We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, beer and location”
Review of The White Horse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Horse
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Recently redecorated in very modern 'arty' style. A bit brash and bright but staff friendly and engaging, great local beer and good food though I'd never heard of half the things on the menu. Fab views over the saltmarsh. (Look at the webcam.)

Advertises itself as a pub, restaurant, bistro and hotel.

Very popular so best to book.

Parking can be a bit of a squeeze.

Room Tip: Book early to ensure a table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hinch100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Great food , Great beer , Great location ............ could we ask for more? Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review.It really means a lot to the team to know their hard work is appreciated.The artwork is a bit eclectic but we hope there is something for everyone! Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 437 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed for one night with our 2 little girls. The room was spacious and well equipped, a bit dated but with a lovely view across the estuary. Once the girls were tucked up in bed my husband and I had a great meal downstairs in the newly refurbished restaurant - which looks great!
On what we thought would be a quiet mid-week evening we were pleasantly surprised to find the restaurant buzzing with locals - so this place is obviously doing something very right! Can't wait to go back - if they do with the bedrooms what they have done downstairs things can only get better! A great little find!

Room Tip: The family room, with separate lounge is ideal for families! Sadly this was unavailable for us but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEK4983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2012

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to share such a positive review following your recent stay at the White Horse. Naturally we were delighted to hear you had enjoyed your evening with your husband in our bar dining room and that you liked the recent refurbishments . Our local customers are very important to us and we actively encourage their custom as we believe they do add an extra something to the atmosphere in our business which you experienced during your stay. We are fortunate to have a loyal group of locals who seem to like what we are doing ! We have only had this business for 5 months and we have plans to upgrade other areas in time but for now its all about enjoying a wonderful summer in our new business in perhaps North Norfolks most beautiful location. We hope to see you again in the summer months too! Thanks Again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Pop in for breakfast this morning. Service was great and food was tasty but £12 for one piece of toast a bit of scrambled egg and one sausage is extortionate

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_j_j_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit for breakfast . Having thought the service was great and the food tasty its a shame the price left you feeling a one star review was merited. The breakfast is priced to include both the main course breakfast and a full selection from the buffet table which includes juices , cereals , fresh fruits , yoghurt and pastries in addition to tea and coffee. If you did not have tea/coffee or any of the buffet items I can see how the price may not have appeared to be not good value. Our menu clearly indicates you may freely help yourself from the buffet and I hope tea and coffee was offered to you. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and should you choose to visit again please let us know if the additional items that are included in the price are not required and we will happily arrange for the main course only to be billed for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

After a few hours of crabbing wight my son I came here for a Sunday lunch. My son had roast beef and I had mussels and chips and the portions were a really good size and the food clearly ver fresh. The mussels were very good quality and some of the best I have ever tasted.

The bill was reasonable and would definately come back.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank PeteSimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review having had Sunday Lunch here at the White Horse. Naturally we were delighted to hear both you and your son enjoyed your meals . The North Norfolk Coast is lucky to have such a wonderful supply of mussels and our own supplier J Webster is known as being one of the best around so Im sure he will also be pleased to hear the mussels were some of the best you have ever tasted. Thanks again and hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at White Horse in Blakeney on the 9th and 10th March. This hotel is a little gem, lovely rooms, lovely food and excellent service. Perfect location for where we wanted to be. We would definitely recommend to our friends and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goonerette77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Excellent Hotel is a headline we are naturally delighted with ! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience . As new owners of this business your recommendation is especially welcome and we are genuinely grateful. We will do our very best to ensure anyone to whom you have recommended us will have an equally enjoyable stay. Thanks again and hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed on the 2nd and 3rd of march in a family room which also allowed our dog. The hotel is really pleasant with well trained staff and a very relaxed feel. The food is really excellent. Blakeney is a really nice village with loads of good walking. Well worth a visit

Room Tip: we booked the room in the annex which allos dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

A nice relaxing weekend .......... Thats almost exactly what the White Horse and Blakeney is made for and we are delighted that you and your dog had such a lovely stay. Thank you for taking the time to share such a positive experience. Its much easier to be motivated to post a review if everything has nt gone to plan so we are especially grateful when a guest who has enjoyed themselves takes the time to do so.Blakeney is a fantastic location in which we are lucky to have a business and our team of chefs will be very pleased to have the word excellent associated with their efforts. Thanks again and hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Been for lunch twice in the last few weeks and waited till this time to add a review. Fantastic quite simply. A lunch menu with variety with changes from the last time. Fabulous decor in the bar and lounge area, simple but welcoming. A nice treatment following the refurb. Great atmosphere amongst the staff resulting in great service and superb food. This is somewhere to return to again. We really enjoyed it. First choice in Blakeney - give it a try.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Top Notch is a recommendation that we accept gratefully and will work hard to live up to. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience ; it means a lot to us to hear you have enjoyed yourselves. Great atmoshpere , great service and great food .... everything we would want you to have experienced and you like our refurbishment too ! Our small team will be delighted to know thier efforts have ensured two such enjoyable visits.We hope we will see you back in Blakeney soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
687 reviews
7.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
243 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
236 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,392 reviews
17.7 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Address: 4 High Street, Blakeney NR25 7TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range: $132 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Blakeney Quay on the beautiful North Norfolk coast, The White Horse is a cosy and welcoming pub with characterful accommodation. Ideally situated for walking the North Norfolk Coastal Path and for exploring the coast and surrounding villages. Three rooms, numbers 1, 8 and 9, enjoy views of the coastal marshes and sea beyond. Rooms 2, 3, 6 and 10 look out on to Blakeney's quiet narrow High Street. Room 10, our suite, can sleep up to six people and has a separate living room and its own on-street entrance. Rooms 5 and 7 overlook the courtyard. In your room you'll find tea and coffee-making facilities and a hairdryer as well as fresh towels and toiletries. All of our rooms feature en-suite bathrooms with either a shower and / or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel, Blakeney Hotel Blakeney
The White Horse Blakeney, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing