We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting”
Review of The Blakeney Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blakeney Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel seems to have a program of refurbishment bringing it slowly up to date without it loosing its air of quality. Everything about this place makes for a relaxing break, the staff are fantastic as was the breakfasts. We didnt have dinner in the hotel but views from the Restuarant are amazing . We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tirom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 881 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at this rather old fashioned, comfortable and welcoming hotel in August. The place was full but this did not mean it felt crowded. The facilities are attractive and the quality of service is very good. We were made to feel welcome. Our room was well appointed; the restaurant served a wide choice of dishes - those we selected were well prepared and tasty. The location is excellent - just besides the quay - and Blakeney as a whole is a delightful place. Much recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJCCMOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was fabulous. Beautiful decor, good food and very comfortable. It is also in a lovely situation, right on the quay overlooking the sea so you can watch the sailing boats coming and going. There are several local walks starting from the hotel plus seal watching trips.

The pool area, steam room and jacuzzi are of high standard and well maintained and the gardens are beautiful.

There were a couple of small issues with our room but after mentioning these to the reception staff they were remedied.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 503Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

On a very busy Friday evening we found the hotel restaurant full and buzzing with people enjoying themselves. Our table was not quite ready so we were very courteously directed to the bar for pre-dinner drinks. We did not have to wait long. The meal we then had was very good and great value from a fixed price menu. Quality and quantity were perfect and the service, on such a busy night, first rate. We had a table overlooking the Quay which added to our enjoyment of the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank johnofthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked the Blakeney Hotel for a girls' weekend trip and had a wonderful time. Because we booked late (well, over 6 weeks ago!), was able to book two nights, but knew we had to move rooms on the 2nd night, which was fine. First room was a B room 12 in the Granary Annex and was absolutely lovely - beautiful furniture, decor and lighting and super comfortable twin beds. This room had a back door onto a terrace with table and chairs and view onto the marshes. Great black-out blinds and curtains. Would thoroughly recommend this room for anyone wanting a slightly cheaper room, because actually it was a lot more luxurious than I was expecting!

Pre-dinner drinks in the bar lounge overlooking the estuary were lovely, with a good selection of perfectly chilled wines and cocktails. We had booked a table for 7 but were told we could take our time having a drink in the bar and go through when we were ready and choose our table. We waited for a window seat as the views onto the estuary are spectacular in the evening (and morning, and afternoon!). 3 course dinner was delicious and excellent value as part of the DBB package for 2 nights or more. I ordered the gravadlax and crab salad, followed by a cheese platter. All cooked and presented perfectly, served by extremely friendly, professional and happy staff. After dinner we used the bar again and then had a very comfortable night's sleep! Breakfast was amazing with pretty much everything you could think of on offer. Again, we chose a window seat and enjoyed the beautiful morning view of the estuary with the boats sailing past as it approached high tide.

As we knew we were moving rooms we had been asked to meet with one of the hotel staff after breakfast to discuss this as it seemed there had been a double booking. After an initial panic the problem was resolved by an extremely polite and professional young man who offered us a complimentary upgrade to an A+ estuary view room and pre-dinner glass of wine!! Momentary panic worthwhile!

When we were ready, the porters came and moved all our luggage for us and we moved into our A+ room, very happily. The view was to die for, the room pretty much identical in decor to our B room, but with a lot of extra space and a lounge area. After a wondeful walk from Blakeney to Cley (via Wiverton cafe (excellent)) and back again, we used the pool facilities and the gym, sauna, pool and jacuzzi were immaculately clean and beautifully laid out with poolside loungers, large windows onto the gardens and an abundance of fresh towels for guest use.

We enjoyed champagne on the hotel terrace before dinner, watching the sun going down. I had asked at reception if they would chill a bottle I had brought with me so that we could drink it in our room. When I asked if we could instead drink it on the hotel main terrace they accommodated this for us and even had it sent out in an ice bucket by a porter, who opened and poured it for us. I think this was an unusual level of customer service as a lot of hotels may have refused this request.

Everything was perfect for our stay and this hotel matches its exquisite location. I am definitely coming back here again as live nearby in Norwich, as will my friend, who travelled further from London. Having stayed in many hotels, this is probably the nicest one I've come across due to its attention to detail in all areas. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Granary Annex rooms are lovely even though ours was B graded and estuary view rooms at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We headed to Blakeney (a favourite seaside destination for us) & booked 4 nights at the Blakeney Hotel.

What a great place, wonderful atmosphere, great food, service & general performance - an excellent place for an escape or a family holiday.

A couple of minor niggles were the WiFi - patchy coverage & very slow & very warm room. Neither really an issue & we were sad to have to head home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parky8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Have been a couple of times to the blakeney hotel for lunch. It is £21.50 for Sunday lunch and is good value for 3 courses. The food is good quality and served fast. I find this restaurant / hotel good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
428 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
960 reviews
17.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
939 reviews
23.6 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakeney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakeney Hotel

Address: The Quay, Blakeney NR25 7NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range: $193 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blakeney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
The Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney The Hotel
The Blakeney Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing