We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, comfy room, excellent staff - well done!”
Review of The White Horse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Horse
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, comfy room, excellent staff - well done!”
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed in Room 10, which is a suite with a bedroom and separate sitting room. The bedroom has a nice big double bed, and bunk beds for the children, whilst the sitting room is a good size with two sofas, a TV and big coffee table to spread the papers out on.

The bathroom has a decent size bath with a very good shower above it, and has 'White Horse' branded shampoo and shower gel which is a nice touch.

My only criticism is that the floor of the room above has very very creaky floorboards, which really took the shine off the whole stay. The people in the room above had 2 babies and were up a few times in the night, and they woke us up each time because their floor, our ceiling, made a real racket when they moved about. Not just a few little creaks - a real racket. If the hotel owner reads this review - please have the floor sorted, it spoilt an otherwise perfect stay.

The pub and hotel (there isn't much hotel to be honest, its more like a pub with rooms), are lovely - great food, great beer, delicious Suffolk Cider, nice wine, and best of all the staff are very friendly and there are lots of them! We stayed with 2 young children and a between us we have a couple of food intolerances (i.e. gluten-free, that kind of thing); the staff were very understanding, discrete and helpful, which makes staying away from home so much easier - well done and thank you!

Blakeney is a wonderful little village; the north coast is a bit overpriced in places, thanks to the demand from 'down south', but the White Horse is good value for money (it's not cheap mind you, but the excellent service and friendly staff meant I was happy to spend my money). Breakfast was delicious, having the time to read the morning paper a real luxury, evening meals wonderful, bed comfortable, children happy and well fed (the children's meals were excellent - proper food, well done the chef), so all in all a very relaxing break. I would recommend this hotel to everyone I meet - the friendly and helpful staff (and owner) make it really special, I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nearly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    133
    51
    31
    22
See reviews for
59
262
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Breakfast and dinner were excellent. The room was comfortable, small (room 2) but as we were out and about all day we didn't need that much space. Staff friendly and attentive, not overbearing.

Room Tip: Excellent base for birdwatching
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2011

I stayed in a lovely, beamed twin bedded room (room 6). Pure cotton bed-linen and feather duvets and pillows made sleep blissful. The bathroom was clean and the towels large and spotlessly white. There was only one disadvantage, this room had a high step up into the bathroom (not so easy for my artritic hip!).
The staff were all friendly and helpful whilst remaining unobtrusive.
We were lucky enough to enjoy three excellent meals here during our stay - I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pf442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Everything was just right for a one night stay - friendly service, clean and great food both evening meal and breakfast. My room (8) was small but comfortable and everything worked just fine. Free WiFi (why don't all hotels offer this?). Paid £65 for double room bed & breakfast which was good value. Would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Room (2) cramped and nothing special given the price - primrose paint and a few prints does not equal "boutique". Other rooms may be better. Array of broken and bent hangers in the ramshackle wardrobe would shame the average student. Strange smell in the hallway..... Shower was broken (Ok - these things happen) but toiletries provided were cheap and not replenished for the second night. Meals (Evening and Breakfast) were excellent and the staff very friendly. Agree with comments about the Breakfast times - 8:30 to 9:30 at the weekend! Overall: Restaurant 5 Hotel 2

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanSaffronWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Uk
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This hotel offers very comfortable accommodation and excellent service. If you want a relaxing, away from it all, place to stay then this hotel fits the bill. Our room (3) was very comfortable with a large bed and bath. A walk to Cley next the Sea starts from the village quay and the Blakeney Point seal population can be visited by boat from the next village. Cley Marshes are also a must if you want to sea rare birds, such as the avocet. My only slight negative is that the bar/restaurant in the evenings is very quiet (even if full of people) and lacks a little atmosphere. The food and ale , however are very good; break fast was first class with kippers and haddock a great alternative to "the full English". Try the Kings Arms for a livelier evening and conversation with fellow travellers/locals.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glawsteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I stayed there with my girlfriend just for 2 nights and it was the perfect getaway. The staff are very friendly and the room was lovely. Not too large but big enough, well designed and a really comfy bed. We then ate at the bar in the evening and it was honestly the best meal of my life. The portions were big and absolutely amazing! Couldn't reccommend this place enough!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimRR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
606 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,322 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
812 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Property: The White Horse
Address: 4 High Street, Blakeney NR25 7TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Blakeney Quay on the beautiful North Norfolk coast, The White Horse is a cosy and welcoming pub with characterful accommodation. Ideally situated for walking the North Norfolk Coastal Path and for exploring the coast and surrounding villages. Three rooms, numbers 1, 8 and 9, enjoy views of the coastal marshes and sea beyond. Rooms 2, 3, 6 and 10 look out on to Blakeney's quiet narrow High Street. Room 10, our suite, can sleep up to six people and has a separate living room and its own on-street entrance. Rooms 5 and 7 overlook the courtyard. In your room you'll find tea and coffee-making facilities and a hairdryer as well as fresh towels and toiletries. All of our rooms feature en-suite bathrooms with either a shower and / or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel, Blakeney Hotel Blakeney
The White Horse Blakeney, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing