We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely refurbished but some failings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dukes Head Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is ideally located in the historic centre of King's Lynn. The restaurant serves a good menu but there are many other choices for eateries nearby as well.

My room was to the rear of the hotel on the second floor. The lift was out of action, strangely this was also the case when I also stayed there last December... Had it been out of order all this time or was this just a coincidence?

The room was small. It was only just warm enough on two very cold nights, luckily the bedding was warm. The hot water was another matter, having to run both basin tap and shower for a full 10 minutes before lukewarm water came. The shower was very low pressure and delivered a very puny amount, making the experience less than pleasant. For the price of the room, one would expect a full bath!

The only redeeming features are the free WiFi and the quiet location of the rooms to the rear, as well as the pleasant staff.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jeanne7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Dukes Head with my partner we stayed for a meal and it was delicious and very good value for money, the staff were friendly and helpful! I believe the hotel has been refurbished recently, it looks really nice inside.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Here on a business trip. Arrived to find the hotel appeared clean and tidy and well maintained in the public areas, good location too. The room was absolutely freezing and the radiator just could not keep pace with a January evening. I slept in my clothes on an unacceptable hard bed and woke to ice inside the windows as well as out!
Food is a real head turner. I cannot fault the quality of the food or the service either but the portion size is a joke! They promised a bowl of minestrone soup and delivered a thimble full of the stuff. Whacking great round plate type thing about as big as a dustbin lid with a tiny recess in the middle, looked like the head on a very large boil. Two mouthfulls and it was gone! Charged over 5 quid too! Managers here, get a grip we are not all on diets!
I would stay again but would take a heater with me and i would find a curry house for tea. Bit disappointed if I'm honest.

Room Tip: Take your own hot water bottle, you might need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DossHouseJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was a suprise for my husbands birthday. We were offered an upgrade to one of the feature rooms which was fantastic. Clean and well decorated.
Ambience in the bar was very relaxed with very friendly helpful staff.
We didnt eat in the restaurant but menu looked very nice, with a good choice of food but we did have the buffet breakfast available with wide choice hot/cold also with staff available for assistance which was lovely.
We couldnt fault it!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Well done Dukes Head!

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor which was at the front of the building - great nights sleep with just a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed just before Christmas, and it was very pleasant surprise. We had stayed a few years ago and found it very tatty, staff not too helpful and food service very poor. This time it had all changed - the rooms had been refurbished and staff were very helpful. We didn't eat there, but they have refurbished the restaurants and it looked great.
We are local and had a Christmas party elsewhere in the town, and the Dukes Head made our evening - we could take our time, do a little shopping, get changed and not have to worry about car parking taxis etc. We will definitely do this again.
Only minor irritant was the lift being out of order as we were on the third floor, but we are both capable of climbing a few stairs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieandgrahamrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to read you had an enjoyable time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Set in the heart of Kings Lynn the Dukes Head is excellent. Well appointed comfortable bedroom, good breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. Didn't eat here in the evening but it certainly looked nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenryStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, it is so nice to read you had a great time with us and i wll be sure to pass on that feedback to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

the lobby and public areas are nice and confortable. Unfortunately staying overnight was not a good experience. We got a room on the 4th floor. Lift was out of service so we had to climb 4 floors with all the luggage. going out of the lobby and stairs and corridors were freezing. Room was small, needed urgent renovation. The only modern piece was the lcd. Bathroom was extremely smal and lavatory didn't work properly leaving all the water insede. On top of that all other rooms on that fool were going through renovation work and everywhere a terrible smell and wet paint. Restaurant was ok eventhough too expensive for what is is. Breakfast was cold, without variety . Service was nor memorable. We will choose a different hotel next time

Room Tip: Not on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review. I am sorry to hear some aspect of your stay were below our usual high standard. We pride ourselves in delivering excellent customer service so it is dissapointing on this occasions we fell short.

Please accept my apologies and rest assured i will feedback these comments to the rest of the team.

On a positive note essential works to our lift began last week therefore we expect this to be re-opening very soon!

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant - Opeartions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
790 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
318 reviews
7 mi away
The Ffolkes Hotel
The Ffolkes Hotel
#11 of 15 in King's Lynn
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Kings Lynn hotel
Travelodge Kings Lynn hotel
#9 of 15 in King's Lynn
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Hotel

Address: The Duke's Head 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: $73 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dukes Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Dukes Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing