit like a staff canteen. But this is currently closed for renovation (Jan 14), so we hope an improvement is on the way.

Having said all this, we will use it again as it's very convenient and the main hotel has great history and character.

Room Tip: Avoid the annex rooms ending with 01. They're next to the extremely noisy lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbchippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear dbchippy

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to read your comments regarding our rooms as we have 4 types of room categories at the hotel ranging from a Cozy double (as you describe) to beautiful lush Feature rooms overlooking the historic Tuesday Market Place, however all at various rates.

We find that our Cozy doubles and Standard rooms are very convenient for the business traveller, or the guests who do not spend too much time in the bedroom, however most of our leisure guests prefer the Classic or Feature rooms, and perhaps when you return you could request on of these for your stay.

WiFi is available across the whole hotel as we have just upgraded to a fibre optic system.

Breakfast will remain in our main restaurant as we will be hopefully creating a different outlet in the old Gryffens restaurant.

Please keep an eye open for future deals, and perhaps as I suggest, choose a different rom type for your visit.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were only staying overnight and didn't eat in the hotel but everything else we experienced was excellent. The room was very tasteful and modern, the bed was comfortable, the TV was fine, the wifi worked, the location was great, the parking was free. No complaints. King's Lynn itself is quite small but there are things to do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel and it couldn't be better placed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HibTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear HibTraveller

Thank you for posting a lovely review of our hotel on trip Advisor, I was so pleased to read that you had enjoyed you stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in te near future.

Best wishes

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
724 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
273 reviews
6.0 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
798 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Hotel

Property: The Dukes Head Hotel
Address: 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Dukes Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Dukes Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing