We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Congham Hall Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Fantastic service and great food. Newly refurbished and picture perfect. I didn't stay at the hotel but just had a Sunday lunch but it was great and not overly expensive considering the style and quality of the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent Sunday Lunch here. We are delighted to see that not only did you enjoy the lunch itself, but you loved the new surroundings. We hope to welcome you back again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    190
    51
    26
    10
See reviews for
122
417
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We would be back at Congham like last weekend enjoying a wonderful time at the hotel. As a group celebrating a 40th birthday we all were so impressed with every element - location, the property, service, rooms, staff, food, spa ... all 5*. The only disappointment was having to leave. Thank you to the team at Congham for a great, memorable time and I'm sure we will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay here with friends celebrating a 40th Birthday and that you were impressed with every element of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My daughter gave my husband a ninetieth birthday treat of afternoon tea at Congham Hall in Norfolk. What a lovely experience, the staff were very warm and welcoming, the hotel is amazing set in delightful gardens amidst a woodland setting. The hotel interior is beautifully furnished and decorated. The tea was delicious, fresh selection of sandwiches, warm scones, tempting array of cakes, wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magdel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent Afternoon Tea here to celebrate your husband’s birthday. We are delighted to see that not only did you enjoy the tea itself, but you loved the new surroundings. We hope to welcome you back again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at Congham Hall and from our arrival onwards we were well looked after.

We had a fabulous room - Snowdrop - and I would go for the garden rooms they are stunning - and some overlook the herb garden. We ate at the hotel on both nights once in the dining room and once in the private dining room. Both evenings the food and the service were excellent. We also used the spa which was a fabulous addition to the hotel. It was a great way to spend my 50th with the wider family. Thank you for a great memory.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soulmates63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to report about your recent stay, it makes such a difference to know that you enjoyed your visit and it gives me particular pleasure to read that you appreciated the food and the service you received from the friendly team here. We genuinely do want our guests to have a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The property, as others have cited has undergone a major refurbishment, it is to a high standard in the public areas and has a clean and crisp appeal.

A very warm welcome in reception as we arrived into the entrance hall.

Afternoon tea was set up in the main dining room where others were finishing lunch and whilst they had crisp white table cloths, our table had obviously been cleared from lunch and re set for afternoon tea without one.

A table pushed up against the wall set for three where one person was facing the wall and the others facing each other felt like we were a bit of an inconvenience.

Finger sandwiches as you would expect perfectly reasonable filings and crusts cut off. Presentation was disappointing though, all one layer on a large white plate, no garnish or attempt to "arrange" for good aesthetic appeal, again, just a hint of "oh gosh, we've got three in for afternoon tea" when lunch isn't quite over.

Good quantity and selection of cakes and scones, scones a little dry. The multi coloured novelty cake stand didn't quite go with the crisp white china, again, aesthetically unpleasant.

Leaf tea was good quality. Tea pot and cup marked, changed quickly when notified.

Lovely venue and I'm sure once the builders have finished the staff can concentrate on service again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serviceisessential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent Afternoon Tea with us and of course I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy some elements. Feedback of this nature is very important to us at the hotel as without it we cannot improve the service levels that we offer. The refurbishment is now complete and seems to be universally welcomed as a great improvement by all. Perhaps these changes might tempt you back to try us out again for an appropriate occasion?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at Congham hall for 3 nights and had an excellent stay! The building is newly refurbished and looks absolutely stunning. The communal spaces such as the library & sitting room were particular favourites to sit and have a drink and read the papers in style.The hotel has a warm, friendly feel and the staff were all very attentive, friendly and very helpful- not at all stuffy or 'snotty' as some places can be. We felt very welcome & nothing was too much trouble, from suggesting walks in the grounds, to making sandwiches not on the menu as well as offering a late check out! We ate at the hotel each night, choosing to eat in the library on one occasion for a less formal feel. The food was superb and obviously freshly cooked to order- we couldn't fault it. Breakfast was just as good! During the day we made full use of the spa facilities, we even used the outdoor hot-tub despite the April weather! We both had treatments which were excellent and loved the relaxation room we were taken to afterwards.Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the spa has limited times for children to use the pool which we really appreciated. We stayed in a garden room which was amazing! The bed is possibly the comfiest one I've ever slept in. We had a look around some of the other rooms too and although some of the house rooms look slightly more dated,I would be happy to stay in any of them. Congham hall is the perfect place to relax. We will definitely return- a new favourite place for a treat!

Room Tip: Every room is individually decorated so ask for details about style of decor and size when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you like the new refurbished areas of the house. It makes such a difference to know that you enjoyed your visit and in particularly that you appreciated the personal touches. We do rely to a great deal on enthusiastic yet young staff and I am pleased that you found everyone to be friendly, attentive and helpful. I hope we can have the pleasure of seeing you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Congham Hall. Arrived early afternoon and had a cream tea in the newly decorated library and then after a short rest spent the afternoon in the pool and spa. The experience showers are an experience, the pool had an array of water jets plus two types of sauna, a steam room, foot spa and not forgetting the outside hot tub.

Dinner was very good, the food was beautifully presented and was of very good quality. Breakfast was also excellent with locally sourced bacon and sausage. On leaving a nice touch was a little card on the car letting you know all the windows had been cleaned.

The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful as were the guys finishing off the outside building work.

The only downside for me was the bedroom we were in the main house (Chervil) was in need of a makeover. The styling was a bit old fashioned, the furniture has seen better days (e.g. water spillage marks on the table) and the general decor was tired and aged and although the bed was large and comfortable it was two single mattresses pushed together. Also as other reviewers have stated there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms and delivered to your room is an additional £5.90.

However we will be back again as the food and spa were excellent and next time perhaps stay one of the newly renovated garden rooms.

Room Tip: Garden rooms seem to have been more recently decorated Check on the building works, but they look c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Spa and in particularly the experience showers, which are always popular. The majority of the bedrooms benefit from super-king sized beds, which are ‘zip & link’ so beds can also be twinned. Although tea and coffee making facilities aren’t yet in our rooms as standard, they are available on request, so please do ask next time. We hope to welcome you back to Congham again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
14.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
10.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
25.0 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
13.3 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congham Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congham Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Lynn Road, King's Lynn PE32 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#2 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#2 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Congham Hall Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the beautiful Norfolk countryside, Congham Hall is a privately owned Georgian manor house situated 20 minutes' drive from the sandy beaches of the North Norfolk coast. A variety of market towns, nature reserves and the Queen's Sandringham Estate are also within a short drive. Each individually designed bedroom is very spacious offering extremely comfortable king sized beds and picturesque views across the estate. The team of award winning chefs create dishes using a wide variety of vegetables and herbs from the estate served in the Orangery restaurant overlooking manicured lawns and glorious parkland. For something a little more informal, indulgent afternoon teas are served in the lounge next to the cosy log fire. Set within 30 acres of wonderful parkland and extensive gardens, Congham Hall also boasts a croquet lawn and tennis courts. Congham Hall's luxurious Secret Garden Spa is where you'll find a stunning 12 metre pool, sauna, steam room, bio-sauna as well as an outside hot tub. You may also choose to unwind with one of the relaxing and rejuvenating beauty and massage treatments which will restore body and mind and leave you feeling completely revived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Congham Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congham Hall Country Hotel
Hotel Congham Hall Country
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing