We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel visits I have ever experienced”
Review of Bank House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel visits I have ever experienced”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My wife, baby and I spent 4 nights at the Bank House during the busy Christmas holiday period. In spite of the hotel staff being exceptionally busy managing various parties we were treated as if we were the only guests at the hotel. The hotel is a lovingly restored building in the historic riverside area of Kings' Lynn, the rooms are stylishly decorated.

Two key elements made this stay one to remember. The staff were at all times attentive, warm, friendly and made the visit feel as if we were staying in a large family house. The food was exceptional - the 'full English breakfast' is not to be missed. Because we have a 1-year baby we opted to eat in the room for evening dinner. On every occasion we were served the most delicious, fresh, locally sourced produce - delivered to the room and served as if we were in the restaurant.

I can describe The Bank House as a quintessentially English hospitality experience, fun, friendly, and totally dedicated to providing the very best guest experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    66
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
111
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Wonderful heritage building overlooking river.

My room was large and beautifully appointed.

Drew back curtains at 7am and saw flocks of birds flying up the river.

Superbly well run and excellent food.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guzzlergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at the Bank House for a weekend break we found the hotel clean and comfortable we would like to say that as we had booked an offer that included the choice you had to eat in to a set amount per couple that was deducted from the overall cost was great the food was very good. The Town has a very interesting past that links it to the Baltic states and Germany for trade.

Room Tip: overlooking the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Realaleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I stayed at the Bank House for 3 nights .. 2 in the fantastic "Bath Room", the last in Guerney ... as I wasn't expecting to be staying a 3rd night.
First impressions are important to me. And the first impression of this place is "quality". A wonderful building, in a great part of King's Lynn, and you can walk to anything in the town. Second thing to me is staff and service - which are both fantastic.
A small hotel has a small staff, but all of them were friendly, helpful, courteous, everything. And the restaurant obviously has a great following too. I ate there 2 of the 3 nights, and had some of the best food I have had in years.
All in all .. if you can stretch to the cost of the "Bath Room" ... do ... no shower .. just a HUGE Victorian style bath ... near a window so you can soak and watch the River Ouse ... and SO much room .. 2 sofas and a big TV. If not, even the smallest room was great (but no good if you want to work/use laptop .. no desk).
I will stay here again when in the area for sure. As the staff just make you feel SO welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Went to Kings Lynn on a whim and were lucky to find the Bankhouse Hotel, as it is the coolest place in town! One room left for us!
Well thought out decoration, and interesting books to read...
Bright clean and comfortable bedroom, with fantastic views over the Estuary.Were made to feel very welcome by the staff, and the free WiFi downstairs was very helpful.
If I was ever travelling this way again, would definitely stay here.
Got up too late for proper breakfast, but were offered REAL toast as well as usual cereals..
Visit Holkham, just down the coast too,-take wellies!

Room Tip: Stay here if you appreciate something different
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The Bank House was wonderful. Stayed with family member who can be difficult to please but the staff went out of their way to accommodate their every need. The rooms were lovely, the staff friendly and the food was excellent. Wonderful location and a full English breakfast is included. The comfort of this hotel added to the pleasure of our visit to England. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: the Kings room is big and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smclarke1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Spent a leisurely and enjoyable Saturday night at the Bank House. A lovely old building, our room was clean and comfortable and I loved the decor. We also liked the location on the quayside, right opposite the historic Custom House.

No car park, but we were able to find a space outside on the quay.

It was especially good value for us as we have stayed at their sister hotel, the Rose & Crown at Snettisham, and were sent a Special Offer via their newsletter.

We ate in the restaurant, it was very busy being a Saturday, but the staff were friendly and cheerful and the food was mostly good. (A problem I had with my pudding was quickly sorted by staff!)

Despite living in Norfolk I do not know Kings Lynn very well but was impressed with the history of the place and some of the old buildings. Lots of information supplied in the handbook in the room - worth reading.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_Norfolk_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.2 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
724 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
795 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Hotel

Property: Bank House Hotel
Address: Bank House Kings Staithe Square, King's Lynn PE30 1RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#6 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Relaxed atmosphere, contemporary style" Bank House is a unique Grade II * listed 11 bedroom Georgian town house hotel, set on the quay side in the heart of the historic and business areas of King’s Lynn, and a step away from the renowned Corn Exchange theatre and Arts Centre. Recently renovated to bring an eclectic flourish to the building’s Georgian grandeur, Bank House is now King’s Lynn’s most exciting and inviting place to eat, drink and stay. Our stunning bedrooms are each individually decorated and immensely comfortable. We love food at Bank House! Our menu offers modern brasserie food, using top quality fresh ingredients and taking full advantage of the wonderful produce of the area in season. Our elegant Bar, once the bank manager's office, is open all day. Teas, coffees and delicious home made cakes are available throughout the day, with the Bank House tea of sandwiches, scones and cakes served during the afternoon. We have a number of private rooms available for meetings and conferences, private dinners, parties and weddings, large or small, and can tailor our catering to suit your exact requirements and budget. Wi-fi internet is available throughout. Why not visit our older sister, The Rose & Crown, Snettisham? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Kings Lynn
Bank House Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing