We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nuts !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dukes Head Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
1 review
“The nuts !!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a groupon deal on the 11 th January , its a little gem , it's in a prime location right in the centre of town , the room was very nice and clean , very comfy bed and well laid out , the bathroom was nice and clean and had the choice of both shower and bath , the staff were all friendly and helpful , we ate in the hotels restaurant and the food was amazing , it was very well presented and piping hot and tasted absolutely fantastic , overall we was delighted with our stay and if in the area again would not hesitate to stay there again , credit to the staff , brilliant ..

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuzzyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Cuzzyboy

Thank you for submitting such a glowing review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you felt the Groupon offer was a good deal and that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Be sure to keep an eye out for further offers during the year.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    393
    163
    51
    47
See reviews for
126
595
28
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were thrilled with our groupon stay, lovely hotel and amazing value. Warm and comfortable rooms and public areas. Reading up on previous reviews and seeing he management commenting on good and bad reviews gives a good impression, chances are if there were any serious issues management would wish to please their guests. Good cup of tea, sounds silly but so many hotels can't seem to get it right! Only complaint was lack of staff throughout the hotel ,the good thing was the staff that were availible were very friendly and helpful, and apologised for any wait we had. It did take the shine off our evening meal very slightly, as we had received our starter before the wine arrived, but the wonderful food made up for this. There was a refurb of one of the hotel kitchens in place and i'm sure this was not helping as staff had to bring food from the kitchen other end of hotel though food was still piping hot! Superb value for money and would certainly love to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cro88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear cro88

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of our hotel on trip Advisor, I was delighted to see that you felt the Groupon offer was value for money and that you would love to visit us again.

We are always actively creating offers during the year so please keep an eye out for them as we would be delighted to welcome you back.

My very best wishes.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed on a Saturday in January as we were going to a family party in Kings Lynn. We found the car park really easily (with the help of sat nav) and arriving at 2.30pm there were plenty of free spaces. We had pre-booked through hotel.com for £70 room only basis. The receptionist was fairly welcoming. The room was on the second floor at the front of the building looking over the Market Place which was excellent. The room was a good size, well furnished and the ensuite shower looked lovely. We had a good night's sleep - the bed was very comfortable. We did have to programme the TV unfortunately. The next morning both my husband and myself found the shower to be unbearably hot and there was no way of adjusting it. Upon checking out I did mention this to the receptionist who said sorry. If we had been staying longer I would have definitely told them to sort it out as it was a health and safety issue.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Kay B

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was very pleased to read that on the whole you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the hotel was of a very good standard.

Since receiving your review we have looked in to the issue of hot water and can report that there was a faulty thermostat which has been repaired, and I thank you for bringing the matter to my attention.

I sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you come to Kings Lynn.

My very best wishes.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I came for a Xmas dinner and disco which my company had arranged.

Room was good, unfortunately only down side was a shower instead of bath. Room was clean modern with large modern TV.

Bar staff very friendly, however receptionist on arriving could have been more welcoming and smiled.
Dark haired young lady not the blond girl in the morning, she was fine.

Food was alright, everything you would expect at a company party.
I must say the disco was excellent, he was very entertaining, he kept the younger revellers on their feet.

Would definitely stay again

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenLNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear LaurenLNottingham

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your company Christmas party where this year we served over 5,000 guests.

I hope you will come and stay with us again soon where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable time.

My very best wishes.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booking this stay via a Travelzoo deal, we stayed for one night and experienced an afternoon tea and dinner. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and cosy, the food was very good.

It is situated in a good location within easy walking distance of all the shops and pubs, with a large car park to the rear.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legend187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear legend187

Thank you for posting a review of your stay on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you had made use of our Travelzoo offer and that you had enjoyed your stay.

Be sure to keep an eye open for the next deals.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Situated in the centre of town the location is excellent. Car park for some 35 cars is free first come first served. Lovely public rooms and a pleasant bar. We had a standard room on B&B for £75 a night. Room was a reasonable size, clean but nothing special. Nice bed and duvet but needed an easy chair. Shame there is no access to the hotel from the car park. Need to walk down a side street to the front door. Breakfast was a reasonable buffet on the first night and cooked to order the second. Would definitely stay again if the price is right.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Col07

I was so pleased to read your review on Trip Advisor, and I am delighted that you would definitely stay again.

From your description, it sounds like you may have stayed in a standard room where as our classic and feature rooms are completely different and have a real wow factor.

Perhaps when you return you could ask for one of the other room types in the front part of the hotel.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked into the hotel on their Christmas package giving us full board from Christmas Eve afternoon through to breakfast on the 27th December.

The room we had was superb and the food was excellent, some of the best we have every had. However what made it so good was the attitude and helpfulness of all the staff we came into contact with. Everybody managed to get the right balance between being friendly, chatty and informal on one hand whilst maintaining a high level of efficiency on the other. In addition they were fully prepared to adapt to our needs from rapidly providing decaffeinated tea bags in our room to arranging for fresh fruit salad to be available as a dessert at the two candlelit dinners to cater for my wife’s diabetes.

It was also good to know that from our chats with the staff that schedules had been drawn up so that virtually everybody had some time off over the Christmas period so that they could spend this with their families. One can feel a little guilty that others are having to give up their Christmas to ensure that we have an enjoyable time.

All in all an excellent experience, and a hotel we will certainly use again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are larger and give a good view over the older part of Kings Lynn
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Reg32

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post a review of our lovely hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your 3 day Christmas break with us.

I have passed on your lovely comments to my team who like myself look forward to welcoming you back.

We all wish you a very Happy New Year.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
272 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
816 reviews
12.1 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
875 reviews
14.3 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Hotel

Property: The Dukes Head Hotel
Address: 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Dukes Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Dukes Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing