We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning yet again to this comfortable hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blakeney Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
ilkley
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Returning yet again to this comfortable hotel”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Blakeney is a lovely,quiet village with a quay housing a few boats and walks across fens to the sea.
Having been many times to the Manor clearly I enjoy this hotel. We always stay in the same room overlooking the fens. It's a large room with 2 armchairs and coffee table. Large bathroom. THE ROOM IS VERY CLEAN(that comment was in response to previous comments on Tripadvisor).
The food is excellent....very good. Choice of 4 for each course. The lounge is comfortable and quiet. Don't come here or to Blakeney if you want to go clubbing...go to Ayia Napa.
In the winter the rates are a bargain.
We will be returning again and again.

Room Tip: In the winter all rooms are the same rate whereas in summer you pay a small premium for the better p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank alanilkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    111
    48
    31
    23
See reviews for
41
189
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holt, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

OK, if you're expecting The Ritz then you're in the wrong place, but this hotel doesn't (in my opinion) deserve the absolute slating that some reviewers have given it.

We live locally, but had booked in for a 3 night Dinner, B&B deal just before the Xmas madness, to walk our dog, relax and have our phone switched off.

We had a room with a lovely view (well, it IS North Norfolk), and, OK the décor is a little dated, but our room was huge, spotless and toasty warm. The tea/coffee facilities were well stocked and there was spare bedding if required.

Our bathroom again was large, clean and warm.

Because of our dog (who all of the lovely staff made a big fuss of) we had to eat in the bar area and choose from the bar menu. This was typical bar food, well presented and ample....again, if your want to pay for Heston or Ramsay keep on driving!

The goats cheese starter was lovely, the salads were crisp and the service all to a good standard.
It may not be Haute cuisine, but I'd sacrifice that anyday to be allowed to have my very well behaved hound sitting at my feet. After a long walk, a huge plate of homemade curry hit the spot!

As you can see by my other reviews, I have been to some varied places, and one of my gripes is that is something is advertising 4/5 star accommodation, then that is what I expect. This little place does not pretend to be anything but a cozy, welcoming, dog friendly place right in the middle of a gorgeous North Norfolk village with amazing views and walks....and it is just that!

Thank you for a lovely little break, we will come again!

Room Tip: Room 17 has a lovely view. We also preferred the bar area to the dining room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank loopief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Last weekend we stayed at this lovely traditional hotel in Blakeney. We booked it before reading the reviews on this site and wondered, after reading some of them, had we done the right thing. But we needn't have worried, we had a lovely couple of days. We arrived at 7.30pm on Saturday evening and check in was swift, with friendly staff. Our room, number 32 in the courtyard, was warm and welcoming, had plenty of storage space and a very comfortable bed. After a brilliant nights sleep, during which we didn't hear a thing, we had a delicious breakfast. The waiting staff were polite and welcoming and the service was swift. There was plenty of choice from cereal, porridge, fruit and juice. For the main course we opted for the full Manor breakfast which, as I said, was excellent. There was plenty of toast and coffee and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. That night we ate in the bar, having a starter and pudding, as we had eaten earlier in the day. Again we couldn't fault the service or the food, both excellent. Another delicious breakfast the following morning and swift check out. if you are thinking of staying at this hotel please do not be put off by the not so good reviews, please go and see for yourselves. I think you have to ask yourselves if you would go back and we will definitely be going back having already made plans to do so for my birthday in June. We are a couple in our mid 50's both employed full time and our holidays are usually self catered ones, in this country twice a year and a summer break in France. So staying in a hotel is a bit of a change for us, but we can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Please go and see for yourselves!!

Room Tip: We had room 32 which was lovely and quiet and almost next door to the path through to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was our first stay here,several of our friends had stayed here and recommended it.We were not disappointed.We had a courtyard room over looking the marshes very large and. Plenty of room. If there is a complaint it would only to say the easy chairs in the bedroom needed to be replaced as you nearly sat on the floor. The food was excellent and attention by the chamber maid was also very good. Value for money where else can you stay for £100 a night including evening meal.

Room Tip: Marshes view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pam-day3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have had short stays at this hotel before and it always delivers wonderful value. Our 3 night stay this time rounded off our trip to the nearby Thursford Christmas show. With the rain lashing down and a cold north wind we were warmly welcomed and shown to our well presented room in the old part of the hotel with views over the marshes.
It is a rare pleasure these days to have a spacious car park adjacent to the hotel this is such a handy facility. What a pleasure it was to note that the friendly staff were drawn from the locality, it was easy to observe that they were a close knit team. There are more grandiose establishments but thankfully here there is no reason to stake a claim to this. It's olde world period characteristics feature well whilst it's situation is so convenient to the quayside. The breakfasts were first class. The dinners with a good choice were well cooked using local ingredients. We shall be back.

.













. THERE ARE MORE GRANDOISE ESTABLISHMENTS BUT THANKFULLY THERE IS NO ATTMEPT HERE TO STAKE A CLAIM TO THIS .IT'S OLDE WORLD PERIOD CHARACTERISTICS FEATURE WELL WHILST IT'S SITUATION IS SO CONVEINENT TO THE QUAYSIDE.THE BREAKFAST'S WERE DELICIOUS. THE DINNERS WITH A GOOD CHOICE WERE WELL COOKED USING LOCAL FRESH INGREDIENTS.

.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have been coming here on and off for years. Very pleasant ambience. 2 course Sunday lunch for £10 represents terrific value. Real ale in good condition. The icing on the cake is that we are not inflicted by dreadful piped muzak. Bravo! Other restaurants take note on this last point.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

A short 3 night stay at this hotel surpassed our expectations. We had known the hotel through dining with people staying there and decided to become residents.

The hotel itself is a bit of a step back in time but that is not a negative for us, in fact it is a plus!! With a large lounge complete with board games and reading materials, provides plenty of space to sit and read in comfy armchairs and sofas.

The bar area, is not overpriced and carries good products (great draught beer!) even if not a vast range. It is a little on the dark side to my taste with seating aimed at those eating more than comfy drinking, but with the lounge just round the corner this is not an issue.

The rooms are ok, reasonably furnished, a little more attention to the bed and I would have made this a full five star location. I suspect that our bed was probably due to be replaced as it was very different to one in another room we used.

The restaurant was for both of us the highlight of our stay. We stayed on a deal basis which included breakfast and dinner. The set three course dinner had enough variation and choice to make selection from the al la Carte menu irrelevant. Dishes were beautifully conceived, cooked and served, accompanied by a generous serving of a variety of vegetables.

Breakfast menu was again broad and used good products.

Would we stay again? Certainly!! Looking at dates for Spring!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
397 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
16.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
795 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney Manor Hotel

Property: Blakeney Manor Hotel
Address: The Quay, Blakeney NR25 7ND, England (Formerly Manor Hotel, Blakeney)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blakeney Manor Hotel is a traditional, privately owned hotel based on a 17th century manor house with surrounding grounds and flint barns that have been converted into comfortable and attractive accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel, Blakeney Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney Manor Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing