We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
969 results
Traveler rating
629
229
70
31
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
629
229
70
31
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherb gardenafternoon teahot tubnespresso machinecountry house hotelsteam roomgarden roomcar windscreenmacaroonsthe main housewine listsandwichesbirthday treatthree courseslovely groundsmain courselamb
Filter
Updating list...
890 - 895 of 969 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here a couple of years ago and enjoyed it and then suddenly, quite out of the blue, received an email a couple of weeks ago with a newsletter saying the hotel was under new management and giving details of a special 'Jubilee offer' so we booked to go with our 2 sons (aged 2½ and 5). The room rate was for D,B&B with a couple of extras thrown in. The children were free with the exception of any meals they took. We had a lovely light and airy suite - Dandelion - which was great because it meant we had a bedroom and lounge, so we didn't have to tiptoe around in the dark after the boys had gone to bed. The only downside for us was that the room had a balcony overlooking the lawn, which was lovely, but petrifying with our very active toddler, so we had to keep the french windows shut at all times. The pool and spa facilities were fabulous and the pool is one depth - 1.2m so we didn't have any 'panics' with a deep end. Families are restricted to using the pool between 9-10am and 4-6pm.
Most guests in the hotel were well-to-do and considerably older than us, so we did feel pressured to make sure the boys were silent. The staff were excellent; very kind and supportive. The food was excellent too. Unfortunately, we didn't manage to get to the restaurant on any of our 3 nights there, but we did order room service - the restaurant a la carte menu one evening and then from the room service menu on the other 2 nights - the homemade burger and chips comes highly recommended!! There are other nice touches, such as wellies for guests to use, tea and coffee making facilities available in the room (they must have taken note of one of the other reviewer's comments) and your windscreen cleaned every morning. All in all, we love the hotel, especially now it has the pool, but we would feel more relaxed as a couple than a family. My husband is going back there to stay on business next week.

Room Tip: Corner rooms/suites have 2 windows in the lounge, so very light and airy.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I am so glad we picked this hotel to take my Mother away for a weekend. We had 2-rooms for the 2-nights and more than thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel has been taken out of administration by the new owners recently which might explain some earlier reviews this year. I could not complement the staff enough, right through to housekeeping, everyone has a warm smile and a friendly word. Housekeeping are indeed to be complimented as the rooms and areas are clearly given full attention despite some areas/room being in need of refurbishment (lovely to be shown round and see the progress and the commitment from the staff). The complimentary toiletries in our rooms were crabtree and evelyn and the towels, bath robes, duvets and bed linen all lovely quality. The major bonus was the outstanding food, very much fine dinning from the beautiful canapes, elegantly presented 3-courses which were delicious and delicate petite fours with coffee. The meal experience was the whole evening which we really enjoyed but were grateful we had elected to start early. I very much hope we get the chance to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littleoneNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Congham Hall is the archetype of a perfect country house hotel with the added benefit of a great contemporary spa. We would highly recommend and will return. We had a garden room which was v spacious with a lovely wet room and patio area. The spa included a good sized swimming pool with jacuzzi vents (interesting!) and 'experience showers' where the tropical rain storm complete with lightining and bird song caused lots of giggles. Breakfast lovely. Gardens gorgeous including herb, vegetable, walled and orchard areas. So peaceful. Public rooms great with comfy chairs and no interruptions. We didn't use the restaurant except for breakfast but it looked rather pricey.

Room Tip: The garden rooms were great and had just been refurbished. Ask for a tray to make tea and coffee in your room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaz1Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed in the hotel as part of a group of 44 guests from a local society, taking all the rooms, and were made to feel most welcome. The reception on arrival was very friendly and efficient and we were all shown to our rooms within a few minutes. The room we took was quite large and well fitted out with a view out to the garden and had a large, separate well fitted out bathroom. Some of the rooms that were taken by other members of the society were a little tired but we were led to believe that gradually they will be refurbished. The food in the restaurant was very good both in content, quality and quantity, this applied to both breakfast and dinner. There were a few minor co,plaints about he speed of service on our first evening. The staff were both friendly and courteous and were only too happy to help when asked. There were a couple of minor complaints, no tea making facilities in the room and no plug available in the bathroom but other than these our stay was faultless. We would not hesitate to return either as a group or on our own.

Room Tip: Rooms that have been recently constructed are better finished and the garden rooms are somewhat larger than those attached to the hotel, but you have to go outside to gain access to some rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomd590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst on business.
The team were very accommodating and helpful and the property cosy and lived in with logs outside the front door and welly boots in case one wanted to go for a walk.
There is a swimming pool and a spa but unfortunately I didn't have the opportunity to explore them.
The accomodation is in the old part of the house as well as a modern extension. My room was in the old part of the house and was cosy,spacious,full of character with a spacious bathroom. Fluffy towels and dressings gowns,a sofa,freshly made tea/coffee,newspapers make up the norm of the service here.
The dinner or evening snack menu was great.
Don't expect a 'stand to attention ' service but enjoy the cosy,relaxed,warm hospitality that is genuine.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Yesmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews