We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dukes Head Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A two-night stay to celebrate our Golden Wedding with our daughter and son-in-law. We had a feature room overlooking Tuesday Market Place currently undergoing a major make over (it will be quite something on completion). The room was first class, well furnished, lovely huge bed and all that one would expect from a Four Star hotel. We ate in the main dining room on both evenings and found the food to be truly wonderful on both occasions. A truly exceptional standard of cuisine. The staff in the hotel were exceptionally pleasant and helpful particularly in the restaurant (sorry again for the spilt wine!) and they made the stay most enjoyable.
And the 'but'? Breakfast on Sunday morning. Again, food excellent and staff helpful but the noise! The room is too small for the number of people all trying to move around to the self-service areas, the hard floor and wooden chairs did not combine to produce a relaxing environment. But for the breakfast scrum experience the hotel would warrant maximum marks possible. Would we stay again? Yes, without any doubt, if only to enjoy the restaurant experience again of excellent food combined with the so peasant staff.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Uncleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Uncleric

Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that generally you had enjoyed your stay with us, and that you felt the rooms, food and the staff were all exceptional.

I am sorry that Sunday breakfast was challenging, but we had the whole hotel come to breakfast almost at the same time, which was challenging for the team as well. In the future we will open a second restaurant on the busy weekends to alleviate the pressure in the front room.

The great news is that you want to return and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards.

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
There are newer reviews for The Dukes Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

If you find yourself in Kings Lynn in need of a place to stay why not the Dukes. It has an impressive frontage, shame about the rear!

To explain the Hotel would appear to be an old Georgian building with a massive 1970's brutalistic extension unimaginably bound onto the back. This was out first climpst as we parked up. However it got better, much better.

The frontage is lovely set in an iconic square. The entrance is grand and more than pleasant. Staff massively accommodating. With a bit of notice we secured a room at 11.00 am, that's a generous giveaway, massive thanks.

The staff all courteous and on top of their jobs. The room was what you wanted, clean, fresh and presentable.

All in all just what we wanted with a bit more and would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyeonbroadstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear eyeonbroadstreet

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you were impressed with the hotel, once inside, and that you felt my team were courteous.

We take great pride in the fact that we have been refurbished, and make every effort to look after our lovely hotel.

I hope to see you soon when you are back in Kings Lynn.

My very best wishes

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Good deal through travelzoo, Suyra group have recently refurbished so very well appointed throughout. Receptionist were very helpful and pointed out local features closeby.
Our room was very clean and well presented, bathroom with new modern showers but general view of roof not appealing. Restaurant is stylish and waitress very friendly BUT the unapologetic waiter with steel segg heels clacked his way around the dining room all night without any concern to his unprofessional behaviour, It was also very hot in the dining room and no-one seemed to be concerned at our distress.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of fresh well prepared food and attentive waitresses. Pity the pigeons and air extraction from kitchens were noisy and gave us an early start, so ask for a front room regardless of Tuesday market building works.

Room Tip: front rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cthecliffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear cthecliffs

I was so pleased to read your review on trip Advisor and to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Apologies for the waiter with the noisy shoes, I will have a word with him to address this, as you say the sound does carry on the wooden floor.

Please come and see us again soon where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable time.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Arrived at our hotel ,but check in 2,30 which I think is late,staff nice efficeint etc very nice interior, my room very plush .. feature room, but my friends room ordinary double quite basic,but nice enough..didn't eat at hotel but all looked very nice indeed, we had good stay but quite noisy atnight as pub close by.. but soon quietens down after 1ish am.. noisy pipes in my room 5,, kept me awake second night,good area though.. would recommend crofters for a good breakfast across from hotel, and riverside restaurant , great 4 shopping. parking at hotel bit tricky,but good if you reasonably early in day as quite small .. well run hotel would recommend, want to go again

Room Tip: feature rooms worth the extra money, maybe not at front, although nice to look out at market square...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickwsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear chickwsx

Thank you for writing a lovely review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, I was so pleased to read that you felt the rooms and the staff were very nice.

I am sure had you have decided to eat in you would have enjoyed our new menu as well.

My sincerest apologies for the noisy pipes, I have since had this issue resolved as it was a water pressure matter, and as for the market square, once complete this will be a lovely place to enjoy.

I look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Visited this hotel as part of a Wowcher deal; wanted to visit the surrounds of North Norfolk.
Historic hotel, which has recently had £3m spent on it. Nelson and Princess Victoria stayed here.
Friendly and helpful staff; restaurant was very good, and much enjoyed the menu. The breakfast bar was a little more like a 'little chef', but the food was good and wholesome.
Some of the furnishings were not to everyone's taste - plenty of black lampshades; and mirrors everywhere !
The hotel overlooks a large square, which is in the middle of being revamped as a Piazza; so quite a mess at present; think 'cones' gone mad !
Across the square in the short 'Ferry' road, is a great little nautical pub, well worth a pint.

Room Tip: Perhaps overlooking the square - when the bulldozers have left !
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisHamptonCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear ChrisHamptonCourt

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us, and that you felt the staff and the food was of a good quality.

The market square is currently being redeveloped and once complete will be a very nice place indeed to sit and relax over a beer or a snack with our new outside dining area.

I hope when you return you will see this vast improvement.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked to stay at this hotel for three nights as we wanted to see the 'Houghton revisited exhibition'. The hotel very comfortable, friendly, helpful staff and one thing which is a must these days- free wifi in your rooms. Lots of choice for breakfast and dinner and at reasonable price.
Will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor.comfortable room with spacious bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandraSva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Sear Sevarani

Thank you so much for posting a lovely review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay so much that you will come and stay with us again.

I wish you my very best wishes.

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Welcome was fine ,room was hot but if you know how to fully open the window( find the little tabs on the two stays marked "Press"and push when freeing restraint) and you can get a through draught.
Dinner was first class for our initial two nights and good value.Breakfast was good self service buffet style.poor scrambled eggs but good sausage and bacon and tomato.Good fruit and yoghurt.Attentive waitresses for coffee .
Reception restaurant and bar staff all helpful and anxious to please.
3 nights later dinner was less good (Friday full restaurant) fish over cooked but waiting staff still excellent.Wine list small but good quality and value.

Room Tip: go up to top floor to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stillrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Stillrich

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that on the whole you had enjoyed your stay and that you felt the staff and food was of a very good standard, but I was disappointed to read that you felt dinner on the Friday night was not as you had experienced on the 2 nights before.

I hope that you will come and stay with us again where I am sure you will have a wonderful time.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
761 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#9 of 15 in King's Lynn
296 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
126 reviews
6.0 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Hotel

Address: 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: $70 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Dukes Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Dukes Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing