We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out!”
Review of Oxburgh Hall

Oxburgh Hall
Ranked #1 of 47 things to do in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Well worth a trip out to look around this lovely hall with moat and fantastic gardens close to the Norfolk town of Kings Lynn. Some lovely examples of antique furniture along with looking for the sheep in each room.Be careful not to touch though as some of the staff are a touch sensitive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClaytsSupreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    283
    35
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Outstandingly beautiful house”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Oxburgh Hall is a pretty unique place with the moat surrounding the whole house and it offers some amazing views when the sun is shining.

The library is an amazing room and its pretty rare to be allowed to go on the roof of a property and get the amazing views from high up.

The gardens although not as large as Blicking Hall are a blaze of colour and there are some lovely walks around the property.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John_The_Miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had a great time visiting Oxburgh Hall. It is a lovely house with good visitor facilities. What made it really special for us was the opportunity to climb down into the Priest Hole. In these days when there can be over emphasis on health and safety, it was great to be allowed to wriggle down into the small hidden room. We are not young but as long as you are not too fat and reasonably agile, I recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank clareexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“magical”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

visited with our 3year old grandson 1st impression wow.the gardens are very well kept and you can wander wherever you like and no silly waste of time health and safety notices!the house is wonderful,staff lovely people.children well catered for .we travelled from lincoln solely to visit,160 mile round trip,well worth it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We met up with family there yesterday and what an enjoyable day we had.
We went because of the "war of the Roses" event and it was brilliant. Dancing, gun and cannon firing and archery to name a few.
Best of all: the re-enactors were really approachable and eager to show their skills and share their knowledge.
Toilet facilities were ample and clean.
The shop sold national trust items and also had a plant section. I love the fact you could buy seeds collected in the gardens 50p a pack.....bargain!
In short we just had the most brilliant day out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Birgit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxburgh Hall also viewed

Castle Acre, King's Lynn
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to Oxburgh Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing