We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I booked this hotel as a special treat for my husband and it certainly was special. The room was wonderful; surroundings beautiful and the hotel itself was superb. What made it was the wonderful staff - the girls were always smiling and couldn't do enough for you and the management very willing to please. The food was excellent, both the evening meal and the breakfast. Great base to explore the Broads and the North Norfolk coast. We went to Horning and visited the Air Defence Museum at Neatishead - a must do excursion.

We would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in the Eaves which we loved but there are steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paullaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 980 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in samphire suite, what a beautiful room. The whole building appears to have undergone sympathetic renovation.. Fantastic dinner, attentive yet unobtrusive service. Can't wait to go back, well done and good luck to the new owners.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caknights4086474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

A delightful hotel with friendly staff and excellent Resturant. We enjoyed a fabulous evening enjoying delicious food and wine in beautiful surroundings. The ambiance was delightful and the staff attentive but not overbearing. The room was of a high standard the bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable. A most enjoyable evening and highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Set back from any main road this very quiet and visually stunning hotel is definitely one to recommend.
The samphire suite we stayed in was fantastc, clean, great deco, amazing bed that was comfortable beyond belief!.
Food was beautifully presented and tasted amazing (for a change I picked soup as my starter...pumkin soup was so very tastey!) All in all, great food, awesome room, really nice staff.

Keep it up!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowblitz255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we were attending a works Christmas Party nearby. Its a lovely friendly hotel. Very well decorated and the staff could not be more helpful. Our room was called Damson and it was very charming and had all the comforts you could want.

The milk for you in room tea or coffee comes from a local dairy and is stored in a fridge on the landing.

We didn't have dinner in the restaurant but did have breakfast which was lovely. So lovely that we bought jar of the orange marmalade. We heard other guest saying how wonderful their evening meals had been.

It is set in beautiful grounds and we will try and return in the better weather to appreciate these.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We needed a last minute place to stay for an event in Norwich. By chance we were told about Norfolk Mead and there was one room left.

Rooms are somewhat expensive but it was worth the money, there are deals to be had, but we needed to be there on a specific date so paid the rack rate.

Although only one AA Rosette is awarded I think another inspection is required, this is definitely two or three Rosette cuisine. Dinner was superb with friendly attentive but not intrusive service. The wine list is not vast but there is good variety and a good choice of affordable wines.

The bed was the most comfortable I have ever experienced with " White Company" exquisite linen. It was so relaxing. We did not have time to explore the vast grounds but they look divine.

Room Tip: Look on the website if you want a room with a bath. Most have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here for a night (sadly only one) and thoroughly enjoyed it. Beautifully furnished with lots of little extras like brownies in the room and fresh milk for coffee and teas. Friendly and attentive service and the most delicious dinner and breakfast. Just looking for another excuse to come and stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon1234w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coltishall
6.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
971 reviews
12.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,226 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
699 reviews
11.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,877 reviews
17.8 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Mead Hotel

Address: Church Loke, Coltishall NR12 7DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Coltishall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coltishall
Price Range: $133 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Norfolk Mead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Mead Hotel
Norfolk Mead Norwich
The Norfolk Mead Hotel Coltishall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing