We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger bonanza!”
Review of The King's Head

The King's Head
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Coltishall
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Burger bonanza!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We decided on Monday night to go out for a meal. Looking at previous reviews on trip advisor, we opted for the kings head in coltishall as it's close to where we live. What a great choice! A quiet pub, we didn't expect it to be busy. The tables are nicely spaced so you don't feel overheard all the time. The service was great, friendly staff without being in your face all the time.
The food was tremendously good, we chose a burger each with bacon and cheese as a topping and a side salad as an extra. The burger was delicious and we failed to eat it all! The bun was toasted which gave a nice texture to the whole meal, chips were crispy and freshly cooked. The side salad was exceptional, it had eggs, avocado and olives in it, not your run of the mill limp lettuce with dry cucumber type.
We will go again. Thank you for a great time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank artpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    84
    33
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reliably good”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

It is always a nicely presented meal - last week I had fish options. The other reviewer that said 'FOOD NOT FOR US' sounds more like my feelings of the pub next door The Rising Sun more run of the mill pub food. The Kings Head I would say is good - a bit above good home cooking standard. My husband likes the little loaf of bread they serve and there is always an extra pre-starter. It's one of our regular places if we get the chance to go out. A few more vegetables included in the main meals would be great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“FOOD - NOT FOR US”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The pub is quite nice inside and maybe as a place for a drink it wouldn't be bad, but I wouldn't recommend a meal here, if you prefer good food. The food tasted like stock standard frozen pub food heated and dished up. I will not be eating here againl.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janeen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire England
Level Contributor
309 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great food, beer and service”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Ate here 2 nights in a row and enjoyed both very much. The service was excellent, the food is much much more than standard pub fare and there were3 real ales to sample as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IPA_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Location amazing, food too”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This pub is superbly located in the Norfolk broads and by the river. We had two courses for an amazing £12.95 and both were very tasty. Well worth visiting this one

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollyb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King's Head also viewed

 

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing