We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive place”
Review of The Blakeney Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blakeney Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very impressive place”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went and had a mid week lunch in the restaurant. The food was very good as was the service. The setting is remarkable.The hotel grounds are very impressive and the whole place was very well maintained. The cost of lunch was reasonable for such a high quality hotel. Definitely a place to go back to.

Room Tip: It is best to book as the restaurant gets very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    207
    76
    46
    33
See reviews for
227
413
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were taken to The Blakeney Hotel restaurant by friends for dinner last weekend and I am really disappointed to be writing a negative review.

Our friends are regulars here and they too were saddened by the service from the unprofessional staff who served us. Being asked if we would pour our own wine, asked to pass plates over rather than them taking them from behind us is just two of the points I will mention.

Two of us ordered the Mussels as a main dish rather than starter and they were soooo awful Most of the shells were empty ! There was very little sauce with the Mussels and one of the staff must have seen me noticing this and he brought us a small jug with more sauce along with some chips as he said he realised our portions were small! This particular waiter seemed to be on the ball which is more than can be said for the rest of them. We had actually been given starter portions and they should have told us that they didn't have enough for 2 portions! In fairness to them, two of us had the lamb which they really enjoyed.

Overall a very disappointing meal which is so sad when this hotel is such a lovely place to visit. We would be loathe to revisit but would head for The White Horse where we enjoyed a fabulous meal the next evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank specialevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

OK so we only had coffees and soft drinks but we all had a good look round and, together with the service this looked like a place we would very much like to stay. Just check out the amenities on this modernised, spick and span hotel by the harbour at Blakeney, one of the best birdlife destinations in the UK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rougepierretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

this is clearly a popular lunch venue for locals especially on Sunday. The food is excellent and service timely and attentive. As we were staying elsewhere on this occasion we only took lunch twice but would certainly consider staying here on the strength of the service and ambiance we enjoyed for lunch

Room Tip: Ask to reserve a table by the window in the restaurant and take after dinner coffee in the Loft Loun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Corax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband booked a room with a view for my 60th birthday weekend.
Fab room, excellent service, lovely food - the dinner menu was different each day and all delicious. Beautiful, comfortable surroundings and sunshine!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Came here during the Easter week to take my grandma for an afternoon tea experience. We were greeted by a very friendly & helpful member of staff who took us to a room I believe is called the look out upstairs. We had lovely comfortable chairs & a amazing view. The afternoon tea was excellent value & tastes gorgeous & we were not rushed to leave in any way. My grandma has been here for lunch & snacks before & she said it was great then aswell.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We where a family of 8 staying for 3 happy nights.
We enjoyed the hotel, the rooms where comfortable with the exception of a mattress on the
floor for the 10 year olds extra bed . The food was good but the service at breakfast was abysmal.There was no greeting at the door, staff just walked by and ignored you. I had to wait 30mins for coffee one morning. Every morning they did not bring the milk with the coffee .food was not hot. We had to scavenge from other tables for every thing we wanted as there was no staff around. If they can get this right we will be back as it is a great location for a family

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Luxurygirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
607 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
890 reviews
23.6 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakeney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakeney Hotel

Property: The Blakeney Hotel
Address: The Quay, Blakeney NR25 7NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blakeney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blakeney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
The Hotel Blakeney
Blakeney The Hotel
The Blakeney Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing