We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost empty in January”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blakeney Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We don't stay here on our twice yearly trips to Blakeney, but have a bar meal or two. It was almost empty in January, There's zero atmosphere at this time of year, a little background music would have brought a little ambience. The meals were good, not the cheapest but a reasonable selection of food. The quantities are quite generous.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank BurgmanRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 315 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

i have marked it down one point only because to get from the room to the hotel one has to walk across a coutyard and you can get a bit damp. but the rooms are superb as are all the facilities the food is superb as is the service of all the staff. good surroundings nice and quite the wildlife will wake you once its daylight but i love it.many places to eat and drink in this quaint villiage in the season but still enough out of.i am disabled and no car but everthing is in walking distance. if i had not been unwell at the moment i would be there now on a winter 3 day break 150pounds dinnert bed and breakfast for a single room suprb value. mike

Room Tip: all locations are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strattonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel many times now over a number of years, but do think it has upped its game over the last year or so. Spent three nights here between Christmas and New Year. It has a great location for walking and birding, is very good value and the fact it welcomes dogs is a big attraction for us. The menu is perhaps slightly limited but beautifully cooked with plenty of fish and local vegetables. Very comfortable bar and lounge and extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Unusually these days this hotel has windows that open and no deafening air conditioning in the night. A big plus.

Probably not a good choice if you don't like dogs, walking, sailing, seals or bird watching - in which case what are you doing in North Norfolk? We will certainly go back again whenever we can.

Room Tip: Rooms around the courtyard are particularly useful if you want to have parking right by your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeshireWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Considering we only needed an over night stop for a party of 6 It was fine.
The menu a little confusing a bar/table D hotel/and an added charge for some items on the menu
The bar and restaurant were closed when we arrived at 3 pm
The food was fine Steaks cooked to perfection and 5 of us unable to manage a pudding thanks to the lack of portion control [lol]
Coffee is served in the lounge on a help yourself basis
One of our party had been ungraded to a sea view and 4 poster bed room [very nice] the rest were adequate or an overnight stay
Location Well what more can you ask its Blakeney and if you only go to Blakeney for the hotel room/food I am sorry for you
We had good birding and finished with day with BARN OWL FLY PASS

Room Tip: If travelling spring though to Autumn i would recommend a room with a view of the marsh/sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Not a perfect hotel but you don't pay top prices, a good average hotel. Food acceptable room cleanliness OK, bar expensive?. Location top marks. Downside, the hotel accepts dogs!
Generally good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 1 - 4 poster bed, good estuary views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vintageandretyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were staying elsewhere in Blakeney, thank goodness. Arrived to eat in the bar on Friday night - it was empty......should've got the hint! Menu proposed "good pub grub at reasonable price". On arrival the receptionist didn't have much to say apart from "bar is that way, order your food here" (very odd arrangement). Walls were grubby, seating area devoid of any character - stained pictures of Lincolnshire???? Grubby carpet & walls, broken lights. Ordered drinks from bar and food from receptionist! Being a mum I have sampled enough frozen chips to identify them alongside my incredibly salty (cheap Danish?) gammon. The food filled a hole, but for goodness sake - go elsewhere! Poor value for money. And the service, on such a busy evening was "if you want any sauces they are in the basket over there!" The basket that was carefully adjusted numerous times during the evening - as if it was being depleted! The manager needs sacking - it's not as if there's any competeition in the town for a decent steak and chips!!! We asked for a pack of cards - after much searching 45 sticky playing cards summed up the experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for three nights 15th November. The beds were very comfortable and rooms nicely situated. We found all the staff extremely friendly and very well organised. They really have the service in the dining room down to a fine art. The food was beautifully cooked with plenty of choice. The only problem we had was in being allocated room 31 which was two-storey. First night was no problem but we were disturbed very late at night on the second and third nights by some inconsiderate people banging up the staircase. Couldn't understand it because the whole of the courtyard was pleasantly quiet. Would return, but not in room 31. All the other rooms seemed to be single storey.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
424 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
664 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
237 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
232 reviews
21.8 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney Manor Hotel

Address: The Quay, Blakeney NR25 7ND, England (Formerly Manor Hotel, Blakeney)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blakeney Manor Hotel is a traditional, privately owned hotel based on a 17th century manor house with surrounding grounds and flint barns that have been converted into comfortable and attractive accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel, Blakeney Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney Manor Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing