We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy and dirty”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blakeney Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days having done so previously. The cleaning staff and manager of the hotel should be sacked. The rooms are filthy and dirty. The receptionist admitted that they were not worth the £140 that we were being charged for dinner bed and breakfast per night. How hotels like this survive is beyond belief. A terrible hotel

Stayed: September 2012
5  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 315 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were staying elsewhere in Blakeney but looking for somewhere special to eat as it was our anniversary. When we approached this hotel on foot it looked as if it was going to be really upmarket. However, we were surprised by the very affordable menu, and the fact that we were told that food had to be ordered at reception. We sat at a table that had been used before, as it was in a good position, but no-one came to clear it, even when our food was served, The food was fine, and the staff were perfectly polite - but - something was very odd about this place. It needs an overhaul, and a good restaurant manager.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyFish864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Arrived in Blakeney quite by chance on 28th August. It's such a beautiful area we decided we'd like to stay a few days. Our first port of call was the Manor Hotel. We were offered Room 24 at £95 including breakfast. Having viewed the room we decided not to stay. The room is VERY small and dated with old furniture and bedding. To be fair the receptionist did advise us it was small, which is why we asked to see the room first. No valance on the bed exposed a very tatty base. The wash basin is cracked and generally everything looked tacky and in need of a good clean. We didn't think £95 represented good value and found a bed and breakfast a few hundred yards away. At £60 including breakfast, this was excellent value. The room was immaculate with clean crisp bedding and the breakfast was fabulous - all local produce.

Room Tip: View the room before committing to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have been to The Manor for a few years know we have just returned from our August trip 2012,But it is so sad please could the manger just start to have a look at some small things like clean rooms we where in room 26 and the telephone was disgusting! good job i didnt have to use it,the towels we awful, really have had there day,should have been lemon but very grey i have to say there was a insect (dead) on are window sill and it was there all week ,there was only one guy who was nice on the bar a older guy, the other two guys sat playing with there mobile phones.we love this hotel and worries me that its getting neglected and it dosnt need to please, please, sombody go in and sort it out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

it is always good to go back to norfolk the hotel is a jewels in crown if you want a building that does not change the staff are so friendly and food good the old mulberry tree in garden over 400years old the manin hotel 16 centry manor housw
in lounge ther is a big picture of yatch which is good a pity you cannot get a post card of it
also idea if your going to thursford christmas or cromer show to stop one night
keep up good work note the new picture behind receptio
tony mbe

Room Tip: if you want a twin room 17 or 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had dinner for four on our first evening in Blakeney and hoped it wasn't a taste of things to come..! The hotel it's self is in a prime position with nice big gardens to the side, however the whole hotel is in dire need of a major revamp as everything felt tired a big grubby and in need of a big clean. We sat in the conservatory overlooking the garden so the kids could play outside, the tables were sticky, and windows unclean. The food was basic and didn't leave much to the imagination and could be described as poor pub grub.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DirecttheSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have been coming here for many years and always enjoy our visit.We love Blakeney and the whole of this coast and like many others we are drawn back to this hotel.I think the attraction is that it is actually always the same which these days is somehow reassuring.However I agree with the previous review. There are so many small things which could so easily be improved.I have the impression that no one supervises the cleaning and because people still come back nothing is done.This year there was a stain on the carpet with no effort having been made to remove it.The bath taps did not appear to have ever been cleaned. There was a constant noise coming from the boiler room next to our room.I was told it would not continue all night but this was not the case.However apart from this we will still be back again next year in the hope that the only thing to change will be the level of cleaning.The food is excellent and all the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
423 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
663 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
237 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
232 reviews
21.8 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney Manor Hotel

Address: The Quay, Blakeney NR25 7ND, England (Formerly Manor Hotel, Blakeney)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blakeney Manor Hotel is a traditional, privately owned hotel based on a 17th century manor house with surrounding grounds and flint barns that have been converted into comfortable and attractive accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel, Blakeney Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney Manor Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing