We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nowt So Queer As Ffolkes”
Review of The Ffolkes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ffolkes Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nowt So Queer As Ffolkes”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

As they might say in Yorkshire! From the road this appears a quaint 18th C building in character with the area in which it is located. Driving into the large car park, though, you are confronted by an ugly motel development and a (probably) 1970's building described as a 'country club.' It is in fact a shabby function room the peeling paintwork of which does nothing for the equally unkempt garden it overlooks. Tatty outdoor furniture, unmown lawns, unattended flower beds and cigarette ends everywhere did not tempt us to linger there despite the warm sunshine.

The interior of the main building was equally disappointing. Whatever possessed someone to reconstruct the public rooms in the rough plaster work and brick arch style so popular when people first went on cheap package holidays to Spain is totally beyond comprehension. Unfortunately the deficiencies in the fabric of the place was not made up for by the staff. We approached the area of the bar marked reception where we were greeted pleasantly enough by a young person who said she was not able to book in guests. She called to an older man who was sat at a table playing games on a mobile phone. He grudgingly came to the counter and checked us in, volunteered none of the usual information such as where the room was, what time meals were served, and answered questions about this in truncated, sulky sentences. The motel style room was clean and comfortable and the facilities in it were good. Watering the hanging baskets (the only evidence of grounds maintenance we saw) outside each room just as guests were going to breakfast was not the best idea. Having dryed ourselves off we sat in the dining room amidst dirty crockery and cutlery whilst bemused and untrained staff wondered about conducting 'auctions' of plates of food. Only one of the self service toasters worked and, being only a domestic size machine, was very slow. The tea and coffee points were in the same small area and so there was much squeezing and pushing with a high risk of scalds and burns.

So given all this why have we said our stay was average and not poor? Well the bar meal we had on the Sunday evening was good value for money and the staff on duty then were extremely pleasant. There was a middle aged woman in charge who clearly knew what she was doing and how to get others to work effectively. The bedroom, although noisy because of the traffic, was good. The cost was reasonable enough.

An explanation for why the hotel was a disappointment, according to local people we met in nearby villages, might be that the owner has bought another hotel and gives this new venture a great deal of time and attention. The once good Ffolkes Arms has simply suffered from management neglect. It must also be said that operating in the economic climate that currently exists in rural Norfolk cannot be easy. But sharp action is needed if things are not going to get worse for the Ffolkes Arms.

Room Tip: Ask for furthest from the road. Even so expect noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    52
    40
    21
    25
See reviews for
56
61
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

having already booked a week in advance a table for 6 family members in the resteraunt arrived at 7.20pm,informed staff that table booked for 8,0 clock,8.15 had to ask staff if table ready,got seated,then very nice staff said sorry but there is a 45 min wait,so took order,waited,then head? waiter came round to take order again as one of the mains was off (pork) re order the duck....which was then off!!....starters parrot fish very good,tuna steaks all three sent back very bad taste,allowed to order from bar menu,burger an chips,gammon steak,all good,got a bottle of house red,and 3 or 4 drinks on the house(beers)we finally got our food at approx 9.45,on the whole a rubbish experience.having under 30 covers booked in restaurant how do you run out of 2 mains?manager not helpful,but staff helpful.dont go there!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these King's Lynn hotels

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night visiting Norfolk on 6/7 July 2013. The hotel was easy to find, had a very large car park and the rooms were OK - the bathroom was particularly well equipped and clearly been recently renovated. The food in the bar was really good value - the portion sizes were large - the breakfast was also just as good. It was quiet, clean, well managed and had lots of friendly staff - an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a comfortable country pub (it also has motel rooms as well) which is not olde worlde but avoids being brash, and has a lovely garden and ample car park We ordered early evening and service was good without being exceptionally fast, although polite and friendly. The home made soup was tasty, the rump steak was very well cooked and presented, and the prawn salad was generous and appetising. The steak was £18 and the salad £7, which was a tad expensive.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jay3791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you are looking for a gourmet experience with luxury accommodation then drive on. However, if you are looking for good pub food at reasonable prices and a comfortable bed for the night the Ffolkes Arms fits the bill. The pub has a warm friendly atmosphere. The food was tasty and hot and no one in our party of around 16 had a bad thing to say about it, which speaks for itself We stayed over, the room had an en-suite. Whilst if you are critical you could say it needed updating, it was clean and a good nights sleep was had.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsICHBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for a two night break as we had business in the area. The bedrooms are in an annex, motel style. They were spotless, beautifully clean. Fresh white linen and colour matched throw and cushions. The bed was a touch small for us - a standard double, but very comfortable. Tea and coffee tray with plenty of tea bags etc. Trouser press and hairdryer in the room. The ensuite shower room was a very good size, nice fluffy white towels. soap and shampoo, towels changed every day if you wished and the soap etc. replenished. Industrial size (!) toilet paper dispenser with two large rolls, and a window (security barred) that opened and extractor fan, so no damp steamy bathrooms. Breakfast was one of the best that we have had as good as a 5 star hotel.. Cold buffet continental and cooked to order hot Full English. Good quality bacon and local sausages. Evening meal was in the bar and was from a varied menu, good size portions. The interior of the main building is a little dark but it is around 300 years old so the decor is in keeping with the type of building. Lovely garden at the back to wander around in. The staff were polite and helpful. Will definitely be using this hotel again when in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, as the road is quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset united kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my son stayed here for 2 nights
The room was lovely and clean the staff were friendly especially gary who was very pleasant and helpful
Breakfast had everything you needed
The only one point I could find was no hairdryer (although I should have packed mine but forgot)
All in all very nice stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
7.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn
Premier Inn
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ffolkes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ffolkes Hotel

Property: The Ffolkes Hotel
Address: Lynn Road, King's Lynn PE31 6BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ffolkes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ffolkes has been lovingly refitted and refurbished with a £2m investment. Think Poldark, think pewter, copper, Hessian, leather, soft velvet, and rustic wood. We have taken down barriers and let in the light to create a comfortable open space with nooks and crannies to suit even the most discerning of travellers. We currently have 6 double bedrooms available to book, with a further 18 bedrooms due late July 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Ffolkes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ffolkes Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing