We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to eat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

stayed for i night very nice place with stunning grounds
beautiful rear gardens the food and service was fantastic
now the second time we had a meal there with friends and wont be the last
would highly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 949 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

James and Anna bought this rather dilapidated building and have turned it into an absolute gem, situated about 15 minutes north of Norwich. All the rooms have been decorated in their own individual style and have superb fittings and accessories. The welcome is warm and friendly, the location is calm and serene, and the food, presented by Executive Chef, Anna Duttson, is superb; much use is made of local produce and the presentation of the dishes is modern and exciting. If you want an hotel in the Norwich area, this is a must!

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on the website and, if necessary, speak to the helpful reception staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We visited in June 2014 for a 2 night stay for our wedding anniversary. We were joined by friends for the second night.
We were greeted by friendly staff with a quick book in and show to our room which was on the top floor and called Sloe. Being 6ft 4 tall I am often concerned with head height in an attic room, but this really didn't present any issues. The room was beautifully decorated and dressed with many lovely touches (like the chocolate brownies to greet you!) and the bed was big and very comfortable.
Breakfasts were lovely, but my only comment would be that the toaster was a bit slow for the number of people, but the fresh bread and toasting was very nice. The hotel even managed to fit our friends in at 10am for a quick breakfast as they arrived, even though they had a wedding starting at 11am. It was excellent service indeed.
We ate in the hotel on the second evening and the food was absolutely superb. We all chose different options but were all equally delighted by the taste. Service by the young waitresses was also very good and attentive but not overly so.
All in all a lovely weekend in superb surroundings. Would highly recommend the hotel, and that's how I found it - by its very high previous recommendations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cainyatclapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently spent three very enjoyable days at The Norfolk Mead Hotel. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was an absolute delight. I have to say the service was phenomenally good. Lots of nice little touches which made it extremely professional but not in your face.The dinner in the Restaurant was superb and the breakfast next morning was excellent. They have certainly got it right. We are even trying to find an excuse to plan our next visit. Fantastic service and attention to detail by the charming and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Strongly suggest that you book the Restaurant in advance as it is very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inxent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Greeted by a friendly receptionist we were taken to our room, Sorrel, The room was nicely decorated, good size, a very comfortable bed and good tea tray. The hotel is clean and chic looking with vases of lillies which gave a nice scent as you walked passed and lit candles in the evening. We had 2 courses from the set menu that evening. I did have the scallops which was supplemented but must admit was a little disappointed as these were quite small compared to other restaurants I have eaten at. The main courses of Bake Cod, Morrocan Lamb (supplemented) were delicious. The walled garden is a delight to sit in where we enjoyed a few drinks. The surrounding gardens are well kept and enjoyed walking there after our dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We called in on spec for a cup of tea and cake having seen rave reviews for the Norfolk Mead. We were directed to a comfortable lounge. We sat down but had to move because the table was covered in split milk and crumbs from a previous client. We were served with refreshing pot of tea and a tasty slice of lemon cake each. My wife also spotted a flower pot full of cigarette butts at the main entrance - something we wouldn't expect to see in a hotel of this standard.Would we go back-probably not.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TheShenfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband would tick every box for this lovely hotel but I'm sorry I can't as I felt the dinner wasn't varied enough for a fussy boring vegetarian like me ! I did ask for something vege that didn't resemble soup and ended up with different coloured lettuce leaves! Breakfast was wonderful ! We stayed in crab apple with our three dogs two king charles cavs and one chuawaha - the room was fantastic ! We would love to return and use the hotel rowing boat again - that was equally wonderful

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coltishall
6.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
936 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
225 reviews
11.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,770 reviews
17.8 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Address: Church Loke, Coltishall NR12 7DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Coltishall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Price Range: $121 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Norfolk Mead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Mead Hotel
Norfolk Mead Norwich
The Norfolk Mead Hotel Coltishall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing