We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable First Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorings

The Moorings
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable First Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Although first visit, we visited twice in one day whilst visiting Blakeney. First for a lovely lunch and then returned for a most enjoyable dinner where the restaurant had been transformed to look even more inviting. Young waiting staff on both occasions were attentive and pleasant. We hadn't booked for dinner but on enquiring during our lunchtime meal if we could book, we were told that the restaurant could accommodate the 2 of us promptly on opening at 6pm., and that the table would be required for other diners at 7.30pm., which wasn't a problem. We had plenty of choice on the Dinner menu and we were not rushed. All in all, a purrfick end to our visit to The Moorings and the beauty of Blakeney. Thank you to everyone at The Moorings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaz029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    147
    36
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shillington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I've been coming to Blakeney for 30 years and this Wonderful Moorings restaurant is simply the best..Great welcome and hospitality from Lucy and Family and staff..The food is amazing here, all local fresh produce and perfectly presented. I cannot rate this place enough. Looking forward to being back eating there the end of August.
Sally,Dotty the Dalmatian & Niah the Staffie x

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sallyfossey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lots of local ingredients, well prepared in a nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

A really nice range of starters and mains, many of them using local ingredients. Lots of fish and some quality meat dishes. Not a huge choice for vegetarians. Pleasant and quick service. A reasonable range of wines. Prices are a fair bit higher than the White Horse which is directly opposite, but the quality probably makes it worth paying a little more. In summer it gets quite full so I think booking would be advisable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's tasty but pricey and hasn't got the wow factor...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We visited the moorings for dinner and yes the food was good and tasty but we all thought it was expensive. The service was great but the tables are too close together. Some of us had the lamb (£23) and we were asked how we wanted them cooked yet they all came out the same. We are not huge eaters but even we thought the portion sizes were a little too small on some of the dishes. Some starters we had were nearly £10. For these prices I want to come out of a restaurant going "wow!". I didn't. I think it's probably best for couples who want a tasty meal and are happy to pay a little bit more. Would I return? I'm afraid not. Still, leaves more room for those who love it there!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank helzie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bright sunny & spotlessly clean cafe serving delicious lunches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

My family & i had a very pleasant lunch. The children's menu was healthy, simple & went down very well with both my 3 & 5 year old. It included baked beans on toast, boiled eggs & soldiers & some simple pasta dishes on it. This made a pleasant change from the usual fish fingers/ chicken nuggets & chips that you often find. Service was speedy and very good value. The total bill came in just under £30 & that included drinks. I would happily go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Xanthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorings also viewed

 

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing