We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best scrambled eggs apart from my own!”
Review of Bank House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed a Friday night and took advantage of their inclusive cocktail and dinner deal. The staff were friendly on arrival and we were shown to a large (upgraded for free) room overlooking the Square. Beautifully appointed and very spacious.
The bar was busy (as was the restaurant later) and we enjoyed a lovely cocktail, ordered our food and wine and were ushered through to a lovely setting. Food was excellent and very well served considering how busy it was. Breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs next morning was just perfect!

Room Tip: As the hotel is tucked away in the corner of a large square don't think it makes much difference...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalcandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Bank House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 220 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in the King`s Room for 4 nights last week and it was a very mixed experience! The roof of the bay widow leaked when it rained heavily, one of the light bulbs didn`t work, the plug to the bath was unattached but everything else was just perfect....gorgeous bed , spacious bathroom and peaceful location. The TV has all the channels and it`s a good picture .
Prior to our visit there had been ....ahem .........staffing difficulties and it was clear that several core staff were stretched to the limit. The lady on reception worked above and beyond the call of duty and I hope the owner rewards her with a huge bonus !! Breakfast is lovely but why , when you order a boiled egg do they invariably neglect to provide a teaspoon with which to eat it!!??? The dinner menu is ok but the vegetables were generally tasteless and the choices need to change more frequently ....apparently the menu changes on a monthly basis . The dining room is pleasant but lighting levels are too low and the lounge/bar area feels cavernous as the windows are huge and have no blinds or curtains and the floorboards are bare The strength of this hotel lies in the friendly accommodating nature of its overworked staff and the stunning location ....close to the beautiful and historic riverside of the town .

Room Tip: We loved the King`s Room and as we never saw any others we cannot comment
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a simply wonderful hotel.

From booking, to check in, to departure nothing was too much for the excellent staff. Our room, The Captain's Room, was quite superb - a huge suite with a gargantuan bathroom, complete with marvellous views of the Great Ouse. The bed was, quite possibly, the most comfortable I have ever slept in away from home.

The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, while the food was also very good indeed, whether taken in the Brasserie or in our room.

I cannot commend The Bank House too highly. Miss it at your peril!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the Great Ouse.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCfromHYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in the captains room on their cosy autum offer. Lovely large room, huge comfy bed, bathroom larger than my lounge! Beautiful Views over the river. Evening meal was lovely. Being critical my pillow was a bit lumpy, some parts of decor looking a bit tired and staff seemed busy and bit disorganised at times but would definatly recommend and would defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: Captains room or bath room are the top rooms
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunview C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We and my wife got married at kings Lynn town hall on 12/08/12 and we had our reception at the bankhouse. Throughout the build up to our wedding the manager (Matthew) was brilliant. Not only was he helpful and very professional, he gave me and my wife confidence that we had picked the best venue for our reception....and he was not wrong. This is an exceptional grade 2 listed building situated in a historical part of Kings Lynn town centre.
We stayed in the captains room which has a large bedroom that overlooks the river which we were more than happy with. The bedroom leads to the bathroom that is again, very large and finished to a high standard. I looked at a few of the other rooms that the wedding party stayed in and they were all really nicely finished and very clean.
Matthew allowed us to choose a variety of starters, mains and desserts for the wedding day menu. We basically requested the types of meals we wanted and the chef prepared a menu for us....exactly what we wanted. And I must say the food was exceptional, couldn't fault it at all.
I must say, me and my wife were so pleased that we decided to go with the Bankhouse for our wedding reception. All the staff were very helpful, hard working and professional and we couldn't fault the whole day at all. I would highly recommend this hotel for food,staying overnight and for a wedding reception!!!
Cheers Matthew for all your help!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielShaunSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Sister establishment to the Rose & Crown at Snettisham. Comes up to their standards, although the dining area is not as pleasant. Food, staff and overall experience is good. A good choice of food on the menu, and the wine list is fine. Open for lunch and dinner. I took my wife for a 'specuial' evening, amnd both were very pleased with the outcome.

1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great location, beautiful listed building with modern interior that sits very well with the original features. The staff are friendly and helpful and the young manager Matthew is the consummate professional. The food was excellent at dinner and the breakfast plentiful. We took advantage of the offer advertised on their website which was excellent value.Two glasses of champagne, a 2 course dinner from their regular menu and breakfast the next morning all for £125. We shall return and would love to take our young adult children there too, as its what they would call funky and cool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiler1Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.2 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
760 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
277 reviews
6.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
834 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#9 of 15 in King's Lynn
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Hotel

Address: Bank House, King's Staithe Square, King's Lynn PE30 1RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#6 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: $154 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Relaxed atmosphere, contemporary style" Bank House is a unique Grade II * listed 11 bedroom Georgian town house hotel, set on the quay side in the heart of the historic and business areas of King’s Lynn, and a step away from the renowned Corn Exchange theatre and Arts Centre. Recently renovated to bring an eclectic flourish to the building’s Georgian grandeur, Bank House is now King’s Lynn’s most exciting and inviting place to eat, drink and stay. Our stunning bedrooms are each individually decorated and immensely comfortable. We love food at Bank House! Our menu offers modern brasserie food, using top quality fresh ingredients and taking full advantage of the wonderful produce of the area in season. Our elegant Bar, once the bank manager's office, is open all day. Teas, coffees and delicious home made cakes are available throughout the day, with the Bank House tea of sandwiches, scones and cakes served during the afternoon. We have a number of private rooms available for meetings and conferences, private dinners, parties and weddings, large or small, and can tailor our catering to suit your exact requirements and budget. Wi-fi internet is available throughout. Why not visit our older sister, The Rose & Crown, Snettisham? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Kings Lynn
Bank House Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing