We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dukes Head Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

On arrival we were worried,other guests were muttering about lack of hot water. However we experienced no such problems. This place grew on us. It was warm and friendly and very relaxing. The staff were a delight and the evening meal we had in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albarino123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Albarino123

Thank you so much for posting a lovely review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel friendly and relaxing with good food.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable time.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    375
    154
    47
    44
See reviews for
119
561
28
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Completely agree with TwinknCrumb review.
We stayed Thurs - Sat (wedding on Sat, now glad we left; even though we did want to stay). Also booked via Travelzoo DB&B, plus second night B &B.
Thursday cream tea in the Lounge lovely and peaceful, and set menu in the restaurant that evening delicious, although service slipped when the restaurant became busy and we had to wait for 30 mins for dessert, although the staff were very apologetic. Must say restaurant didn't seem that busy though.
Breakfast Friday morning oh dear:
Staff grumpy, didn't seem to want to be there, everything was too much trouble,
Hot counter had several items missing, and I had to ask for them,
All the pastries had gone and weren't refreshed,
Coffee difficult to come by, and no offer or refills
Other guests also upset and grumbling.
Very, very disappointed after a great day before.
Mentioned to reception staff after breakfast.
Breakfast the second morning no better, couldn't have faced another one so glad they didn't have room Saturday night!
It is a shame a lovely hotel, with excellent staff is let down by the last thing guests see before they leave...

Room Tip: We stayed in 21 perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wadadli96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Wadadli96

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that you found the food to be delicious and that you had taken advantage of our Travel Zoo offer.

I was, however, sorry to read that you felt the service in the restaurant was slow and that you also felt that the breakfast staff seemed grumpy and for these issues I would like to sincerely apologise to you.

Please be assured that your comments have been taken very seriously on board and will be dealt with by my Food and Beverage Manager, because as you say last impressions do count and sometimes paint a poorer picture.

I am sure that should you return you would experience the hotel in a completely different light.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked a Travelzoo deal to come to the hotel for a Saturday night stay. The deal itself was excellent value. On arrival, reception staff were really helpful and friendly. We went to the lounge for our included cream tea. The lounge quickly became very overcrowded with guests for a wedding. Chairs were moved around the lounge by staff, which then caused them to have to step over the chairs with trays of hot drinks. It was clear that staff were really truing their best, but there was too much to do and to many people in a small space. We overheard comments from other nearby guests to the effect of “I feel like I have come to Fawlty Towers”. Despite the above, the cream tea was delicious! I note the manager’s comments below re the Griffin room being an option for afternoon tea, but this information was never offered up by staff and probably would have made things nicer for everyone.

We had reserved for dinner at the hotel as part of the package. The menu choices were good and the quality of the food excellent. The staff were clearly over worked and there appeared to be no one coordinating things which left the full dining room with a service that was inconsistent and disorganised. This was not because individual staff members were not trying their best! They were clearly embarrassed at the level of service they were able to provide. One element of our main course was forgotten. We noticed the same for other customers. We did point this out, (but no staff came near us until we had all but finished this course, otherwise we would have said something sooner. We were kindly given some complimentary petit fours, but would have preferred to actually have the vegetable with the main dish.

We waited 20-30 minutes between our starters being cleared and our main course arriving. The table next to us got their main courses immediately, but this appeared to be because of a mix up over the timing of their starters. It was sad to see the staff so clearly under pressure as they were really trying their best but overrun with demand.

The same applied to breakfast the next morning. Breakfast selection and quality was good, but with food elements and crockery constantly running out. Because elements of the cooked breakfast were so intermittent in arriving, this meant that customers were constantly having to get up and down from their tables and there was far more footfall in the small room than there would have been otherwise. There were plenty of staff around, but again no-one had an overview of what any of the customers needed. This meant people having to get up ask for cutlery etc. Staff would then get distracted from what they had been doing to appease a different guest’s complaint. There were lots of people muttering and complaining around the room, which does not make for a relaxed breakfast service for staff or customers.

Overall, we had a very nice stay and Kings Lynn is really interesting. Parking was no issue for us at the hotel and is an added bonus. Just a few improvements on service could make this hotel so much better than it currently is. I am sure the staff would be much happier if they were able to deliver the leave of service they clearly wanted to. No complain about the staff themselves at all! Well done for your efforts in difficult circumstances!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinknChumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear TwinknChumb

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, and please accept my sincerest apologies that you too were disturbed by the wedding party in our lounge.

Since receiving your review, and that of others, I have now decided not to have wedding events in the lounge or other public areas in the future, so as not to disturb other guests staying at the hotel.

I was also sorry to read your comments regarding dinner service and the service at breakfast, and you can rest assured that these issues will be addressed by my Food and Beverage Manager who during this time was on annual leave.

I was delighted, however, to read your very positive comments about the food and the hotel in general and that you felt the Travel Zoo deal was great value.

I sincerely hope that this was a one off day and should you return to visit us again I am confident you will have a completely different experience.

My very best wishes.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, uk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Good location on Tuesday Market square. We managed to find the hotel easily enough, and had no problems parking in the hotel car park. The girl on reception during check in on the afternoon of 28th Ocotober, was helpful and friendly.
I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. Our room was spotless. Nicely decorated rooom, with very comfortable beds. I had a great nights sleep.
We ate at Turner's restaurant on the evening of our overnight stay, this is well worth a visit....delicious food, 3 coursesfor £25.
Overall, we had a lovely stay in the Dukes Head Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaLamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear TinaLamby

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us,

I sincerely hope that you will come and visit us again soon where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable time.

My very best wishes.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Booked this for or wedding anniversary. :Lovely hotel, delicious food. But
-when booking was assured there was car parking. There is, but very limited. We ended up in the public car park "feeding the meter" Don't even ask about the madam on reception when we asked for help about alternative parking
- there was a wedding on that day. Very nice for them. But EVERY table in the lounge that afternoon had a "reserved" sign for the wedding guests. The hotel doesn't give a damn about residents who might want afternoon tea, Thank you to the lovely barman who took pity and "acquired" 2 chairs and a side table
- no mirror in bedroom (only bathroom) and no full length mirror. If you want to use hair straighteners - plug, no mirror.. Obviously designed by a man!.
And because of walking difficulties I requested a room without too many stairs. Floor 3, down a flight of stairs, round a corner, down a corridor..sorry madam can't change, fully booked.,,even though I booked 2 months ago.
- Avoid room 30, it has the kitchen extractor fan outside and makes sleep impossible
But the staff (apart from the girl on reception, but she was probably fed up defending the appalling car parking) were excellent
The food was heavenly!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear mojo42

Firstly many congratulations on your wedding anniversary and secondly thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to read that you had experienced a few issues during your stay, some of which I have addressed already, but mainly that there was a wedding party using the lounge which made it difficult for you to order afternoon tea in that area, we did, however, have ample space in our Gryffens restaurant at the front of the hotel where we serve many afternoon teas each day up to 6pm.

Your comments regarding my staff and the food is very much appreciated, and your comments regarding reception has been addressed.

I believe that this was an unusual day here at the hotel and should you be able to return to stay with us again you will experience the hotel in a completely different light.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel fronts on to the Tuesday Market Square in Kings Lynn, a large imposing old building with a Victorian frontage in an excellent loction. But most of the rooms are in a modern extension behind the old building and they were very poor. The decor was neutral and harmless (touch of Premier Inn)but in a double room there was only one chair and the lighting was so poor that it was impossible to read except lying on the bed with your head at precisely the right angle to catch the light. Very disappointing. Aforementioned Premier Inn could offer lessons in room comfort. Also the shower was tepid; they had problems with the boiler - not their fault and the staf were trying to sort it out, but they odn't offer any compensation

Room Tip: Ask for one in the old building at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Hilary S

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to read that you felt the décor of the rooms was not to your taste and that there was insufficient lighting, I am certain that had you have requested more lighting at the time we would have been more than happy to have supplied you with a standard or table lamp for your use thus increasing your comfort.

The boiler issue on Saturday morning was resolved by 10am, and again we would have been more than happy to have offered you a later checkout if you had requested this as we did for other guests.

Perhaps when you next visit, you request a room at the front as you suggest and I am sure there will be no issues with hot water.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was travelling for work and allocated this hotel due to location. It has been recently refurbished and the decor is good throughout. Staff are incredibly helpful and conscientious.

Food was good in the restaurant if a little old fashioned in menu choice. Breakfast was an excellent selection.

The main thing that let this hotel down was the size of the rooms. By using large beds they have compromised the space available. Overall though a good reliable stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MachiavellianSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear MachiavellianSheep

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you felt the hotel was of a good quality with great staff and food to match.

As you say some rooms are smaller than others, the cosy doubles especially, but they are priced lower than our Standard, Classic or Feature rooms which have more floor space and generally have a view over the market square. Perhaps when you next stay you request one of these room types.

Thank you once again for your invaluable feedback and I hope to see you back with us soon.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn
Premier Inn
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Hotel

Property: The Dukes Head Hotel
Address: 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Dukes Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Dukes Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing