We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Congham Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Hartley wintney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our welcome was very friendly and service from then on was excellent.
Rooms were very clean and everything was replenished daily.
The food is excellent and even though menu is limited the chef on our third night added his own specials so we had a wider choice.
Quiet surroundings.

Room Tip: We have only samole garden rooms but were shown ordinary rooms and they are all of a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    190
    51
    26
    10
See reviews for
122
417
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This place did not deliver. Food really did not fulfill expectations! These sort of prices I expect something special! This place did not deliver! No wonder there were just 3 other tables taken! I was sooooo disappointed! Loads more places in the area half the price and double as good! Not exaggerating!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveyouboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, General Manager at Congham Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
I am sorry that we didn’t meet up to your expectations on your recent visit. Offering value for money is of paramount importance to any business and feedback we have received from most guests staying with us at Congham Hall indicates to us that we usually succeed. However, we recognise that for those just dining in the restaurant the menu pricing is the sole indicator, which is why it is possible to eat off our competitively priced snack menu as well as from the more expensive a la carte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz in Yorks
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Looking for a hotel in North Norfolk and happened upon this establishment, where we spent 2 nights.

On arrival we too were welcomed as we got out of the car. The hotel has been recently been purchased and we met the new proprietor, who offered to show us around; we took up his offer.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly, but discreet with it. We did not use the excellent spa, which gives us the excuse to return in the not too distant future.
Inevitably, all hotels either meet with your expectation or not; this did tick all the boxes for us. We would stongly recommend Congham Hall to anyone who wants a quiet and relaxing place away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MACOzinYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have just returned from a three night break at Congham Hall and my, what an experience.

The house itself is gorgeous - stately, elegant and luxuriously furnished, yet with a personal and homely feel. We stayed in Hollyhock which is one of the most basic rooms, yet we were thrilled by our beautiful soft bed (complete with floral canopy), amazing pillows, spic and span bathroom and lovely view across the grounds at the back of the house. The service in our room was brilliant - we never had to ask for our towels to be changed when we went out for the day. The staff just seemed to know.

The ground floor of the hotel offers a beautiful sitting room, a cosy bar and a sumptuous dining room. There is also an outside terrace, where we became addicted to watching the sun go down over the gorgeous countryside.

Admittedly the hotel is expensive - but this is something you know before you arrive. Yet the homely touches within Congham Hall (like rows of Dubarry boots on loan to guests who wish to roam the countryside, the bookshelf with well-thumbed copies of everyone's favourite classics and the friendly cat called Marley who curls up on the most convenient armchair) gave the house a charm which neutralised the potentially overwhelming standard of luxury.

The service was impeccable and the staff displayed an uncanny knack of pre-empting our every need. We made friends with Nicholas (the new owner) and his wife Ruth and son Rupert. We also spent time getting to know Caroline, Georgina, Iona and Ben the night porter, all of whom displayed an incredible keenness to ensure that we were happy and comfortable at all times. Despite being the youngest guests in the hotel by at least 10 years, we were treated with the utmost respect and affection; something which is sometimes hard to come by nowadays in establishments of such a high standard.

The spa deserves its very own paragraph, as it was truly a sight to behold. A beautiful swimming pool sat in the middle of the complex, with one huge wall of windows looking out onto the stunning grounds. Two saunas, a steam room and some 'nature showers' (complete with sound effects, lighting and essential oils sprayed at you from a variety of angles) stood nearby, offering hours of fun and the potential for total relaxation.

Locally there are a few things to do, although it should be flagged that this is a quiet part of the world and probably somewhere to visit if you're looking for a 'retreat'. We went horse riding at the Blackborough End Stables, visited a local pub called the Three Horse Shoes (run by lovely Lorraine and her family) and spent a lot of time sipping wine in the Congham Hall gardens. On a practical note, having a car would be useful in this area of Norfolk - there aren't many buses and the area directly outside Congham Hall is very residential. We didn't bring a car and probably could have made use of one to visit nearby places of interest like Burnham Market or the seaside.

All in all, Congham Hall did us proud and we had a wonderful stay. If you're looking for total relaxation and indulgence with a personal and charming touch, this is definitely the place to go.

Thank you so much to the team for making it so special - we grew very fond of you all, and we will hopefully be back one day in the future.

Hatty and Kat xxx

Room Tip: Choose a room which faces the back of the hotel, as this is where the beautiful grounds are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hats21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Congham Hall was recommended to my partner and I by people who know the area well. We wanted a relaxing treat not too far away from our doorstep. Our room was nicely decorated with views to the outside lawns - it was nice to wake up to this view. When we booked we were told that we may possibly be provided with an upgrade so I was disappointed that this did not occur as the hotel was quiet.The spa was really nice and beause the hotel was quiet over the Easter break we had the spa entirely to ourselves during our stay. The hotel has plans to open this to the public .... a pity really as this will take away it's rather exclusive feeling and besides I am not sure where they will find the space! My partner and I treated ourselves to a massage.... lovely.
On the whole the staff were very warm and welcoming I recall Lyndsay on reception and the treatment lady in the spa. However when we arrived we were met by a rather severe looking woman with short dark hair, black dress and burgundy bow tied to the next ( sorry but I don't rcall her name) . It would have been nice to be met with a smile upon arrival. Oh dear!
Dinner was wonderfully presented and we really appreciated the range of free pre-starters that the Chef prepared for us. A word of warning - if you are a large eater then the portions won't excite you - tiny! We would have been disappointed to have paid full price for this.
The food at breakfast, as dinner, was completely freshly prepared but there simply weren't enough staff to serve. We ordered coffee and tea upon arrival it took over 20 minutes to arrive but only after we had to order it again from a different server. We overheard a different couple complain about the quality of the service... a bit worrying as the hotel was not busy at all.
My partner and I were amongst the youngest at the hotel however this would not put us off attending again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth6412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We were met in the car park and warmly welcomed and this set the standard for our stay. Our room was beautiful and the guest areas down stairs are comfortable and inviting. We booked the hotel for a pampered relaxing night away and so the Spa was a must. Our treatment lady was amazing, so professional and friendly. Dinner was a great selection of seasonal and local produce and I loved the Sandringham Estate beef. We can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, in nice weather it would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RieHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Lovely hotel and setting, fabulous spa, but lots of disappointments. For the amount paid we expected really good service. Staff were friendly but certainly not enough of them, always a wait in the restaurant. Breakfast was good, but we had a very poor dinner, especially in view of cost. Wine was of a very poor quality, but very expensive, as were all drinks. Poor shower and dreadful hairdryer, not up to standard of a good hotel. When we discussed with duty manager (as they had asked for feedback), we did not receive an apology for any of the problems we experienced, only disputes - very poor management attitude.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennytom47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
14.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
10.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
25.0 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
13.3 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congham Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congham Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Lynn Road, King's Lynn PE32 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#2 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#2 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Congham Hall Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the beautiful Norfolk countryside, Congham Hall is a privately owned Georgian manor house situated 20 minutes' drive from the sandy beaches of the North Norfolk coast. A variety of market towns, nature reserves and the Queen's Sandringham Estate are also within a short drive. Each individually designed bedroom is very spacious offering extremely comfortable king sized beds and picturesque views across the estate. The team of award winning chefs create dishes using a wide variety of vegetables and herbs from the estate served in the Orangery restaurant overlooking manicured lawns and glorious parkland. For something a little more informal, indulgent afternoon teas are served in the lounge next to the cosy log fire. Set within 30 acres of wonderful parkland and extensive gardens, Congham Hall also boasts a croquet lawn and tennis courts. Congham Hall's luxurious Secret Garden Spa is where you'll find a stunning 12 metre pool, sauna, steam room, bio-sauna as well as an outside hot tub. You may also choose to unwind with one of the relaxing and rejuvenating beauty and massage treatments which will restore body and mind and leave you feeling completely revived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Congham Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congham Hall Country Hotel
Hotel Congham Hall Country
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing