We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give Blakeney Manor Hotel a chance!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blakeney Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed as a family in rooms 16 and 18 early October 2012 and had a very enjoyable weekend stay. Our beds were very comfortable and the overall standard of cleanliness good. Whilst a feather duster wouldn't go amiss around some of the light fittings, and some of the carpets could do with replacement - overall we were pleased with the food, the spaciousness of the rooms and the spotless bathrooms and clean bed linen and towels; the latter being replaced daily. Parking was excellent and the staff were to us at least very welcoming and attentive so give the place a chance - we are in a recession and you can't expect 5* at 3* prices!

Norfolk family

Room Tip: Rooms 16 and 18 were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 861Freddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 314 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

i visited this hotel for the first time 2 years ago, and again had a most enjoyable stay. i was warmly welcomed and given my key etc with details where to find my room which was across the court yard , and the room was an improvement to the one i had before.. the meal were excellent,and served by very pleasant staff , i shall return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller503753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My friend and I booked into this hotel for two nights, going into reception we were not greeted with any sort of welcome, the receptionist - Rhona - was dealing with another guest, but looked as if she had had enough for the day - despite it being only 2.30 pm - she never acknowledged us and took the other guest to their room but didn't have the courtesy to ask us to wait, so we were left at reception with no receptionist and hadn't even been acknowledged that we were there. A waitress came through from the bar, scribbled something on a pad and didn't even look at us. Eventually the receptionist waddled back and again didn't welcome us to the hotel. I gave her my name and she asked if we wanted a paper and what time we wanted dinner. She did show us to our room, Room 19. I have been to this hotel on numerous occasions in the past and haven't really had anything to complain about, apart from the place needs a good re-furb. It was a cold Monday afternoon, we unpacked and found that the radiator in our room was not working, the bathroom one was. I went through to reception and told her that our radiator didn't work and she told me that the maintenance man had gone home but she would ring him. I asked if we could have a heater but she said that was against Health & Safety. About half an hour later she did bring us a heater. Dinner was excellent, cannot fault the food or the waiting staff in the restaurant. Tuesday morning the decorators who were painting room 18 told us that the plumber would be in that afternoon to remedy the radiator. When we returned to our room at about 5.45pm the radiator still wasn't working but the heater was still there. On enquiry the day we were leaving the decorator told us that the plumber hadn't turned up, I asked him how long the radiator hadn't been working and he said that management had known about it for months!!!!!!!!!! The housekeeping in the hotel is well below par, the bathroom floor was dirty, mould on windows caused through condensation, windows hadn't been wiped, grime round window sills etc. Carpet in bedroom hadn't been hoovered as there was a ball of hair and a hair clip on the floor when we arrived and it was still there when we left. There were cobwebs on the walls and on the light. The bin in the bathroom had seen better days. All in all I would not return to this hotel any time soon, and judging by other reviews of this hotel, other people are of the same opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lasty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed on two previous occasions with elderly parents. The place was a bit weary but fine. Good food and reasonable staff apart from the receptionist who is not welcoming. This time, late booked for 2 night stay and stayed in a garden room (one of only two rooms available at the time) which was tired and in need of a clean and revamp. On the 2nd day the hotel was uncomfortably hot and on returning to our room around 5 pm couldn't regulate the two radiators in the room which were too hot to touch and the water in the bathroom was dangerously hot. The situation was made worse by the fact that dogs must been in the room previously and the heat and residual dog hair unfortunately, triggered my husband's allergy to dog hair. I asked the staff if they could fix it after our eventng meal but on returning to the room later nothing appeared to have been done. We called the staff and they did try their best to fix the problem with spanners. . Outcome - we had to ask to be moved to another room at 11.20 pm that night as the problem could not be fixed. It spoilt our evening. One of the staff who had tried to help said she thought the situation was not good enough and suggested we speak to the manager the next day. The Manager, didn't want to listen was unapologetic and totally negative, asking why we had not reported the fault on arrival saying that the room temparature would have suited other guests etc, etc. Her attitude then prompted me to mention other things that could have been better. For instance, no night lighting on the outside path leading to the garden rooms. In total darkness on the first night. Her response, the lighting is on a timer and was fixed the next day. Which it was. Also told her that the shower curtain in the bathroom was filthy and towels had seen better days. At the end of this conversation she asked what we wanted her to to and obvioulsy we would wish to stay again. She made me feel as though I was just being a nuisance. An apology would have been fine with a goodwill gesture of say not paying for one of the two bottles wine we had ordered at dinner. But because of her apalling attitude we "agreed" to not pay for the second nights stay. I think the staff deserve better and their apparent seige mentally is quite understandable having had the displeasure of meeting their manager. Don't think we will stay at The Manor again.

Room Tip: I think the garden rooms are more suitable for guests who want to bring their dogs along.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The first thing to say is that we did noy stay here, just came in for lunch so I can only comment on that experience. When we came in the first impression is that the hotel is "tired". The staff did not appear to be glad to have our business, in fact, we thought we were disturbing them!
Ordering the food at reception was very strange! Ordering at 12 o clock is good, but when it is 2 minutes to 12 and told we have to wait until 12 is a little bit odd!
The food was quite good but we felt that the hotel needs "uplifting" and the staff should be glad to see any customers. It is in a wonderful location and more needs to be made of that.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the time before you order food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank digit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Booked the Bakeney Manor for a long weekend away. Booked into the £124 rooms, twin & county double room. The room was awful - around one of the windows was damp damage with blistered plaster & staining. The facilities in the room were basic and the bed had 1 blanket & a shiny slippery bedspread on it, no duvet.
At no point was a change of towels offered, but there was no notice saying they were trying to be green & would only change them if asked.
I spoke to the reception about the room saying it was really not worth £124 and the girl said she would spead to the manager when she came in at 1830. We had booked dinner in the hotel so went to dinner at 1930, it was on the way out the receptionist caught us to say we could move into a twin room or have a reduction in price, we took the reduction in price (to the price of a standard room).
The food was good and the staff generally cheerful and helpful, however the room was grim and the bar needed sorting out, sticky, and the beer was 'stale' end of barrel and poorly kept.
You wanted to pick the place up and give it a good shake.

Room Tip: To be honest I dont think I would not stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days having done so previously. The cleaning staff and manager of the hotel should be sacked. The rooms are filthy and dirty. The receptionist admitted that they were not worth the £140 that we were being charged for dinner bed and breakfast per night. How hotels like this survive is beyond belief. A terrible hotel

Stayed: September 2012
5  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
416 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
652 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
862 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
229 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney Manor Hotel

Address: The Quay, Blakeney NR25 7ND, England (Formerly Manor Hotel, Blakeney)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blakeney Manor Hotel is a traditional, privately owned hotel based on a 17th century manor house with surrounding grounds and flint barns that have been converted into comfortable and attractive accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel, Blakeney Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney Manor Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing