We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel but over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Congham Hall 19th Oct. I booked the best suite - Dandelion, the bedroom and lounge are nice but the bathroom is poor , for £270 per night I would expect a roll top bath and a large shower, instead there us an ordinary plastic bath and tiny shower cubicle with an electric shower, if this was priced at around £160 it would be acceptable . The bar and lounges are nice but the restaurant has no atmosphere, however the food was good. Nice place but over priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to comment following your recent stay with us. It was good to know that you felt we had a “nice place” although disappointing to read that you consider the restaurant had no atmosphere. That probably used to be the case, but we are delighted with the result of our refurbishment that was completed in the spring and have been particularly pleased with the feedback generally, especially regarding the restaurant and bar. Maybe we can tempt you to come back and maybe try one of our Garden rooms that are also extremely popular?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
There are newer reviews for Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 833 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

My daughter recently got married at Congham Hall, though we held the evening reception elsewhere. The hotel has been beautifully refurbished and is very elegant, the gardens are delightful and beautifully lent themselves to photography of the bridal party. The canapes served at the reception afterwards were good, if a trifle unexciting, and the service seemed a little bit lacklustre with guests left holding empty glasses for rather too long.
The staff generally seemed a tad unenthusiastic, they were perfectly polite and helpful when asked but didn't really seem to enter into the spirit of making the occasion joyful and exciting. None of this noticeably detracted from our enjoyment and I would certainly recommend Congham Hall, however I think that the staff could enhance the image and reputation of the hotel by appearing to take a more rather personal and friendly interest in their guests, especially at such special event as a wedding.

Room Tip: Not applicable
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Averil-Norfolk-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to report about daughter’s wedding at Congham Hall. We do strive to offer a friendly and efficient service without being intrusive and I am sorry that on this occasion you found the staff to be unenthusiastic although relieved that this didn’t detract from your overall enjoyment of the occasion. I assure you that we genuinely do want all our guests to have a great time and everyone’s visit is a special event in our eyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have been staying as guests at Congham Hall for over 20 years when it really could describe itself as a luxury country house hotel, despite the lack of spa facilties, with a reputation for excellence in hospitality and food. Our recent stay there, with friends, proved very disappointing. Whilst the public rooms have been refurbished to a comfortable standard our 'good house' bedroom was cramped and very tired looking, not quite what we would expect from a hotel which trades on luxury. The staff in the restaurant were generally unenthusiastic, but the biggest disappointment was in the wine list (lack of choice), the menu and the food which we felt was very mediocre, compared to what we have been used to in the past. This hotel is in a lovely tranquil, location and it is such a shame that standards have slipped and prices have risen! Little touches were lacking for instance the prongs on the silver forks were tarnished, there was no shower gel, shampoo, or conditioner in the bathroom. (Unfortunately I did not realise this until I was actually in the shower by which time it was too late to call for housekeeping). To sum up this hotel is way over priced for what it offers, there are many good pubs and quality hotels in the area with much better and more imaginative menus, equally as good accommodation and overall offering better value for money.

Room Tip: Decor in the Garden rooms may be better but these rooms are twice the price, not sure they are reall...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 826Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to comment following your recent stay with us and it is a shame that such a longstanding guest should leave feeling as disappointed as you did. Our room tariffs have been substantially reduced since the hotel came back into private ownership (our most expensive suite which used to be over £400 a night is now £270 and during the week a couple can have bed and breakfast for as little as £125 a night). Dinner, which used to be a set £50 affair now offers flexibility of choice and a three course meal can be enjoyed for less than £30 and with over 200 wines on our list, starting at £22 a bottle, I am really struggling to understand why you think we are overpriced and not offering value for money. Perhaps we are just different to the Congham you remember of old? But I honestly believe the same genuine hospitality is at the root of all that we do and I hope you will find an excuse to come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived at the hotel, it looked very nice with a warm welcome from reception staff. We were shown around the hotel and taken to our room. To our surprise, we were slightly taken aback by the size of the room, it felt small with the furniture on top of each other. The view was also disappointing, looking onto a flat roof with some tree tops behind.

However I have to give credit to the staff, when asked for a change of room, the staff managed this very professionally and efficiently, without any hesitation. The room we were shown to, was lovely and airy. We were very happy with it. The question remains how both of these rooms are within the 'better house room' price bracket?

The communal areas of the hotel are lovely and relaxing, a great place to chill, reading a book or the papers. We ate in the restaurant one night and found this to be pleasant. Breakfast was enjoyable with a good selection of hot and cold food.

To sum up Congham Hall, it's a lovely hotel in some wonderful grounds and some nice touches - wellies to borrow, croquet, putting green and DVD, books and games in the lounges and complimentary tickets to visit Sandringham. We enjoyed the spa facilities on offer, which is a plus for the hotel.

However, l do find it hard to understand why the tea & coffee making facilities are not standard in the rooms, we were offered these at check in and these were immediately brought to our room, but there seems no reason not to have them already there.

Overall its a very nice hotel, but not cheap either for what you get! Still a bit to go before it hits all the right spots!

Room Tip: Ask for tea and coffee facilities to be brought to your room...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write about your recent stay. We genuinely welcome all feedback and over the forthcoming winter we will be installing “larders” in all our rooms to replace the tea and coffee making trays; something that we are very excited about and hopefully will be warmly received by our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at Congham Hall 12/10/13 for two night's. The room was lovely and clean , a large bathroom and a very comfortable bed . The spa was very relaxing and enjoyed the pool , outside Jacuzzi and fell sleep on the loungers as it was lovely and peaceful. The restaurant was outstanding and very impressed with the food . We will be going back .

Room Tip: Mallow , new room with large double shower and separate bath .
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to comment following your recent stay, it makes such a difference to know that you enjoyed your visit and I hope the next one won’t be too long in coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Really relaxing time. As other reviewers have stated the hall itself and the grounds are beautiful. We stayed in the adjoining rooms (Poppy & Peony) by the herb garden. The rooms were large and very comfortable and you can step out into the garden through the patio at the rear of the rooms and have a wander around. The pool is lovely with inside saunas and an outside hot tub (which was fun in the rain) and 'tropical' showers.
The only negative was that we had booked a massage and a table in the restaurant, both were miscommunicated and so the message didn't happen but we did get a table slightly later than planned.
Finally the meal in the restaurant was absolutely superb - over 3 courses probably the best I have ever had and I am still amazed at the 'Norfolk Lavender Panna Cotta' it was sublime - the wine list was very good and breakfast the following morning wasn't too bad either! Staff were great for both meals.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in were adjoining and just next to the pool/sauna.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevebos605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to report about your recent stay, it makes such a difference to know that you enjoyed your visit and particularly how much you enjoyed dinner. I too look forward to you coming back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. A couple of pointers to check though. One of my pet hates is we got a double bed but mattress was divided in the middle. Not comfortable at all. Hotel needs to update their methods. We ate in restaurant but just got a total charge at end of stay without any breakdown. Even on night we ate we never saw bill.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to comment following your recent stay. The “zip and link” king size beds do have the problem of having a ridge in the middle and so we have ordered mattress toppers to alleviate this. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
10.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
885 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
836 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,074 reviews
6.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congham Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congham Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Lynn Road, King's Lynn PE32 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#2 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#2 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: $175 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Congham Hall Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the beautiful Norfolk countryside, Congham Hall is a privately owned Georgian manor house situated 20 minutes' drive from the sandy beaches of the North Norfolk coast. A variety of market towns, nature reserves and the Queen's Sandringham Estate are also within a short drive. Each individually designed bedroom is very spacious offering extremely comfortable king sized beds and picturesque views across the estate. The team of award winning chefs create dishes using a wide variety of vegetables and herbs from the estate served in the Orangery restaurant overlooking manicured lawns and glorious parkland. For something a little more informal, indulgent afternoon teas are served in the lounge next to the cosy log fire. Set within 30 acres of wonderful parkland and extensive gardens, Congham Hall also boasts a croquet lawn and tennis courts. Congham Hall's luxurious Secret Garden Spa is where you'll find a stunning 12 metre pool, sauna, steam room, bio-sauna as well as an outside hot tub. You may also choose to unwind with one of the relaxing and rejuvenating beauty and massage treatments which will restore body and mind and leave you feeling completely revived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Congham Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congham Hall Country Hotel
Hotel Congham Hall Country
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing