We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal”
Review of Spice of Gurkha

Spice of Gurkha
Ranked #32 of 219 Restaurants in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 4, 2019

We have had takeaways from here before but eating in was a different experience. Absolutely brilliant service, meal was superb, cannot fault anything. Did not realise there was an upstairs and it was lovely sitting by the window.
Will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Vegandining2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 48 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2019

Wandering around Lyn on a Friday and getting slightly depressed, we were late in finding somewhere to eat; the smart hotel in the square offered a dull menu so we walked and walked, only to find that most places were closed until the evening.
Happily we passed this quirky place and the owner opened up especially for us and cooked a splendid meal to our spicey tastes.
The decor was clean and a la mode; the beer excellent; the food served with love and care.
Altogether magnificent serendipity. Well worth any detour

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dunstanrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

Whilst visiting Lynn four of us fancied Indian food for lunch. Unfortunately all the Indian restaurants were closed until 5pm. The owner of Spice of Gurkha appeared as we were outside his restaurant and gave us directions to get us back into the town centre. We set off on foot but after a minute or so he chased after us to let us know that his chef had unexpectedly turned up and that he would open up specially for us.

We had the spice of Gurkha special chicken curry, a chicken naga requested to be hot enough to produce steam from the ears, and a biryani,

The food was absolutely fresh and in equal measure delicious. The naga was spiced as requested. All of this accompanied by excellent Nepali beers.

I have never eaten such wonderful Nepali food. Quality of food, service and welcome unbeatable. We shall certainly be back.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank FrequentFlier239627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I are from't North and we were in the area after a curry. Trip advisor came up trumps once more. Nice quality poppadoms to start, though I could have murdered a nice cider. My wife had a couple of starters as her main and enjoyed both and I had a chicken bhuna with chips. The bhuna was up there with the best I've had; an accolade not to be taken lightly. Ciders aside, a reet good curry.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

Really rate this restaurant, great food and a very wide choice of Indian and Nepalese cuisine done very well, great flavours, the restaurant is very clean with a five star rating,
the staff are very friendly and accommodating, give it a try you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bugoutbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice of Gurkha also viewed

King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 
King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to Spice of Gurkha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing