We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blakeney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blakeney House
Ranked #1 of 4 Blakeney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We escaped snowy Derbyshire for a wonderful weekend in Blakeney and stayed somewhere different for a change. Good decision. Near to the quay and local pubs/restaurants and with parking - often difficult there. We couldn't fault the place. Try the French or Colonial room - excellent. Great breakfast and charming host. We'll be going back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    69
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
53
188
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I wouldnt call this a 'luxury' B&B although the breakfast was excellent. Entirely adequate but overpriced for the facilities.
I know Easter was very cold but we were not very warm - especially the stairs & our bathroom which was across the landing.
The bathroom was a little tired & the lino floor cold, tho the bath robes provided were useful for the walk across the landing !
However, it is well situated in Blakeney - lots of pubs within walking distance & good bird walks without having to use the car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewssdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights recently in the Colonial room which overlooks the gardens. It's quite spacious, comfortable bed, warm, tea,coffee and biscuits provided . The bathroom was ok but a bit tired looking, clean towels if requested. Cooked breakfast was excellent, also lovely fresh fruit, cereals, croissants etc ,couldn't be better.
Staff very pleasant and efficient.
The location is perfect for walking and eating out. Would recommend the White Horse but forget the Kings Arms, wish we had gone to the Moorings instead which I gather was very good.
Would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank silverfox026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

i stayed with a friend for two nights, a very warm welcome, nothing is too much trouble for the owners and the lovely staff, breakfast well cooked plentiful and very varied, fresh fruit yoghurt cereals croissants and well cooked full english, lovely location, rooms cleaned every day and tea coffee and biscuits replenished daily, overall a pleasant visit x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My partner and I went here for a quiet break and it is a very nice place to go. It was quiet and relaxing and the room had nice seating to relax in and watch England trashed by Wales in the 6 nations! Nitpicking - the bedside lights and main lamp were poor quality and were awkward to operate and the bed was pretty hard and made sleeping a challenge! The doors were clearly pannelled as fire resistant doors but they were not very attractively done and the door locks were pretty awkward. Breakfast was fab and the team running the place were very nice. I would say it was overdue a refurb and to be decorated in a way to celebrate Blakeney and the seaside location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewellsverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield(UK)
Level Contributor
280 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Blakeney House is an excellent place to stay. The location cannot be beaten and the staff, including David (Maitre D), make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. David's knowledge of the area is extremely helpful, we used it to enhance our holiday and access local restaurants, taxi services and places to visit.

We stayed in the Colonial Room and were not disappointed, the room was well appointed and spacious. Tea and coffee was topped up daily along with towel replacement when we requested it. The view from the large bay window was over the extensive gardens and in the distant we could see the salt marshes.

It was about a 100m walk down the high street to the quay where you can access Peddars Way in either direction or boat trips to Blakeney Point to see the seals. We used the Coasthopper Bus service each day to return from our walks and this is very reliable and allows you to walk a good distance, have a drink at the end of the day without worrying about driving. Within 80m is a good pub which serves Adnams Ales and was comfortable. About 10 steps further on is the Moorings Restaurant which is NOT to be missed.

Breakfast was absolutely fantastic! The fresh fruit salad was hand prepared from fresh ingredients and teeming with raspberries, grapes, pineapple etc, etc. the croissants were to die for and the full English a joy to behold.

We knew when we booked the accommodation that there is no residents lounge. This was not missed by us but may be by some who use that facility in the long winter evenings. We had two wonderful comfy chairs in the bay window to sit for the small periods of time we were in the room. Wireless connection was good and we used the ipad to research places to visit and keep in touch with family.

This B&B is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Book the Colonial or French room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Fantastic Stay - Exellent Breakfast

Have stayed at Blakeney House for a week during my work experiance at Morston Hall in Morston. Breakfast was amazing, fantastic staff. Room cleaned every day. Perfect place to stay, would stay again in future! Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serafin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
0.2 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
16.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney House

Property: Blakeney House
Address: Blakeney House High Street, Blakeney NR25 7NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blakeney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakeney House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blakeney House is a family run Bed and Breakfast set in the picturesque flint-built village of Blakeney, on the stunning North Norfolk coast. The beautiful Victorian property is only a short walk from Blakeney Quay, it's also within easy reach of gorgeous sandy beaches, bustling market towns and stately homes. All this makes Blakeney House the ideal base for walkers, cyclists, sailors, golfers, birdwatchers as well as families and those just wanting to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blakeney House Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney House Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing