We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third visit - just as good as before” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Blakeney
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub, Soups, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our Chefs at The White Horse have a close relationship with local farmers and fisherman to ensure all our produce is sustainable and right for the season. Our breakfasts are served between 8am and 10am in the conservatory, offering both tasty cooked options and lighter continental choices. We're open for coffee and tea from 10.30am. Alcoholic drinks are served from 11am until 11pm Monday to Saturdays (on Sundays and Bank Holidays we close at 10.30pm). Food is served everyday. Lunch: Noon - 2pm Monday to Saturday and Noon - 2.30pm on Sundays. Dinner: 6.30pm - 9pm (service starts at 6pm during school summer holidays).
London, England
Level Contributor
141 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Third visit - just as good as before”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at the White Horse each time we have had a short break in the charming Blakeney and the quality of food and service remains high. This time we had Cajun cod and Sicilian cassoulet and both were excellent, but it was hard to choose from the varied and interesting menu. Good short selection of wines too. We will no doubt return to Blakeney and the White Horse too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    144
    65
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Spending New Years Week in Blakeney and had a lovely meal here New Years Eve.
Food and service were excellent and the atmosphere was warm and staff friendly and attentive.
Lovely little touches such as a welcome glass of "Fizz" and party poppers etc.
Nice to relax on the sofas after our meal and when we booked we were told the table was ours for the evening so not rushed at all.
As we booked a cottage we were able to walk down to the White Horse, toally agree re: comments about it being dark...however worth it as the stars are so bright as light pollution is minimal..take that torch!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, service and DOG friendly to boot!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Recently rented a cottage in Blakeney as a pre-Xmas getaway for the family. Ate twice at the White Horse and on both occasions we all enjoyed the food, the surroundings, but most of all the welcoming atmosphere. The dogs were treated like 'royalty' by the friendly manager and staff. The children loved food from the main menu, in fact my youngest developed her love of mussels here! We will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BerylMerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely pretty little pub with great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

A lovely, warm, well put together pub. The whole place feels very welcoming - plenty of snuggly sofas round fireplaces, warm colour schemes and tasteful, pretty christmas decorations. This, combined with the friendly staff make you feel right at home. We sat by the window with a view right down the pretty little high street to the marshes. The menu was well designed with plenty of eye catching dishes. I can highly recommend the binham blue with girolle on focaccia (superb combination and lovely fresh girolle), the mini fish pie, the crayfish, chilli and tomato linguine and the beer battered haddock, chips, mushy peas and tartare sauce. I must just add, I'm not usually a fan of the sloppy bright green stuff that often appears on the plate next to my fish and chips, but this was a delight. Light, crushed peas with a dash of fresh mint - must try that at home! Will be making detours to the White Horse pub in future and recommending to all. Thank you for a lovely afternoon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coldhandsfulltummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Another superb gasropub/hotel in North Norfolk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great food, reasonably priced. I would book a table if you want an evening meal. There is not much parking but the quay is a short walk and is pay and display unless you are a NT member or park a bit later. It can be very dark at night so take a torch and check the skies for amazing views!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whatsallthatabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Blakeney, Norfolk
Blakeney, Norfolk
 
Blakeney, Norfolk
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing