We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
969 results
Traveler rating
629
229
70
31
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
629
229
70
31
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherb gardenafternoon teahot tubnespresso machinecountry house hotelsteam roomgarden roomcar windscreenmacaroonsthe main housewine listsandwichesbirthday treatthree courseslovely groundsmain courselamb
Filter
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 969 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Congham Hall Restaurant . Superb meal there last weekend,
as good as it was a few years back,it has changed owners and
is more relaxed.Look forward to going back again! New seating
area outside, overlooking fields,if you are lucky you will see a
barn owl hunting for mice.

Room Tip: Here for the meal only.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent dinner with us; it makes such a difference to know that you had an enjoyable time and that you are looking forward to coming back again soon. We look forward to seeing in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Treated my friend to afternoon tea at Congham Hall for both our belated birthdays. It was good probably not really worth £40 for two but nevertheless lots of variety of cake and chocolate overload.

What I would say is that the sandwiches had a slightly crispy texture - which I find if they are left uncovered for a short while and the Victoria sponge is more like two biscuits sandwiched with filling. Scones were delicious. Lots of other cakes on offer as well. Tea was a lovely quality - and the seating areas are really varied and pleasant.

You can have yours on the patio looking out to fields, gardens and cattle, inside in two different areas so lots of choice about the setting.

We weren't asked if everything was ok and simply got up at the end and let the staff know we were going so a bit disappointing really. As we left we were asked if we wanted our remaining cakes boxed up to take away - but by then we had virtually left the building so declined.

Room Tip: Didn't book a room so cannot comment
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wooders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to report about your recent afternoon tea which we although we see 'went down a treat' you still left feeling a bit disappointed. I'm sorry that no-one came to check back on you during the afternoon; something we are usually very good at. We hope that we will still be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Two friends and I had afternoon tea this week.While the setting was fine ( chairs and table on the deck looking out on a field of cattle ) and the waitress was pleasant the tea and cakes were disappointing. The pot of tea was just enough for 3 cups so when we added some hot water for a top up it was very watery. The scones were nice and the jam was average quality . However I do not know what the 'stuff' in the dish was. We were unsure when we looked at it whether it was butter or clotted cream. I put my knife in and the whole thing attached itself to the knife in a solid mass and came away from the bowl. The mini victoria sponges were dry and tasteless and the carrot cake had a disproportionate amount of sickly sweet butter cream.
We weren't asked at any time if everything was o k or if we wanted anything else. Definitely would not recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank bonnienorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent afternoon tea from which we are really sorry to learn that you were disappointed with both the tea and the service. It would appear that we have clearly let you down with the lack of service (something we usually pride ourselves upon) and for this we are truly sorry. We hope that we might still be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were made very welcome on arrival and we were shown to our ou room and every thing explained.We were in one of the garden rooms which was very spacious.The only problem was the hand shower which had no shield round it and therefore every time you used it soaked the floor.the food was very good if a little pricey.Overall I would say it is a very nice hotel for a short and peaceful break.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write about your recent short break with us. We are pleased to see that you were made to feel very welcome from the moment you arrived and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

As others have commented, this hotel is well placed for visiting Sandringham and other North Norfolk attractions. We were charmed immediately on arrival as the receptionist came out to the car park to greet us and help us in with our luggage. Although booked for a 'good house' room, we were upgraded (as the hotel was not full - Sunday evening) to one of the delightfully modern garden rooms overlooking the lovely herb garden. We enjoyed sitting on our own patio with a Nespresso and a naughty (but very nice) cookie from our 'room larder', before trying to work off the calories in the swimming pool and spa - sitting in the outdoor hot tub was fun in the sun.

The hotel employs three gardeners who are kept busy looking after not only the herbs, but also attractive flower borders and displays, plus a significant vegetable garden, which of course supplies the hotel with the freshest of produce. We found the food, service and atmosphere to be both friendly and efficient and enjoyed our stay very much. Thanks to all the staff. Highly recommended for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have their own patios or terrace - and two have small private garden areas.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write about your recent stay with us; we are so pleased to see that you had a relaxing break and appreciated the complimentary upgrade. We are also delighted that you enjoyed sitting on your own terrace with a Nespresso and homemade cookie from the new room larders which have been a welcome addition and are now in most rooms. We hope to welcome you back to Congham in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews